We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nonsuch Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Nonsuch Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nonsuch Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hughes Point, Freetown po 2208, Antigua   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join WINESTOCK Antigua
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freetown
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“amazing honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

we were looking for a nice resort with good service and good food... we found non such bay to be beyond our expectations... making our honeymoon a special trip we will always remember.
staff is amazing from booking till check out (thank you Coleen, shena, zoe, terita, charmaine, shenaca and the one we are forgetting...... massive thank you to the Chef, michael that is deserving his fame).
beach is not so nice but going to green island or long bay compensate.
we booked a car for 3 days, went on a boat trip to green island... not only were we alone on a lovely beach, snorkeling, but we could order food that got delivered in the island... and drinks...
speaking of which... amazing cocktails, ang good wine card (try the malbec catena).
PS- we highly recommand the lobster panini...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    46
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
95
90
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Antigua
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My experience at Nonsuch Bay Resort was the most relaxing one. The sea breeze was a knocker, the food was delicious, the drinks were perfect and the staff were very kind and pleasant. The location of the resort is perfect, away from large numbers and out of town with peace and quiet.

This is a resort were you can go to relax.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorgues, France
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We can't speak highly enough about Nonsuch Bay. Just about everything we experienced of the place was absolutely first-class! The development itself is amazingly situated, and without doubt the most carefully considered of all developments, being superbly sympathetic to it's situation. The facilities are all of the highest quality, and superbly served. It is more remote than other resorts, but that suits the situation and place it is attempting to be. The sailing/watersports facilities are excellent, too. There have been some concerns about the approach road, which is not yet metaled. However, we had a car for the entire fortnight, and went off site every day. We didn't notice the road after the first time we used it. The restaurant at the hotel has a small, but excellent menu each night, though we thought the prices were high for what was served.
However, if there is one thing that outshines the resort itself, it is the staff on site! Everyone from security at the entrance, to Zoe and co. at reception, are wonderful. Servicing the saling facilities, the crew of Leslie, Kimba, Akim and Micky at the sailing club were truly wonderful! And, Natasha, who runs both the 'Kids Club' and is the hottest skipper of a catamaran we've seen yet, is an authentic 'Angel'! Don't miss the chance for these guys to drop you off on Green Island for a few hours. It's amazing!
Thanks to the management team of Cameron and Hugh for providing us with everything we needed. (the tip to use the FBO at Antigua airport was excellent)
They only allow you to score 5-out-of-5......... We can't wait to come back! We're already checking the school calendar for next year!

Room Tip: We have 2 kids of 11 and 13, and the beach front bungalow we had was perfect. They are ideal for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The Nonsuch Bay Resort was recomended to reserve while visiting on business and have to say nothing but amazing, positive things towards my stay. I was especially impressed by the conceirge level of service and knowledge from all levels of Nonsuch's Personnel (Terita, Zoe, Schena and Vernon). The room and resort is incredibly modern not feeling you are on an island including impecable clean. I would highly recommend Nonsuch Resort and especially and restaurant's delicious menu. No doubt you will be impressed as I was.

Location is at the end of the island, therefore allow yourself at least 20 minutes to town.

Room Tip: My choice to suggest would be high floor room the view is breathtaking and especially while you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The hotel nonsuch is a wonderful place to stay. My partner and I have been to antigua a couple of times and fancied this place as had self catering facilities. If you stay at this hotel please be aware it is a long way from things. There is a beautiful restaurant in the hotel called the Bay but there is none others for a while. I would suggest most people need a car. The hotel is down a dirt track for about a 10 min car ride. Plus if doing self catering or wanting to bring in food there is no shop on site.
The resort itself has amazing apartments. We stayed in a one bed which compromised of a kitchen and lounge area beautifully decorated, veranda/balcony, master bedroom and large bathroom with bath and shower. The apartment was cleaned everyday and the service was very good.
The reception and bar staff are great. Receptionist booked our trips and helped us decided a few things to do. I would def recommend stingray city. Also going to OJ's which I have gone to several times before and it is still wonderful. The food is not amazing but you can not get a better beach Front cafe. Also another trip /thing to do is you can go to Carlise Bay for lunch and use the pool/beach.
Back to nonsuch resort. The pools are good , bit murky underwater but beautiful. There is two medium size ones then one in restaurant bar area which is an infinity pool, this is smallish though.
Th beach is good if you have children as safe as resorts own, plus no big waves. I personally don't feel it is a true Caribbean beach such as others on the island white sands, crystal waters as not murky but like I said safe and clean.
Would I stay here again........ YES but will defiantly be hiring car next time too.
Oh one more thing if wanting a supermarket I would recommend going to one called epicurean (or something like this) up by the airport. Although a long way from resort it has everything. The others in English harbour and about are tiny and not much choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Horsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My family and I booked this hotel for a week to take advantage of the water sports.

The hotel did not disappoint.

Initially we were dubious as we had to travel up a long unmade road to reach the hotel. We wondered what we had let ourselves in for. However, once we reached the property the only word that can describe it is luxury.

We drove down the long driveway passing two swimming pools (each overlooking the ocean) to reach the reception desk. Check-in was a breeze and we were offered some local rum too.

After a tour of the restaurant and infinity pool (a third pool) we made our way to our villa. The villa was large and well maintained. It had a fully equipped kitchen area. There is a separate laundry room.

All villas have wi-fi. We experienced a problem with the router in our villa, but this was quickly changed and all was fine. The internet speed was a little slow for me but the people in reception contacted their isp and speed was increased.

Because we went off-season the hotel was very quiet. The advantage to this is that we had all of the water sport facilities practically to ourselves. Anything we wanted to do was not too much trouble.

I thoroughly recommend this hotel.

My only suggestion would be, with such a well equipped villa, it might be nice to offer a chef to come and cook a meal. I would have liked to have had a nice meal on the balcony. Maybe next time!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed in August 2013 for a weekend and had a wonderful family break. Our spacious two bedroom apartment had everything we needed, everything worked and appliances are really good quality. The outdoor furnishing is of a high standard and the outdoor space is well laid out. We used all three pools and couldn't decide on a favourite! The staff were great from initial enquiry to departure and the food was fabulous - wish I had space to try a dessert. Nonsuch Bay is a wonderful, relaxing place - ideal if you like sailing, but if you are like us it's just ideal for chillin' out. The resort is about an hour away from St John's and has no real shops close by....so if you are flying in it is best to shop before heading down to Nonsuch as the apartment is so well equipped you have the choice to fix up light meals and breakfast.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment (201) near the front of the property which was 1 mins from the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nonsuch Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonsuch Bay Resort

Address: Hughes Point, Freetown po 2208, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Phillip Parish > Freetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nonsuch Bay Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nonsuch Bay Resort nestles in forty exotic acres of the stunning bay carved out of the southeast of Antigua; embraced by lush tropical hills, a uniquely private and serene setting, a tranquil haven and home to wildlife including dolphins and turtles. Pure relaxation is blended with out-an-out adrenalin, and the finest luxuries with the simplest of pleasures. Resort facilities comprise a dramatically positioned restaurant, 3 infinity swimming pools, seclude sandy beach, 20 sailboats and tuition, kitesurfing, windsurfing, SUPs and spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Jetsetter, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Nonsuch Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonsuch Bay Hotel Freetown
Nonsuch Bay Resort Antigua/Freetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nonsuch Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.