We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at Cysgod y Coed B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cysgod y Coed B&B and Self Catering Accommodation

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanfor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cysgod y Coed B&B and Self Catering Accommodation
Save
You added Cysgod y Coed B&B and Self Catering Accommodation to your Saves list
Church Street, Llanfor, Snowdonia National Park, Bala LL23 7DU, Wales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
4 for price of 3 in B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Llanfor B&B and Inns
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely stay at Cysgod y Coed B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We thouroghly enjoyed our stay at the Cysgod y coed B&B. The tea and warm welsh cakes were much appreciated after the long journey and the owners were very welcoming. The rooms were immaculately clean and we felt at home right away. The breakfast was delicious from local welsh yogurt to full traditional welsh breakfasts. Nothing was too much trouble and the owners were more than happy to advise us on where to visit in the area. It makes a great base to visit the beautiful surrounding area from the Snowdownia national park to the scenic lakes of central wales. We particularly enjoyed kayaking and canoeing on the lakes!! Would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
60
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night on a fly through stopover between Edinburgh and London. We received enough information about the surrounding area to maximize our time there. Walked up a hill behind the B&B then went for a guided sail on the lake which Mel organized for us in the morning.
An assortment of cereals and cooked breakfast was available also a fresh fruit salad. All the ingredients were very tasty! I liked the look of the separate Bach and if I'm ever in the area again, I'd definitely come back and stay there.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Mel and Mick are so welcoming and passionate about their home that we felt at home straight away.Nothing was too much trouble.Mel even found speciality Tea for us.
The B&B is so lovely and clean and it is in such a beautiful location. The sound of the stream and wildlife was very relaxing. The hot tub was the icing on the cake. We will be sure to return soon. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We spent two nights at this lovely B&B. A fantastic reception from genuinely nice people who gave great advice about the local area. Breakfast was superb with the finest quality ingredients which we enjoyed. The room was very comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities and a ensuite which suited all our needs. Overall a fantastic gem and highly recommendable. Thank you!

Room Tip: Bring bathers for the hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Four of us arrived having cycled 80+ miles - could not have asked for a warmer welcome: Large pot of tea and freshly cooked welsh cakes.
Picturesque and quiet location but only one mile from centre of Bala, easy to walk.
Lovely rooms and bathrooms. Nice touches included a basket full of extra tea, coffee, milk and biscuits on the landing outside the bedrooms.
Mel was a great host and the generous cooked breakfast with all local produce set us up for our remaining 50 mile ride, which included an alternative route provided by Mel to avoid the main road out of Bala (weather was awful but the route was stunning)
Hope to return in the future..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We truly enjoyed our stay here, and genuinely found ourselves saying how we 'can't wait to get back tonight' after long, hard, activity-filled days. We found this a great place to relax, Mel and Mick's hospitality top-notch, and would certainly stay again. Overall, very happy with our stay.

Most of the activities we did were near Betws y Coed, and so we had an extra 30-45 mins drive twice every day... but we agreed that it was MORE than worth doing to stay in such a great place.

The facilities themselves were spotless upon arrival, everything was in good working order, and we felt that if something were awry, Mel and Mick would do their utmost to rectify it (not that anything was). We felt that enjoyment of our stay was genuinely at the top of Mel and Mick's Priority list.

The cooked breakfasts we had on the final morning were thoroughly enjoyed, and I'd recommend highly if you feel you've earned it through an action-packed getaway.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage, which was perfectly suited for us - detached and self-contained... come an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

CYSGOD Y COED is one of those rare finds where the warmth of your reception, cleanliness, level of service and general thoughtfulness of Mel & Mick actually out shine the positive reviews already accumulated. Stayed for a weekend with the objective to climb Snowdon and enjoyed the whole weekend from start to finish.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cysgod y Coed B&B and Self Catering Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cysgod y Coed B&B and Self Catering Accommodation

Address: Church Street, Llanfor, Snowdonia National Park, Bala LL23 7DU, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Bala > Llanfor
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Llanfor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small four star business set in beautiful surroundings within walking distance of the market town of Bala in the Snowdonia National Park. The location is great for a peaceful break, a base for touring or for activities such as cycling, walking, fishing, canoeing and white water rafting. The B&B has two stylish and contemporary rooms - one double and one twin/super King. So you are assured a peaceful break. We have also have self catering accommodation just for two people. Both properties are on one level. Cysgod Bach Cottage - is modern and stylish and has everything you need for your holiday. There is decking outside in the South facing secluded garden. Caban y Saer (Carpenter's Cabin) - for two people. It sits on the edge of the river Hafesb with a huge deck where you can enjoy the peace and quiet. Equipped with everything you need for your stay with us. Croeso mawr/A Big Welcome! Mel & Mick ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cysgod y Coed B&B and Self Catering Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.