We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PARADISE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nonsuch Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Nonsuch Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nonsuch Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hughes Point, Freetown po 2208, Antigua   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join WINESTOCK Antigua
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freetown
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“PARADISE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I recently spent a week at the nonsuch bay resort - it was paradise - the staff are absolutely delightful and the room was beautiful - we stayed in a beach cottage which was beautfully furnished with a very well equipped kitchen - and amazing views of the sea -
the food - oh my god! - they have is an award winning chef - delicious -
we had rented a car but left the resort very little as to be honest it had everything we wanted - sun, sea, good food and wonderful people

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    46
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
95
89
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Antigua
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We spent only one night at Nonsuch Bay Resort but it was a fabulous experience. We received a warm welcome from the General Manager himself along with other front office staff and were offered a welcome cocktail which we gratefully accepted. After the formalities we were escorted to our two-bedroom apartment by a very friendly member of the staff who proceeded to give us an orientation of our room. The room was a huge two-bedroom apartment with a very large verandah overlooking the beautiful tropical gardens, pools and the sea all the way to Green Island, the barrier reef and beyond. The apartment was ideally equipped for self-catering but with such limited time at the resort, we opted for lunch at The Bay restaurant which was delicious. After that we took an RS Elite sailing which had been perfectly prepared by Leslie and his staff on the waterfront. The sailing conditions in Nonsuch Bay are as good as they get. We sailed all around the bay and over to Green Island, around a few reefs and finally back to the resort. The RS Elite was great to sail, the conditions were perfect and the step-on, step-off sailing option was such a treat - all the work preparing the boat and putting it away again was done for us. Thanks to Leslie and staff.

Dinner was excellent, and the impeccable service was very friendly and efficient. It couldn't be faulted in any way. When we retired to our room for the night we had an exceptionally comfortable and peaceful sleep - it was lovely. The following morning we had more of the same - RS Elite sailing including a race against Leslie and staff, a leisurely dip in the pool, and general relaxation on the beautiful property.

Overall it was an exceptional experience. Nonsuch Bay Resort has a perfect balance of everything we look for in a resort and we will definitely be back very soon! Thanks to all the staff for their friendly and very efficient service. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My wife and I travelled to Nonsuch bay for our wedding anniversary and had an excellent time. The resort grounds are beautiful, a tropical paradise. We reserved a 1 bedroom apartment and were given a two bedroom apartment for no extra charge. The apartment was gorgeous, very large, clean and well furnished, with full kitchen. The covered porch was huge, wrapped around the apartment and had a beautiful view. We spent a large portion of our vacation lounging on the porch enjoying the view and nice breeze. There are three freshwater pools on the grounds, all of which were very nice. There is a small private beach at the resort, nothing too special but certainly served the purpose. We were often the only people on the beach, which was nice. We only ate at the restaurant for dinner on one of the evenings, it was delicious, slightly expensive. We took advantage of the watersports center and learned to sail on the various dinghies, the watersports team was great and had us sailing on our own by day two, even though neither of us had any sailing experience. Their fleet is excellent. The staff at the resort was incredibly friendly and helpful, and made our anniversary extra special with complimentary flowers and wine. We would recommend a rental car, as the resort is a decent drive from most other attractions on the island. Also be prepared for a 15 minute drive down a dirt/rock road to get to and from the resort. The resort was very quiet and relaxing, there did not seem to be a huge number of other guests staying there. Overall we had an amazing stay and would recommend the resort, especially for sailing and watersports enthusiasts.

Room Tip: If reserving an apartment, request one on the middle level to be closer to the water/beach. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stopped here for lunch. Great food by award winning chef (former Caribbean chef of year). We had wrap and panini, both delicious and well presented. Main restaurant menu looked good. Prices are very reasonable. Service is excellent and staff are friendly and welcoming. Restaurant and bar overlook beach and sea. Beautiful infinity pool looking out over sea. You have to take a long rough road to get there, but it is worth the drive. Follow the signs for Harmony Hall to get to the road.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We only spent 2 nights but loved our two bedroom apartment. We were situated with the pool right in front of us so being able to dip in and out was great. We like the rooms, the sizes were good and the bathrooms were spacious. The open plan kitchen was well stocked and nice to cook in. The lounge suite was very comfy and the simple decor was pleasing to the eye.
We found the staff helpfull and the service prompt and professional.

The views are spectacular and the wonderful Green Island only a boat ride away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed for 8 days end of April to start of May. Weather was excellent, the property was well taken care of and the overall appearance of the pools, beach, waterfront sports area and restaurant was excellent. The restaurant was 5 star all the way and you won't be disappointed. We did have a waitress on our past evening that was not very pleasant but she might have been having a bad day and we can all relate to that.

On the low side was our room, initial impression is just as pictured on nonsuch website and has quite a wow factor when you walk in. We stayed in the row directly behind the beachfront villas and had a perfect view of the ocean and lower infinity pool from the second floor balcony of our one bedroom unit. Sounds good to this point and it was, the kitchen was well stocked for making your own meals and the bedroom and bathroom are very nice in appearance.
The lows come with a few strange design flaws, all of the exterior windows on all buildings are not windows at all, they are wood shutters with mesh on the outside, meaning you can hear everything happening everywhere, the weed whippers in the morning, people's doors opening and closing, kids singing at 7am in the apartment beside us(20 feet away) and splashing in the pool not to mention all the sounds of the night from the bedrooms. A little strange, and makes it really hard to sleep in or feel like you have any privacy. Also because the windows are just wooden shades the heat pumps in to any room you don't have AC on, and when you do have AC on it runs constantly because its just going out the windows. While I like to be warm during the day I can't sleep when its 32 in the bedroom so we ran the AC but found the wall mounted reminder to be energy efficient a joke. The doors on the front of the units facing the ocean are glass up top but the lower half are the same wooden shade design and let all the noise and heat in. Add to this no real blinds in the bedroom besides paper thin sheer white bug netting style drapes and if you like to sleep in the dark your out of luck, I prefer to have dark in the morning, especially since the abundance of glass on the doors in the bedroom makes it incredibly bright at shortly after 6am.

We also had a really bad ant problem during our entire stay, we had hundreds of ants in both the kitchen and bathroom as well as the living room, the front desk did send us ant spray but the ants were heavy the moment we walked in and would have been nicer if they changed our room and took care of the problem, or sent someone in to clean it up rather than us chase them around with paper towel and a spray can and unfortunately even after the housekeeping throughout the week most of the dead ants that were left after we sprayed did not get cleaned up. I realize ants can be a problem, but we aren't just talking about a few ants here and there, it was hundreds at times and they were there every day.

I don't want to give you a bad impression, just want you to be aware of the things we didn't hear about in other reviews.

One thing we wish we had of done more of is take advantage of the waterfront, the sports people are incredibly nice and very informative and the trip to green island for a snorkel is worth every penny, it's amazing! We also appreciated the resort being so secluded and far from the main touristy areas, it was nice to be so remote. The dirt road in is not that big of a deal, if you are renting a car and driving it each day then I guess it could get annoying but we didn't mind the trip in and out.

We probably won't be back, just due to the room issues, we were taking our first trip away from our 2 year old daughter and were excited to sleep in each day, unfortunately we were up at 6:30 each morning because of the cars passing by early( the road is 15 feet from the wooden windows and the staff comes in pretty early) and the noises from other rooms and guests along with the blazing light in the room.
I also feel that a premium priced resort should have looked into our bug problem further and put us in a different room right off the start, there was hardly anyone at the resort our first day and many other 1 bedroom units available.



  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

First, the good and the great. The properties here are very good. The apartments are large and the kitchens well equipped. The bedrooms were spacious with good closet space, televisions and en-suite bathroom facilities in each room (all with shower, some with baths). The layout of the apartment was fantastic - huge open plan living area and wonderful wrap around balcony and additional terraces. The staff are lovely. While some training would not go amiss in terms of dealing with basic inquiries such as checkout times and non-working televisions, the overall aim is to help and things do generally get resolved eventually. In addition, the on-site restaurant is of great quality (albeit quite pricey if you don't take a pre-paid option). There are three available pools (including the small one by the restaurant) which have good quality loungers and umbrellas.
The resort is relatively remote and if one has ambitions to see other parts of the island, go to a beach or go out to dinner a car is preferable (although taxis are available, again at a price). The resort does face East and normally has a breeze. When the sun is out, this is incredibly pleasant. However, due to the resort's location, stronger winds seem to be common.
Sailing and kite boarding are offered as activities but are incredibly expensive. We worked out that based on the prices being charged (on a per person basis) we could probably have bought our own dinghy, used it for the week and given it away and still been ahead. This was hugely disappointing as the resort is quite remote and alternative activities are limited. The fact that while we were there we only saw a boat go out once bears testament to the fact that these activities are probably too pricey. The other disappointment was the fact that there was no gym on site. At this level of resort, this was a surprising oversight.
My overall impression was that a lot of work had gone into getting the properties right and they are great but that the resort activities and amenities were something of an afterthought and, as such, need further thought.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nonsuch Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonsuch Bay Resort

Address: Hughes Point, Freetown po 2208, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Phillip Parish > Freetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nonsuch Bay Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nonsuch Bay Resort nestles in forty exotic acres of the stunning bay carved out of the southeast of Antigua; embraced by lush tropical hills, a uniquely private and serene setting, a tranquil haven and home to wildlife including dolphins and turtles. Pure relaxation is blended with out-an-out adrenalin, and the finest luxuries with the simplest of pleasures. Resort facilities comprise a dramatically positioned restaurant, 3 infinity swimming pools, seclude sandy beach, 20 sailboats and tuition, kitesurfing, windsurfing, SUPs and spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Nonsuch Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonsuch Bay Hotel Freetown
Nonsuch Bay Resort Antigua/Freetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nonsuch Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.