We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fforest Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Fforest Inn to your Saves list
The Fforest Inn
Llanfihangel Nant Melan, New Radnor LD8 2TN, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 New Radnor B&B and Inns
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A true gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I too was involved in this weekend away- The Fforest Inn well at truly became our bolt hole for the entire weekend and what a great find it was..

The Landlord(Wayne) and Landlady (Mandy) couldn't do more to make us feel 100% welcome to the point we never left for the 2 days, only to sleep!

The setting was epic and fare was to match. I would highly recommend this traditional pub if not just to stop in relax by the fire, try beat Wayne at darts (cracking double 16 finish) and feed a lamb if your lucky!

Wayne and Mandy thank you for adopting looking after us on that cold winters weekend.. The Fforest Inn will be etched on our minds and sat-navs for years to come!

Legendary!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RTWFOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We rented a cottage in New Radnor for a week and this place became our local. From the second we walked in on our first evening the welcome was truly amazing with happy smiles from the best landlord and lady I have ever met. Two roaring fires kept us warm (a midst the 5ft snow outside) and our drinks were always topped and stomachs full with good hearty local food at an incredibly cheap price.

As we had a cottage around the corner we spent most of or days and nights at the Fforest Inn - in hindsight we should have just stayed there... And at £30 a night (including breakfast!) - we'll all be back for sure! Top place, top people, top pub - go!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesjeremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tallahassee, fl
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

Dennis & Sally are the best...along with their other staff. We came in at the last minute and were spoiled by our hosts, who kept the place cheerful and charming and made the best food in Britain. This is the epitome of hospitality and Great Britain as we dreamed it to be. Thanks so much. We'll be back soon! (Like in two months, hopefully.)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eirinn827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
83 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

Just arrived back from a stay at he Fforest Inn where we were made very welcome by Dennis, Sally and everyone else. The views from the inn are stunning and after a few drinks we slept like logs in a comfortable room with tea/coffee, bottled water, hairdyer and toiletries all provided. We had to leave early the next day but Sally and Dennis were more than happy to serve a great breakfast at 7am and even offered breakfast in bed!!The inn has an outside patio area and garden looking over the valley where they have BBQ's just sorry we couldn't stop for the one on Bank Holiday Monday but we will be back and thanks for such a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DarkRum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2007

Excellent service, very clean and food in restaurant was fantastic.
They were very helpfull and obliging to the extent of making us a full breakfast (again excellent food) at 6:30 in the morning when we had to be at the sales early.
We will be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank blakewp02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2006

As part of our holiday in the UK we spent the night at the Fforest Inn. The inn downstairs has been renovated and it is a very pleasant place to while away the hours. The food in the restaurant was excellent with local ingredients being used throughout and the price was quite reasonable. The rooms upstairs are neat and tidy and for a night or two quite acceptable. I would recommend this hotel as a place certainly worthy of a visit if not for the food alone let alone its warm and friendly atmosphere.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank Hobo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Radnor
7.8 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
4.5 of 5 stars 975 reviews
16.0 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
4.5 of 5 stars 693 reviews
11.9 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 stars 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Burton Hotel
The Burton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kington
4.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
10.9 mi away
Knighton Hotel
Knighton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knighton
4.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
10.6 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Builth Wells
4.5 of 5 stars 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fforest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fforest Inn

Address: Llanfihangel Nant Melan, New Radnor LD8 2TN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > New Radnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in New Radnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reopened in November 2014, The Fforest Inn Hotel and has been tastefully refurbished and now offers good quality traditional pub food at an affordable price. Newly renovated B&B rooms offer comfortable accommodation from only £75 per night (£60 single occupancy) including your choice of either full breakfast or a packed lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Fforest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing