We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sailing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nonsuch Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Nonsuch Bay Resort to your Saves list
Nonsuch Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hughes Point, Freetown po 2208, Antigua   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freetown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Benenden, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Sailing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Overall a great week. We chose the resort for the sailing and were not disappointed. We prebooked five days unlimited sailing and sailed for two hours each morning and two in the afternoon. All the time we had a great instructor called Micky who was very knowledgeable and helpful. I ended the week helming an Elite in 20 knot winds!
Our only criticism is the service in the restaurant was slow. It did improve after we said something. Food was great though. We had breakfast included which was well worth it.
Also special mention to the reception staff who were great throughout.
James and Gill

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    60
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
111
108
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, England
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

After doing lots of research on tripadvisor, we decided on staying at Nonsuch Bay.
On past reviews we knew this resort was situated on the breezy side of Antigua,we found this to be very refreshing and also kept the bugs away.
We knew we would have to travel on an unfinished road to get there, but this wasn't a problem.
We hired a 4x4 for the duration of our stay, which we recommend to explore the whole Island.
The beach is quite small, but plenty big enough for the guests at Nonsuch bay, as the resort is in a nice secluded spot it never felt crowded, and had a great relaxing feel. Infact the beach was better than I expected after reading the reviews, we rather liked having the palm trees for shade. There is seaweed, but if this bothers you, then there are beautiful swimming pools around the resort to use instead. We stayed for 2 weeks, so we used the resort restaurant on many occasions, for both lunch and dinner and every visit we enjoyed immensely! The food is of a high standard, and the menu changes every couple of days, there is a good wine list, the service is good, maybe a little slow a couple of times, but the friendly, smiley staff made up for that....and it's the Caribbean and most are on holiday....so what's the rush? Sit back and enjoy a rum punch (or one of the other tasty cocktails) and enjoy the ambience and the fantastic views! The restaurant holds a cocktail and BBQ evening on a thursday, so people can mingle and maybe meet the owner of the resort.
We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. it was very spacious and luxurious, with an outdoor feel. One of the best features was the huge terrace/balcony, that wrapped around the apartment, with room for dining table and chairs, sunbeds and even more table and chairs, we spent plenty of time out here, soaking up the beautiful views of the bay, relaxing and reading etc.
Nonsuch Bay have sailing and other water sports, such as windsurfing and kite surfing,
We had a go at sailing, never done this before, so a very patient instructor Shakimba took us out (thank you for putting up with me! :) We enjoyed it so much, we booked to go on a sunset sail, which was as equally as good! (Thanks Micky).
As it was our first time staying on Antigua, we done lots of sightseeing, visiting many gorgeous beaches, one being a short drive away from Nonsuch bay,called Half Moon Bay. English Harbour (one of our favourite areas) being a good 25 mins drive away from the resort, lots here to visit, like Shirley Heights and Nelsons Dockyard, along with many lovely restaurants to try. This is where we got our groceries also, although Nonsuch Bay have recently opened a shop on the resort for essentials. We also went to the Jolly Harbour area....beautiful beaches (but abit more crowded). St Johns, quite hectic with all the cruiseships docking here.
We recommend Harmony Hall for sunday lunch, great atmosphere, with a steel band, and it's only across the bay from Nonsuch Bay resort.
We can't recommend staying at Nonsuch bay resort enough.....it's a superb place, so relaxing.
Ideal for families (great kids club by the way) and ideal for couples too.
Just go! :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

i had never been to Antigua, so i was really worried in finding a place to stay that would exeed my expectations, that are generally quite hy!
it was a last minute booking, so the pressure was on.
after days of consideration, i went for nonsuch bay, on the east side of the island.
it seemed to be away from the big all inclusive resorts on the west side of the island, so peace and quite!
and we had our own flat, even if all the amenities were there for us to use, and lots of them!
it has a mixed asian carabian feel, but with all comforts and detailing of a 5 star western hotel.
when i arrived in the evening, the sun was going down, and the very pleasant drive gave me a very good idea of the beauty of the spot i had chosen. i was over the moon!
one phone call away, room service was available, or a stunning restaurant with a varied menu of a fusion of continental/Carabian food.
all the members of staff went out of their way to help with any request. water sports and excursions all available for a really unforgettable and wonderful holiday. i would like to keep this secret to myself, but they are running a business after all!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

So where to begin... firstly its seems some people knit pick about certain things like the beach and the wind!! Get a grip, do some research before you come. First point, the beach, its small and cleaned every day and perfect to relax and for families. Its not Dickenson Bay but then again its not covered in hotels and people in tattoos and cruise ship clients. Point two, the wind. The wind is perfect, keeps you cool and the kids cool and is great for sailing. We spent some time out of the wind on Half Moon Bay and its was so damned hot! Yes, to get to Nonsuch you have to travel down an un-surfaced road but surely that is part of the charm, or at least I thought so, anyway it is soon to be surfaced!

This is the longest review I have every written but I feel the need...

Nonsuch bay is wonderful... The accommodation is first class and not like anywhere else I have been in the Caribbean (no terracotta tiles or flowery bedspreads here). The staff are simply fantastic in every department. Yes they can be a little slow in the restaurant at times but after a couple of days you slow down too... Restaurant is great, sometimes exceptional, sometimes very good and sometimes just good. Its as good as you are going to get on Antigua if not better and is made even better by the staff who look after you.

The kids club is great if a little expensive. My boys (9 and 5) loved it and learned to sail and just had the best time. No sitting around in a play room is not for this kids club, they were active and safe all day.

Location of the hotel is a little away from it all but that's part of its charm its also not far from one of the most beautiful beaches In the World 'Half Moon Bay'. However its only 30 minutes from English Harbour. If you like to sail then this is the place for you, wonderful constant wind and open waters protected by the reef. If you remember Sunsail in Antigua, its that but a much higher standard all around. The team who look after the sailing and great and know exactly how to sail, you can trust them with you life and your children's life's.

If you want big beaches, flashy hotels and lots of people then its not for you. If you want subtle style, Caribbean hospitality, great kids club, great food and a wonderful climate then this is for you.

I love Antigua exactly because its not Barbados and Nonsuch Bay is Antigua.

We are already planning our next trip to Nonsuch Bay a simply wonderful place.

Almost too many names to mention at Nonsuch but special shout out to Timmy and David in the bar, Brenda who baby sat for us most nights, Natasha in the kids club, Shakimba who took my boys and I sailing, the restaurant staff, Ruth who is just lovely and everyone who looked after us.

Walking back to our apartment after dinner under star studded skies along palm tree lined roads was wonderful. It is Antigua but it could be the South Pacific.. HEAVEN.

Counting the days!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Spent a week here and don't like to blot the tripadvisor good reviews , however I use the site and would have liked to have known a few important factors on location. The resort is VERY remote ( several miles of dirt track) and located on the east coast that meets the Atlantic. Therefore the wind is strong and incessant. If you are looking for tranquil calm, Aqua Caribbean Sea then this is not the place to be, go to the west coast where the sea and beaches are to die for. Non such is for sailing and kitesurfing enthusiasts, perfect! As there's so much wind!! Beach was usually deserted because it was not pleasant to sit out. Also lots of seaweed.
Pools are unheated and cold ( prob because of cooling winds!), there's no gym , no spa and no hot tubs to warm up :( Ate in restaurant once but found choice limited, food quality average and prices expensive.
Villa was spacious but showing age in places . No curtains so very light and wooden slats around the building emphasised the howling winds.
People seem to love the resort and if you're into the sailing kitesurfing windsurfing then it is good conditions if you are more of a sunny beautiful beach lover then try elsewhere.
We drove 45 mins plus everyday to escape and also get to diff restaurants and calmer sea

Room Tip: Town houses are a ride away from resort and not in main resort, would not recommend location but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Short three and a half flight from Newark. Great winter escape to Antigua. Apartment was spacious, clean, well-equipped. Weather was wonderful. Always east coast breezes. Beach is small and has some seaweed but didn't keep us out. Three infinity pools. Restaurant was more than adequate for breakfast and dinner. Away from the action of the west coast, but a short ride to the other beaches. We will be back!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We wanted somewhere secluded, with excellent accommodation and off beach sailing facilities. Great food and service are a must too. We were not disappointed. Beautiful setting, fabulous apartment and excellent professional service from all we met. From David behind the bar who makes a mean cocktail, to the boys and girls managing the sailing facilities. We managed to avoid family week too, perfect. As always weather is tremendous here, with great winds for messing around in dinghy or hobbie cat on the water. All in the knowledge that a safety rib was only a minute away if needed. We loved our stay, highly recommend it and we are planning another visit already. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nonsuch Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonsuch Bay Resort

Address: Hughes Point, Freetown po 2208, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Phillip Parish > Freetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nonsuch Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nonsuch Bay Resort nestles in forty exotic acres of the stunning bay carved out of the southeast of Antigua; embraced by lush tropical hills, a uniquely private and serene setting, a tranquil haven and home to wildlife including dolphins and turtles. Pure relaxation is blended with out-an-out adrenalin, and the finest luxuries with the simplest of pleasures. Resort facilities comprise a dramatically positioned restaurant, 3 infinity swimming pools, seclude sandy beach, 30 sailboats and tuition, kitesurfing, windsurfing, SUPs and spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Nonsuch Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonsuch Bay Hotel Freetown
Nonsuch Bay Resort Antigua/Freetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nonsuch Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.