We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to enjoy a meal or a drink with a friend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mixed Business

Mixed Business
486 Queens Parade, Clifton Hill, Yarra, Victoria 3068, Australia
610394861606
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 17 Restaurants in Clifton Hill
Cuisines: Café
Restaurant details
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A good place to enjoy a meal or a drink with a friend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I have been to this restaurant a couple of time whilst I'm in Melbourne. I have always found the staff to be attentive the coffee or hot chocolate good. The little cakes are yummy and the meals great. I would come again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious, fresh produce and fructose free”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I am a regular at mixed business for lunch and love for the great service and accommodating kitchen who make a delicious fructose free sandwich for me. They have a choice of tasty Rye Bread or Gluten Free and modify their cheese and salad roll especially for me. Their herb and flower garden outside is an oasis in an urban hub.
Their flower shop next door "Fowlers Flowers" also has the best quality multi coloured roses grown in Victoria, which I love, they last for days an always interesting and creative windows displays

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“The quality never fails to impress”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

A simple, laminate tabled space (with a courtyard out the back and tables out the front) that consistently does great coffee and cakes, and outstanding brekky and lunch. Their hot rolls are legendary and their salads are superb (try the quinoa and toasted cauliflower!). And always some daily specials to tempt you off the regular menu. Reasonably priced too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great food and coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This cafe is definitely worth visiting. They offer a good range of breakfast and lunch options, all interesting and tasty. I had the Ploughman's Breakfast with pork belly rillettes and my friend had poached eggs with pork belly and we both enjoyed our meals. I can personally recommend the mint and lemon soda as it is light and very refreshing. They also have good coffee. Staff are polite and friendly and the cafe has a relaxed atmosphere. A great cafe worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“YUM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

YUM, what a find! Great coffee, lovely staff who are attentive but not pushy, nice atmosphere. And my salmon breakfast was absolutely delicious! A generous serve of smoked salmon on rye toast with dill, creme fraiche and lemon, topped with two perfectly poached eggs. Diced beetroot as a side was the only slight disappointment, but this is not meant as a criticism. If it could have been baked from fresh, it would have lifted this meal from delicious to sublime, as the canned version doesn't quite do the freshness of the rest of the dish justice. That said, I will be back for more, and I will be bringing my friends! Good prices for the quality, too.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mixed Business also viewed

 
Clifton Hill, Yarra
 

Been to Mixed Business? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mixed Business, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.