We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to explore the area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rhyd Country House Hotel

Rhyd Country House Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blaenannerch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rhyd Country House Hotel
Save
You added Rhyd Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Blaenannerch SA43 2AL, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Blaenannerch B&B and Inns
South Wales
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great location to explore the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We've just came back from Rhyd. We were very happy with the room, breakfast, hospitality and the location; less happy with the news about the restaurant being currently closed. Excellent reviews of food were one of the main reasons we chose Rhyd, and it was rather disappointing to find out about the closure on arrival.
Otherwise great place, we would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
26
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

From the moment you arrive you are made to feel welcome by Michelle, Nigel and the children. Our room was clean and comfortable. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and Michelle gave us a complimentary glass of wine as we chatted in the lounge prior to dinner, a lovely gesture. Then Nigel created a wonderful dinner with food sourced locally and cooked to perfection, the Creme Brullee was wonderful, both of them!!. My husband had stayed at the hotel on business before and had raved about Nigels cooking, he was not wrong!Breakfast was just as good and they are assisted in the morning by their daughter,Lauren who was delightful. If you are looking for great hosts, excellent food and really comfortable accomodation then go to Rhyd House you will not be dissapointed in any way. Thank you both for a memorable anniversary stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We have just come back from a fab weekend, super accommodation, excellent food and wonderful hosts. We have previously eaten in the restaurant but this was our first stay. We stayed for two nights B&B and the food was so good on the first night that ate there on the second one as well. When coming to this hotel you are not just staying as guests in a hotel but as friends of the family, and what a family, they are all so friendly and nothing is too much trouble, Lauren is the best little waitress ever and certainly better than some that we have encountered in some of the finest establishments around the country, both of the older children are a credit to Nigel and Michelle. Nigel's meals are wonderful and his sauces are to die for, it's just a shame that we couldn't do a dessert on either night but we will on our next visit at the end of March. Michelle is the prefect hostess
and makes everyone so welcome. If you are looking for somewhere to stay where you are looked on as a friend and not just another paying guest and somewhere where the food is second to none you must give the Rhyd Country House Hotel a try.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberteifi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Living a mere 6 miles from The Rhyd Country House, I have never stayed overnight. BUT as a discerning and frequent restaurant diner, I have only superlatives to speak of their WISHING WELL RESTAURANT. The menu choices should have something for every taste, not boring, but imaginative. The more than adequate sized portiona are always served always served piping hot, with all sauces "home made" by mine host Nigel and served under the watchful eye of the lady of the house, Michelle. I recently celebrated my 70th birthday there with 10 family members, all of whom only eat at quality establishments. (In fact 3 of them are retired restauranters). Their verdict to Nigel was... " You were well pecommended by our brother, and he/you didn't let us down.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Having left the hotel we had booked into, as it so bad, we were pleased to find this small family run hotel & restaurant. We arrived with no booking "off the street" and were made very welcome with tea in the lounge while a room was made ready for us. Food was good in the cosy restaurant and the room was warm and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Once again such a lovely stay. The hotel is ideally placed for Cardigan town and the picturesque bay. We were a little reticent to stay somewhere we had stayed before, as so often the second time round it is not the same. How wrong,it was as good if not better. The large comfortable rooms are palatial, the house is grand and the food was fit for a King, in fact the proprietors made us feel like Royalty with there superb service.

We will defiantly be going again and plan on celebrating our 25th Wedding anniversary here with friends in a couple of years time.

Bravo Michelle and Nigel !! Superb.

Room Tip: The Bridal suite, who said it was just for Bride and Groom? Should rename it the 5* Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stopped here overnight on the way back from Ireland, via the Fishguard ferry. As its not in a town or village, we chose to eat in, so called to request this and check the vegetarian menu, which initially didn't sound to good, but Nigel the chef was quickly on the phone enquiring what sort of things we liked and suggesting ideas. When we arrived a week later, we were immediately informed that the vegetable pancakes, agreed the previous week, were in preparation. The food here is the hi-light, lots of it , fantastically cooked and well presented. My partners veg pancakes were judged a big success, and my meat dish was fantastic. Both Michelle and Nigel work very hard to make the stay informal and pleasant. With a young family they have to work hard to balance both, its not a corporate swish hotel, and its much better for it. Meanwhile they are working through the rooms to keep on top of them, but didn't present a problem, like that in most hotels but they are very upfront about it. Our room was lovely and spacious, clean, very comfortable and blissfully quiet.Shame the sheep have gone, maybe time to take the reference off the website? Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rhyd Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhyd Country House Hotel

Address: Blaenannerch SA43 2AL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Blaenannerch
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Blaenannerch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rhyd Country House is a family run Exclusive Licensed Hotel & Restaurant offering all our guests a personal and friendly service were nothing is to much trouble and you will always be greeted with a smile.Set in 4 acres with 8 sheep and 15 chickens supplying our free range eggs this is an ideal location to relax and enjoy the delights of West Wales. Our A La Carte Restaurant is well known in the area for serving Fresh & Local produce , which is cooked to order by our own Chef Gavin, who is always available to talk to should you require a special diet or Vegetarian dishes.Please book your table before arriving to avoid disappointment as we are open to non residents. We are situated 4 miles from Cardigan and only 2 Miles from the beautiful blue flag Ceredigion coastline with the sandy beaches of Aberporth, Tresaith & Penbryn were seals and dolphins can be seen in season. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rhyd Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.