We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect bar near the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smiling Harry's

Smiling Harry's
Half Moon Bay, Freetown, Antigua
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 restaurants in Freetown
Cuisines: Caribbean, Hamburgers, Pasta, Chicken Wings
Description: When entering the National Park "Half Moon Bay" just west of Freetown, you cant miss Smiling Harry's Restaurant and Bar.
Restaurant details
Description: When entering the National Park "Half Moon Bay" just west of Freetown, you cant miss Smiling Harry's Restaurant and Bar.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect bar near the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Smiling Harry - and he is! What a great welcome after a wet drive round the island. Burgers and chicken with rice were the order of the day - very good local food at great prices. But the atmosphere was something money can't buy - while there several teenagers pitched up (some Harry's grandchildren, some village kids), looking hungry and Harry was happy that they cooked his left-over food. As we left to have a swim in this very beautiful bay, we looked back at Harry smiling and waving at us, surrounded by half a dozen teenagers eating and enjoying themselves, 2 dogs lounging happily outside the bar and a contented cat washing himself right next to them - what a vision of contentment.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    20
    11
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A perfect burger on a perfect beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Smiling Harry's is a small little shack on Half Moon Bay, and must be the most relaxed place to have a snack in Antigua. You just sit at a trestle table under the palm trees on the edge of the beach and eat the best burger you could wish for (and very cheap). The veggie burger in particular can be recommended.
A very friendly lady was running the place, and she made our two visits all the more pleasant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Smiling Harry was smiling and served fantastic food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stumbled across this place by accident. There was 14 of us, and we stopped by and had lunch. Harry was not there, but one of the locals went and fetched him. He greeted everyone in the party with a big smile on his face and he served us all chicken and rice. Great authentic meal at a great price. If you are in the area, I would highly recommend a visit to Smiling Harry's!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Soul food from Harry's smiling sister”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Smiling Harry was selling sodas on the beach, but his smiling, one-tooth sister served us the best chicken and rice on the island. It was the only item on the menu the day we were at Half Moon Bay, but the beers were cold and you can't beat the atmosphere. Loved it! :)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga,Ontario
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Friendly service, great stop after the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I've been to this place a few times but never knew the name of it, just always knew it as the place to get drinks at Half Moon Bay beach. I went with my family and my parents were a bit hungry and decided to buy some jerk chicken. We were in a rush but the owner assured us our order would be prepared quickly and encouraged us to sit down and relax while we waited. I went back to the car but I could hear my mom laughing and having a wonderful conversation with him. Great friendly service and delicious food too. Good for cold drinks also.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smiling Harry's also viewed

Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda
Saint Mary's, Antigua
 
Saint Mary's, Antigua
Saint Philip, Saint Phillip Parish
 

Been to Smiling Harry's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smiling Harry's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.