We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was very relaxing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vine House B&B and Self-Catering

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Vine House B&B and Self-Catering to your Saves list
Vine House B&B and Self-Catering
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Oak Lane, Guilsfield | Welshpool, Guilsfield, Welshpool SY21 9NH, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Guilsfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It was very relaxing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

A beautiful place, felt very relaxed! The owners were lovely and very helpful. The food was delicious, and cooked for the time I wanted it! Would recommend to everyone, families, couples and a single brake. Will be returning for sure! Very pleased, free wifi, sitting room, free-view in the room, lovely warm shower and a relaxing bed! A very pleasant place to stay! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
47
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

What a great place and excellent value for money. The whole establishment was very clean and Eve was more than helpful on every occasion. She even took the trouble to book us an evening meal at the local pub. Next time we go to Welshpool it will be the first place we ring for accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penarth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have just returned from a short break to mid-Wales, staying at the the Vine House B&B. We can't praise it highly enough. The accommodation included a sitting room with a cosy 'apple wood' fire; the beds were very comforable; the breakfast tasty and plentiful, and the warmth of the reception from both Steve and Eve, has to be commented upon. We hope to return again.
Lyn and Robin from Penarth.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Perfect in every way! There were four of us and so we occupied both of the two bedrooms as well as a comfortable guest room (recently added) which had a very acceptable open log fire.
As others have said, the breakfasts cooked by owner Eve are excellent with individual choice of a wide range of items. It is conveniently located within a two minute walk of the King's Head where there is a decent choice of meals some of which are homecooked.
Altogether the best B&B we have visited.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Super welcome even though it was late, room was lovely, clean and comfortable, very quiet too. The local pub was welcoming and is a two minute walk away. The breakfast was high quality and freshly made to order so you could choose just what you want, or don't want. Eve is an excellent host and even had some handy tips on the golf courses we had booked to play. All in all a perfect stay. We'll definitely book again next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We have just retured from a week in the old stable it was brilliant !!!! Myself and my 2 children went and stayed i felt the place was perfect for us . Welshpool has a great train station we went to the seaside 3 times to different places it was reasonable price and a great way to travel we had so much to do we couldnt fit it in ,in 7 days The old stable is a lovely place clean, tidy , and had everything you could possibly need .Brilliant !!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I came across the Vine House whilst looking for an overnight B&B stop after a late evening finishing concert at the village church (Whalebone with special guest Beck Sian). There are not many guest houses in the area, but couldn't believe my luck in securing a booking for one of only 2 B&B rooms at this smart, tastefully renovated property. Funnily enough, the other room had also been booked by another concert attendee.

What an excellent find this was, literally feet from the side of the church, down an atmospheric almost spooky lane. There are 2 pubs in the village, both very near, one of them the Kings Arms does excellent food in the early evening. There is also a well stocked village store and post office only a short walk away down the main street. So many villages of this size are totally without such facilities nowadays.

My stay was totally flawless - rooms were airy, simply get tastefully furnished, the location very quiet, no bright street lights or traffic (even the overnight hourly church bells were quiet and caused no problem, I am quite a light sleeper). The bathroom was to a high modern standard and spotless.. There is a separate sitting room for use of guests from either of the 2 bedrooms and wi-fi is available.

The owners were friendly, unpretentious and helpful yet unobtrusive.

For breakfast, there was freshly made fruit salad (the usual cereals are also provided with a choice of fruit juice and yoghurts). My cooked breakfast had 7 items and was very generously proportioned using high qualiy ingredients, The toast is made from fresh home made bread most days.

All in all I would have no hesitation in booking to stay here again and will almost certainly book for the 2013 date of the concert.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vine House B&B and Self-Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vine House B&B and Self-Catering

Address: Oak Lane, Guilsfield | Welshpool, Guilsfield, Welshpool SY21 9NH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Welshpool > Guilsfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Guilsfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vine House B&B and Self-Catering 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offical VisitWales 4-star B&B. An extremely clean, comfortable and friendly refurbished late eighteenth-century home in the Conservation Area of the delightful village of Guilsfield - TWO MILES ONLY from Welshpool Town centre. Solid fuel fires. Allergy-free pillows and duvets (feather pillows are also available, if you wish). Easy and short walking to village Church, 2 inns serving food (no need for the car after your meal) and all amenities. All Vi-Spring hand-crafted beds, bedding, carpets and furniture are of high quality. Free WiFi. Flat-screen TVs. Sitting Rooms. Dining Room (the breakfasts will start your day wonderfully). An ideal Mid-Wales base from which to explore the beautiful Welsh Borders countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Vine House B&B and Self-Catering reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vine House B&B and Self-Catering, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.