We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An old-fashioned family hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Residence

Hotel Residence
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Larochette
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Residence
Save
You added Hotel Residence to your Saves list
14, rue de Medernach | Boîte postale 42, Larochette L-7601, Luxembourg   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Larochette
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“An old-fashioned family hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

We stayed here for two nights. The front view is wonderful, with the Fiels Castle flood-lighted in the night. The rooms are O.K., but some improvements are necessary: for a wet-shave there is not enough light in the bathroom and the beds are not very well suited for weak backs.
The landlord and the young guy are friendly and good hosts; the landlady has something to do on her moods. Doesn't she like the work in her hotel anymore?
We enjoyed our meals in other places, so I can't judge the kitchen.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elkhart, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

I picked this hotel because the price was right and the great reviews it had. I was not disappointed. When we got there the hotel staff was friendly and welcoming with a family feel. The hotel was older but very well maintained. The rooms were comfortable with a lovely view of castle Larochette. The beds were large and comfortable. Bathrooms were clean. We awoke to see castle Larochette. I seemed like a picture. Breakfast was very tasty and waiting for us in the morning. This hotel was also in close proximity to other castles and local attractions. The staff spoke excellent English which was helpful since my German was not very good. We did not have the chance to eat at the hotels resturaunt but compared to the other local establishments it had the best table arrangement. Though the menu did seem pricey. Not much bad to say accept I had a difficulty finding the hotel because of no street signs. Overall my family and I enjoyed our stay and given the opportunity would stay again!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

Stopping in Luxembourg was a last minute decision that turned out to be a wonderful experience! Larochette was a very pretty and picturesque village and the hotel was clean, with very friendly and helpful staff. I recommend the desserts in the hotel restaurant!

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — Hotel was older, but clean and roomy
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2006

We stayed for one night at the hotel residence in the beginning of November 2005. We had booked anywhere and decided to try our luck at the Hotel. The hotel is your basic 3* hotel and everything was pretty plain, although in years gone by it was probably a very nice hotel. Having said that we had no complaints and the owner and staff was quite friendly. The best thing about staying there was the magnificent view of the local castle from the hotel, particularly at night when we dining in the restaurant. Worth the money alone. If you are ever in Larochette for a night it would be worth staying there but don't expect anything luxurious.

  • Liked — The view of the castle, particularly at night
  • Disliked — the room was basic
  • Stayed November 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence

Address: 14, rue de Medernach | Boîte postale 42, Larochette L-7601, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Larochette
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Larochette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.