We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, serene & quiet - perfectly relaxing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nonsuch Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Nonsuch Bay Resort to your Saves list
Nonsuch Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hughes Point, Freetown po 2208, Antigua   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freetown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful, serene & quiet - perfectly relaxing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights at the beginning of a 2-1/2 week island-hopping Caribbean vacation in late February. This was the perfect place to completely decompress and get into vacation mode. The site is picturesque and the resort is extremely peaceful and quiet.

The room we stayed in was a fully appointed one-bedroom apartment with a wrap-around porch overlooking Nonsuch Bay. It had a full kitchen so we could prepare snacks and cook our own meals, which we did a few times when we wanted a break from restaurant food. It had a living room with comfortable sofas and chairs and cable TV. The bedroom was large with two huge closets and the bed was the most comfortable bed I’ve ever slept in while traveling (seriously, we slept 12 hours the first night and then took a 3 hour nap the next day!!). The bathroom was also huge, modern and nice.

One of the resort’s infinity pools was just steps away from our door, but there were never more than 2 people using it at a time, so in a way, it felt like our private pool.

As others have said, this is definitely off the beaten path. It’s about a 45-minute drive from the airport, the last 10 minutes of which are on a dirt road. It’s at least 30 minutes to the nearest grocery store or amenity of any size. Therefore, I would absolutely recommend renting a car while you are staying here so you can take independent day trips to other areas of the island (I recommend driving 15 minutes to half-moon bay!). Don’t let the remoteness discourage you from staying here. It is a beautiful, secluded resort and you’ll be glad once you’ve arrived.

Overall, the service here was good. In particular, the maid service in our room was outstanding. The service in the restaurant, however, could use a little more finessing. While the food was very good (although not the best one can find on the island), the servers seemed unfamiliar with the menu. My husband and I would order from the menu while pointing to the item we were ordering and the servers would often look confused and on more than one occasion brought the wrong item. There was a miscommunication one night about the cost of the entrée I ordered and when I brought it up to our server she got very defensive and basically said it was my misunderstanding, end of story. I wish she would have at least said something like, “I’m sorry for the confusion, let me look into that.” I think simply providing more training to the servers would help. For example, the resort could train them to repeat all orders back to the customer so there is no confusion about the order and make sure they are all familiar with the menu when they arrive for their shift each day.

Overall, we loved our time at the resort and would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    61
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
112
109
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Spent 5 days in March 2012 with my wife in 712- a one bedroom, 5 fix br, L/D with kitchen in back and a wrap around deck. Pros: very nice condo style interiors, DVD, WiFi, tastefully decortated, great food at the restaurant, nice staff, and Green Island. Cons: the dirt road is a bit tough- just slow- gets sort of annoying the 6th time, not a great beach- never went ( but we never went to the pools either). We went sailing, visited English harbor, I did two dives from Falmouth Harbor, dinner at East ( nice to see a swank resort, food was good- but not really better than Nonsuch Bay- and very expensive: $250 for two). The thing to do is to go to Green Island, they shoot you out there on a zodiac. You can pack a lunch, go snorkeling, etc. It's fun to play the castaway. But beware the tourist catamaran. They tend to arrive around lunch time at one or two of the ten available beachs, so you can always take a walk, swim or otherwise make yourself scarce for a while. Or do a 10 to 12 run, etc. It was really fun. Needless to say- bring lots of sunscreen and water. No party or night time scene - very quiet and chill. There was also a pretty constant wind- it is on the windward side of the island. Kept the bugs away.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We recently went to Nonsuch Bay Resort in Antigua. We had a beautiful 2 bedroom villa. The service was excellent, and the chef went an extra mile to make us delicious vegetarian food. But the most memorable thing was the kindness of the Hotel manager, Cameron, when our 17 month old daughter got very sick. He woke up in the middle of the night and drove 40 minutes to take us to the closest major hospital, and waited for hours while we were in the ER. He also returned early in the morning after only a little sleep to check up on us and take us back to the resort. We defintely plan to return to this wonderful destination, where we were impressed by the service and touched by their kindness.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, uk
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We chose the resort as it was pretty new and the food was good

We had a wonderful week's break ( me, my wife and 2 teenage daughters) with a nice property ( town-house) lovely views and good food at the restaurant

The service at the restaurant was poor in general and the unmade 2 mile road to the property is a real pain

the lack of any accessible shop for purchasing milk, juice, fruit is also a downside

Watersports were great

Travel between the town houses and the main resort was haphazard and too far to walk in the heat of the day as it was up an extremely steep hill and was around half a mile

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Our stay at Nonsuch Bay Resort was one of the best travel experiences I have ever had (and I am a very frequent traveler). The setting, the rooms, the food are all fantastic, but it is the friendly and accommodating staff that made our visit unforgettable. They were very flexible and gave you the feeling that anything could be arranged if you just asked.

Staff: The staff at Nonsuch Bay is world class. Within hours of our check-in it seemed like everyone on the grounds knew our name (several of the staff came over to introduce themselves). Everyone has smiles and greetings for you wherever you go. We were traveling with our 3-month-old son and everyone went out of their way to be as accommodating as possible. Special mention goes to Schena, who manages to the food and beverage operations. She and her team pulled out all the stops to make sure we felt taken care of, even personally delivering food to our room.

Restaurant: The Bay restaurant serves by far the best food we have had in the Caribbean. We were on the half board meal plan (highly recommended), so we got the chance to try most things on the menu. One problem I've always had with other places in the Caribbean is that the food is often middling, boring, 2nd-tier country club food. Not here: Chef Mitchell and Schena (the manager) have created a very special place that brings together the best ingredients, skill and talent in the kitchen, great service and a spectacular outdoor setting overlooking the bay.

Setting/location: The resort is very secluded. To call it off the beaten track is an understatement. Antigua is a small island, but you will travel the whole length of it to get to the resort. For us, this was fantastic. But if you are looking for nightlife and a different restaurant and bar every night this is probably not the place for you. If you are looking for peace and quiet, an oasis away from it all and don't mind traveling down a dirt road for the last couple of miles to get there, this is your spot. Also, it was very windy while we were there. Great for sailing and kite surfing. But if you are wind-averse it might not be for you.

Other notes: Meal plan recommended if you don't want to do much driving. Lots of waterspouts equipment and basic instruction available. Go to the grocery store on the way in. You can get drinks from room service for about the same price as you would pay in a store. Recommend a rental car to get around.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We enjoyed a four night stay at Nonsuch Bay and had a very enjoyable vacation. I traveled with my husband and four year old son. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment that was bigger than our entire NYC apartment! The furnishing are tasteful, functional and comfortable. The kitchen was well stocked with just about every item you would require. We had several balconies and one large deck, all with clear views to the ocean. All doors to the balconies have both top and bottom locks, something parents of small children appreciate. The amenities in the rooms are nice, one wish I would love to see in the future would be robes and slippers. It would be great to have had a robe to slip on after spending a day at the beach.

The staff was friendly but not overly solicitous. They all were knowledgeable about the island and gave good suggestion as to the best beaches, restaurants, sights to see. They helped us organize transportation and reservations on several occasions. The small efforts that staff members make can really make a big difference on your experience. Nonsuch Bay scores high in this regard. One staff member brought a bag of sand toys to us for our son on the beach (we did not even ask for this). Our cleaning lady noticed that we remove our shoes at the front door and provided us with towels outside so we could clean our feet before entering our apartment.

The restaurant, the food was great, we live in NYC and have access to some of the best food in the world here, so it can be hard to compete with our tastes! The steamed red snapper was amazing, I ordered it on several occasions. I do see what other reviews mean about a limited menu, my suggestion to the hotel would be to offer one new special each night. The menu, though somewhat limited did offer a nice variety of options that kept us very happy during our stay.

A must trip is to Green Island, and uninhabited island 15 mins away by boat from the resort. We spent several hours out there, playing in the crystal clear waters and pristine beach, the sand was as soft as flour! We were the only three people out there, truly an amazing afternoon!
Some practical info about this resort. The resort is very quiet, most apartments have their own pools so the main three pools are often empty, if you are looking for conversation or other kids around the pool you may not find this here.
The beach at the resort is small and again quiet. It was fine for us and our four year old. There is a nice breeze from the water so you never get too hot and there is plenty of shade. The are three shared pools, one off the restaurant (we never saw anyone in this pool), and two at each set of apartments. The units are set back from the main house of the resort, meaning you have to walk from your room to breakfast, or drive. This is not a big all inclusive style resort like a Club Med or Beaches, if these places are the type of resorts you enjoy then Nonsuch Bay would not be the best option.
As for the dirt road leading to the resort, it is bumpy but not all that bad. If you are from the northeast of the US, you will most likely not be put off by the road.

While we were there our son came down with an ear infection. The hotel staff again was very helpful with helping us secure proper medical treatment. They called a very well known doctor on the island (Dr. Rodney Williams) who came out to the resort to attend to our son. He had every type of medication you would need and was very gentle with our son.

All and all this trip was wonderful. The views are breath taking, the staff accommodating, the food quality above average and the rooms are amazing. We would return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Nonsuch bay is one of the most serene, blissful resort in the Caribbean. Not only are the accommodations comfortable, spacious and extremely relaxing, the staff was incredibly hospitable. This resort has a wonderful sailing facility, with options for young children to competitive sailors. The all inclusive package is quite reasonable, including a gorgeous condo with a kitchen, incredible food named 2011 best chef in the Caribbean, serene pools and beach, and a plethora of on the water activities. I would recommend Nonsuch bay for a family vacation or a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nonsuch Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonsuch Bay Resort

Address: Hughes Point, Freetown po 2208, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Phillip Parish > Freetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nonsuch Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nonsuch Bay Resort nestles in forty exotic acres of the stunning bay carved out of the southeast of Antigua; embraced by lush tropical hills, a uniquely private and serene setting, a tranquil haven and home to wildlife including dolphins and turtles. Pure relaxation is blended with out-an-out adrenalin, and the finest luxuries with the simplest of pleasures. Resort facilities comprise a dramatically positioned restaurant, 3 infinity swimming pools, seclude sandy beach, 30 sailboats and tuition, kitesurfing, windsurfing, SUPs and spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Nonsuch Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonsuch Bay Hotel Freetown
Nonsuch Bay Resort Antigua/Freetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nonsuch Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.