We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nonsuch Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Nonsuch Bay Resort to your Saves list
Nonsuch Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hughes Point, Freetown po 2208, Antigua   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Discounts up to 30%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freetown
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Island Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Four of us stayed in a cottage on the beach for 12 days in June. It really was top class accommodation, with 2 huge bedrooms, great views of the bay from the veranda, all mod cons and spotless...The staff at the resort were friendly and professional - always seeking to do more and to make our stay memorable...The beach team were excellent and the sailing kit superb...we loved the Elite 24s...just the right boat for the location...The restaurant had excellent food and great staff...
We hired a car for the full stay which allowed us to explore and occasionally eat out at English Harbour (also excellent)...
It was very quiet when we were there, which suited us just fine!
Great spot for a really relaxing holiday...

Room Tip: Beach cottages excellent for 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    46
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
95
90
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

To celebrate my wife's 40th birthday, after much deliberation, we decided that the mix of space in apartment and facilities provided was perfect for us - and so it proved.

We traveled with two small boys (3.5 and 2) and wanted to have separate rooms with some cooking facilities so we were not reliant on catered solutions. We booked a 2 bed apartment and were upgraded to a beachfront cottage - which was very spacious and perfectly placed so we were only a short distance from the beach, while being quite safe (balcony fully enclosed) for our two boys to run about without us worrying that they would disappear into the sea.

Staff were friendly and helpful. Food (from the Bay restaurant) was delicious and on a couple of occasions we had it by "room service" - allowing us to eat in our own apartment and not need to worry about babysitting. On the occasion that we did ask for a babysitter, that worked very well too.

A real highlight for us was trips to Green Island - where there are deserted beaches and wonderful snorkeling - though we were (correctly) warned that boats on a round-the-island trip stop there from about 11.15 and destroy the peace for a couple of hours.

We did not use the sailing facilities but they looked like a real plus for anyone wanting to get out on the water with minimum effort the provision looked wonderful. A variety of boats on offer and all rigged for you. We were able to borrow sea kayaks at no cost.

The location is somewhat remote and, if you want to get about the island, I suggest you take the resort's suggestion and use Vernon's car hire - we were met at the airport, provided with a decent 4x4 (RAV 4) with suitable car seats. If not for the full time, I think they can also provide vehicles or chauffeured services directly from the resort.

Beaches - the resort beach is quiet but is not the best the island has to offer in terms of golden sand and views. Nearby (10 minutes drive) Half Moon Bay is spectacular and offers good snorkeling. Long Bay Beach (25 minutes drive) is also wonderful and has more "life" as well as an easily accessible reef for snorkeling.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I recently spent a week at the nonsuch bay resort - it was paradise - the staff are absolutely delightful and the room was beautiful - we stayed in a beach cottage which was beautfully furnished with a very well equipped kitchen - and amazing views of the sea -
the food - oh my god! - they have is an award winning chef - delicious -
we had rented a car but left the resort very little as to be honest it had everything we wanted - sun, sea, good food and wonderful people

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Antigua
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We spent only one night at Nonsuch Bay Resort but it was a fabulous experience. We received a warm welcome from the General Manager himself along with other front office staff and were offered a welcome cocktail which we gratefully accepted. After the formalities we were escorted to our two-bedroom apartment by a very friendly member of the staff who proceeded to give us an orientation of our room. The room was a huge two-bedroom apartment with a very large verandah overlooking the beautiful tropical gardens, pools and the sea all the way to Green Island, the barrier reef and beyond. The apartment was ideally equipped for self-catering but with such limited time at the resort, we opted for lunch at The Bay restaurant which was delicious. After that we took an RS Elite sailing which had been perfectly prepared by Leslie and his staff on the waterfront. The sailing conditions in Nonsuch Bay are as good as they get. We sailed all around the bay and over to Green Island, around a few reefs and finally back to the resort. The RS Elite was great to sail, the conditions were perfect and the step-on, step-off sailing option was such a treat - all the work preparing the boat and putting it away again was done for us. Thanks to Leslie and staff.

Dinner was excellent, and the impeccable service was very friendly and efficient. It couldn't be faulted in any way. When we retired to our room for the night we had an exceptionally comfortable and peaceful sleep - it was lovely. The following morning we had more of the same - RS Elite sailing including a race against Leslie and staff, a leisurely dip in the pool, and general relaxation on the beautiful property.

Overall it was an exceptional experience. Nonsuch Bay Resort has a perfect balance of everything we look for in a resort and we will definitely be back very soon! Thanks to all the staff for their friendly and very efficient service. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My wife and I travelled to Nonsuch bay for our wedding anniversary and had an excellent time. The resort grounds are beautiful, a tropical paradise. We reserved a 1 bedroom apartment and were given a two bedroom apartment for no extra charge. The apartment was gorgeous, very large, clean and well furnished, with full kitchen. The covered porch was huge, wrapped around the apartment and had a beautiful view. We spent a large portion of our vacation lounging on the porch enjoying the view and nice breeze. There are three freshwater pools on the grounds, all of which were very nice. There is a small private beach at the resort, nothing too special but certainly served the purpose. We were often the only people on the beach, which was nice. We only ate at the restaurant for dinner on one of the evenings, it was delicious, slightly expensive. We took advantage of the watersports center and learned to sail on the various dinghies, the watersports team was great and had us sailing on our own by day two, even though neither of us had any sailing experience. Their fleet is excellent. The staff at the resort was incredibly friendly and helpful, and made our anniversary extra special with complimentary flowers and wine. We would recommend a rental car, as the resort is a decent drive from most other attractions on the island. Also be prepared for a 15 minute drive down a dirt/rock road to get to and from the resort. The resort was very quiet and relaxing, there did not seem to be a huge number of other guests staying there. Overall we had an amazing stay and would recommend the resort, especially for sailing and watersports enthusiasts.

Room Tip: If reserving an apartment, request one on the middle level to be closer to the water/beach. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stopped here for lunch. Great food by award winning chef (former Caribbean chef of year). We had wrap and panini, both delicious and well presented. Main restaurant menu looked good. Prices are very reasonable. Service is excellent and staff are friendly and welcoming. Restaurant and bar overlook beach and sea. Beautiful infinity pool looking out over sea. You have to take a long rough road to get there, but it is worth the drive. Follow the signs for Harmony Hall to get to the road.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We only spent 2 nights but loved our two bedroom apartment. We were situated with the pool right in front of us so being able to dip in and out was great. We like the rooms, the sizes were good and the bathrooms were spacious. The open plan kitchen was well stocked and nice to cook in. The lounge suite was very comfy and the simple decor was pleasing to the eye.
We found the staff helpfull and the service prompt and professional.

The views are spectacular and the wonderful Green Island only a boat ride away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nonsuch Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonsuch Bay Resort

Address: Hughes Point, Freetown po 2208, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Phillip Parish > Freetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nonsuch Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nonsuch Bay Resort nestles in forty exotic acres of the stunning bay carved out of the southeast of Antigua; embraced by lush tropical hills, a uniquely private and serene setting, a tranquil haven and home to wildlife including dolphins and turtles. Pure relaxation is blended with out-an-out adrenalin, and the finest luxuries with the simplest of pleasures. Resort facilities comprise a dramatically positioned restaurant, 3 infinity swimming pools, seclude sandy beach, 20 sailboats and tuition, kitesurfing, windsurfing, SUPs and spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Nonsuch Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonsuch Bay Hotel Freetown
Nonsuch Bay Resort Antigua/Freetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nonsuch Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;