We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must pay homage” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Champagne Route (Route Touristique du Champagne)

Ranked #30 of 195 things to do in Marne
Attraction details
Durango, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“You must pay homage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is like Mecca for champagne snobs. You are obligated to visit at least once. You will not ever forget this wonderful, quaint area with such history! And amazing wines, and cellar tours, and Michelin star rated restaurants aplenty.

We stayed in Rouilly, and the B&B of the Champagne Route. Lovely, reasonably priced, and stumbling distance from one of the aforementioned restaurants. We brought home 10 cases of champagne for my sisters wedding, in checked luggage on United, and paid only $40 in taxes when we went through customs!

You should go ahead and book your tour.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bornem
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“on the road”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

very nice and all alone in the world.special in May and june

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pierre Legras, Chouilly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

This kind and hospitable couple run a lovely small-scale champagne production company. We stopped in without a reservation in April 2012, and they agreed to give us a tour and tasting. They speak English, and we had an incredible visit. They gave a very informative tour of their facilities, including the machinery and the cellars. They patiently answered all of our questions about everything. Then we went back into their office and had a tasting. Oh my goodness! Their blanc de blancs (made using only Chardonnay grapes) is INCREDIBLE! And very reasonable at €15,25 per bottle. We bought a few bottles, but will definitely be back for more in the future. We had such a lovely time tasting and talking about all of their champagnes and the lifestyle of a small champagne producer. Before we knew it, we had spent the entire afternoon with them! They even invited us back the next day to see the disgorgement of a batch of champagne, but we weren't staying in the region. Too bad! They were very attentive and kind, and we will be back. They also gave us good restaurant recommendations in nearby Épernay. Be sure to stop here on your tour of the Champagne region.

I don't think they charged us for the visit, but we bought several bottles of champagne from them. They took credit cards.

Pierre LEGRAS 28, rue de Saint Chamand, 51530 Chouilly

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Champagne Thierry Rodez - fantastic welcome and visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Spending a few days touring round the champagne region with a friend and having already seen reviews for Thierry Rodez Champagne House in the Grand Cru village of Ambonnay had already arranged a time to visit. Definitely worth it. Jesse speaks English and her husband Thierry makes the champagne! Little Lucas, their young son added to the entertainment. Jesse spent time taking us on a tour of their cellars and explained the champagne making process. Although we had visited one of the big houses, this was much better.

Thierry bought out both their traditional and rose for us to taste and it was lovely that they both sat down and drank with us. The champagne was excellent, some of the best we tasted.

The only thing to add is that if you want to buy you will need cash, but if you dont have enough there is a cash point in the nearby village of Bouzy which is 5 minutes away.

Their address is 1 Impasse de la Sec, 51150 Ambonnay, and email champagne.t.rodez@wanadoo.fr

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very welcoming; so interesting and fantastic champagne!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

Had a three day trip to Reims experiencing a heatwave ! Amazing trip through the Reims de Montagne. We have done the Champagne Trail before and knew to take a picnic as the trip is the least commercial you will ever do and there's not even a shop to buy water!
We sat by the edge of The Marne river with a weir and a lock. Magical. Because of previous reviews on TripAdvisor sought out Thierry Rodez in the village of Ambonnay. Jessie greeted us in English and immediately agreed to take us round their cellars. We had been to Mercier the day before and on previous trips have done Pommery, Mumm, Castellaine, Piper Heidseck etc. but this whole experience was just a delight. They produce 10,000 pa and the whole process is done there which means they press the grapes in a wooden press and riddle the champagne themselves. When it came to tasting we were offered their Cuvee Extra Brut which we were very interested in tasting. It's just up our alley! We also bought mixed cases of their Rose Brut and the Brut Reserve. Our friends wanted a few bottles of the Demi-Sec as a dessert wine to celebrate the imminent birth of a grandchild and as none was labelled we watched that process which was done specially for them. The experience was really special and we will definitely be returning on our next trip. Their traditional champagne is 13.90 euros, Reserve is 14.90 euros. Extra Brut and Rose are 14.50 euros per bottle and you can mix cases.See photo of Jessie and husband at their house labelling our champagne.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Champagne Route (Route Touristique du Champagne) also viewed

 

Been to Champagne Route (Route Touristique du Champagne)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Champagne Route (Route Touristique du Champagne), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.