We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel mon Plaisir

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel mon Plaisir to your Saves list
Hotel mon Plaisir
Route d_Arlon, 218, Strassen L - 8010, Luxembourg   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Strassen
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I was here for 3 nights in mid January, I had a room on the ground floor at the back. It seems to have been fairly recently refurbished with wood florr and flat screen tv. there is also free wifi. If you want English speaking tv then you are out of luck, it is mainly German and French. The bathroom is pretty small but clean with soaps in large containers on the walls,the towels were fine and changed daily once used. My main complaint is that the mattress was a bit hard and lumpy . Breakfast is a fairly basic continental one and was fine. The room was quite warm but the heating was adjustable so that was ok ,I suspect it might be rather hot there in mid Summer as leaving a window open would be noisy. The car park at the back has plenty of space and the hotel has easy access to the city and ring motorway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    17
    13
    5
    0
See reviews for
3
16
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I went to this hotel last month, I found it very nice, the room are clean, the Wi-Fi is free in the hotel, and a continental breakfast is included in the price.
Easy to park thanks to their private parking.
I would say that it is a good 3 stars hotel !

Room Tip: The 3 "superieur" rooms are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

I was here 12 years ago and came back again. The service was again very welcoming. Our room is exactly what we need. It even has the little touches which were greatly appreciated. I didn't have time to dig through our suitcases for our toothpaste but they conveniently had a dental kit.

It is also convenient to both the airport and to downtown sights.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I was in the first floor and I was not impressed with the quality of the room. The materials are really old and the bathroom, well no comments. Also sometimes I could sense some naphthalene in the room. Also as I was in the first floor I could ear the cars passing to the private car park.

The stuff are nice and the breakfast, without the big variety of a big hotel, have a great variety of food.

Resuming: Cheap, but with the consequences of it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

This hotel has a number of good things going for it.
First, value. For a very reasonable price, you not only get a nice room, but also breakfast and free parking in a private lot to boot. The latter is important for drivers, who would have to pay extra (sometimes a lot) to park at hotels in central Luxembourg City.
Second, convenience. It’s located on Route D’Arlon, a straight shot to the city center about 5 miles away. In addition, the bus to the city center stops right across the street, about 100 yards up the road. It takes about 15 minutes to get right to the Place de Post, the stop for the city center. When the bus returns, it drops you off on the same side of the street as the hotel, about 50 yards away. The hotel also offers easy access to the main highways into and out of town. Finally, there are a number of restaurants close by, including a nice Italian one across the street on the corner.
Third, the staff. Mostly, it consists of one woman, the manager, Sophie. Sophie speaks French, English, and Italian, and perhaps some German to boot. She does everything: work at the front desk, make breakfast, set the breakfast room and serve the clientele, wash clothes, and clean the rooms. She is very accommodating and will give you a lot of information about Luxembourg. She and her staff are also very efficient. When we went to breakfast on the days we were staying over for the night, we found our room completely cleaned when we returned a half-hour later!
Fourth, accessibility. This is a good hotel for those who can walk but still have mobility problems. There are a few short steps up to ground floor in the front of the building, but there is another door on the side that has no steps at all. There are also rooms on the ground floor, and if you request one of these, she will try to honor your request.
The hotel’s rooms are clean and adequate, but a bit dark, and the downstairs hall has somewhat of a dingy look to it. The bathroom was a bit small but made good use of the space and had a nice shower. Breakfast was pretty much the standard European fare.
As an added bonus for World War II buffs, just up the street near the bus stop is one of the “Voie de la Liberté” markers that have been placed every kilometer to mark the path that the U.S. troops took from Normandy to Bastogne.
This little hotel is not luxurious, but it has a nice homey feeling and is a good bargain for anyone who wants an alternative to staying in the center of Luxembourg.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back to avoid noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

The hotel staff were amazing. We needed help calling Hertz in Paris CDG and they called for us and handled a mix up in French because we couldn't get it handled in English. Very accommodating when I return to what I consider my other home country I will stay there again.

Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, West Sussex, UK
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

This hotel is well located off the main motorways on a main suburban commuter road.

Its advantages are its location to the motorway & an excellent & frequent weekday bus service into Luxembourg centre.
You also have some good restaurants to go to - in particular an Italian one called Chez Mario opposite McDonalds - and some local bars.

Disadvantages are really that the hotel isn't as good as its price would indicate. Rooms are Ok for a guest house - small & basic with few luxuries, but tend to have chain hotel prices.
Also, on a weekend the bars are empty & so you may be drinking alone & it does lack some atmosphere. But it does have at least more atmposphere than Luxembourg town, which is deserted.
The bus service on a weekend is also a disadvantage, especially on a Sunday. It reverts from being every 5-10 minutes to every hour, so something to watch for.

If touring the area I would tend to look elsewhere & would instead stay towards Trier in Germany, which seemed much more tourist friendly, especially on a weekend. I would want a much cheaper rate if I stayed at the hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel mon Plaisir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel mon Plaisir

Address: Route d_Arlon, 218, Strassen L - 8010, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Strassen
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Strassen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel mon Plaisir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mon Plaisir Luxembourg/Strassen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel mon Plaisir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.