We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fforest Inn

The Fforest Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Radnor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Fforest Inn
Save
You added The Fforest Inn to your Saves list
Llanfihangel Nant Melan, New Radnor LD8 2TN, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Radnor
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“This place is amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We rented a cottage in New Radnor for a week and this place became our local. From the second we walked in on our first evening the welcome was truly amazing with happy smiles from the best landlord and lady I have ever met. Two roaring fires kept us warm (a midst the 5ft snow outside) and our drinks were always topped and stomachs full with good hearty local food at an incredibly cheap price.

As we had a cottage around the corner we spent most of or days and nights at the Fforest Inn - in hindsight we should have just stayed there... And at £30 a night (including breakfast!) - we'll all be back for sure! Top place, top people, top pub - go!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
tallahassee, fl
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

Dennis & Sally are the best...along with their other staff. We came in at the last minute and were spoiled by our hosts, who kept the place cheerful and charming and made the best food in Britain. This is the epitome of hospitality and Great Britain as we dreamed it to be. Thanks so much. We'll be back soon! (Like in two months, hopefully.)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
66 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

Just arrived back from a stay at he Fforest Inn where we were made very welcome by Dennis, Sally and everyone else. The views from the inn are stunning and after a few drinks we slept like logs in a comfortable room with tea/coffee, bottled water, hairdyer and toiletries all provided. We had to leave early the next day but Sally and Dennis were more than happy to serve a great breakfast at 7am and even offered breakfast in bed!!The inn has an outside patio area and garden looking over the valley where they have BBQ's just sorry we couldn't stop for the one on Bank Holiday Monday but we will be back and thanks for such a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2007

Excellent service, very clean and food in restaurant was fantastic.
They were very helpfull and obliging to the extent of making us a full breakfast (again excellent food) at 6:30 in the morning when we had to be at the sales early.
We will be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2006

As part of our holiday in the UK we spent the night at the Fforest Inn. The inn downstairs has been renovated and it is a very pleasant place to while away the hours. The food in the restaurant was excellent with local ingredients being used throughout and the price was quite reasonable. The rooms upstairs are neat and tidy and for a night or two quite acceptable. I would recommend this hotel as a place certainly worthy of a visit if not for the food alone let alone its warm and friendly atmosphere.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Radnor
7.8 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
4.5 of 5 stars 860 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Burton Hotel
The Burton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kington
4.0 of 5 stars 140 reviews
16.0 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
4.5 of 5 stars 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Knighton Hotel
Knighton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knighton
4.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
7.8 mi away
Rhydspence Inn
Rhydspence Inn
#1 of 1 in Whitney-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
7.8 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fforest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fforest Inn

Address: Llanfihangel Nant Melan, New Radnor LD8 2TN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > New Radnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Radnor
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reopened in November 2014, The Fforest Inn Hotel and has been tastefully refurbished and now offers good quality traditional pub food at an affordable price. Newly renovated B&B rooms offer comfortable accommodation from only £75 per night (£60 single occupancy) including your choice of either full Welsh breakfast or a packed lunch. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fforest Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.