We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic self contained B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Studio

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cwmdu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Studio
Save
You added The Studio to your Saves list
Tyffynon, Cwmdu, Brecon Beacons National Park NP8 1RU, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Cwmdu B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic self contained B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The location of the studio is amazing with spectacular views and scenery. Cathie was a delightful host, offering us lots of helpful advise about the local area, and we had a delicious breakfast in the morning. Easily one of the best B&Bs we have stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathie-theStudio, Owner at The Studio, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you so much, we are always very appreciative when our guests take the time and trouble to tell us and others that they have enjoyed their stay. We know from both guest feed back and personal experience that people do find reviews helpful in making decisions about where to stay and we are delighted that you feel we are one of the best B&B's you have visited.

We do hope you will get the opportunity to stay with us again as you were charming guests and would be most welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Studio is the ideal spot for exploring the Brecon Beacons. It's also the perfect accommodation for people like us who don't enjoy sharing a breakfast table! Having somewhere to sit comfortably in the evening and plenty of space for all our gear is a real plus too. We were made to feel very welcome and feel that the facilities including a good choice of drinks etc was very generous. Not forgetting the very tasty home made welsh cakes! Every last detail seems to have been thought of, including a tumble dryer! Access up steep and narrow external steps could present a problem for those less mobile and be a worry for anyone with a toddler. We only scratched the surface of all the walking there is to do, so hopefully will be back one day. Thanks Cathie.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathie-theStudio, Owner at The Studio, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
"Perfect spot surrounded by beautiful countryside" I couldn't have put it better myself. Thank you very much for your review of the Studio and for choosing to stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and would like to return to explore more of what this lovely area has to offer as there is so much to see and do. Your comments about the steps are very valid, but do remember there is an alternative way to access the Studio which misses out those steps altogether and gives people the chance to say hello and thanks to the chickens on the way, for all those lovely fresh eggs they provide for breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were originally planning to stay just 1 night for a family event in the area which ended up being cancelled but had had such a lovely chat with Cathie to book we decided to make a weekend of it and still go (for 2 nights).
Best decision we've ever made, the room is spacious with double bed & single large sofa to watch the big tv (after your lovely country walk) and even a collection of dvds if you fancy a night-in.
The room has a mini kitchen area with fridge, tea/coffee facilities - have to note there are 5 varieties of tea which was a treat!
We arrived to tasty chocolate cake and were awoken the next morning with a delicious hot breakfast (cereal etc. is already in the room too!) with eggs from Cathie & Jeff's own chickens no less. Breakfast is served on your own little table in the room with stunning views of the valley.
Within a few minutes of a lovely pub (Farmers Arms) serving proper pub-grub dinners, and on several walking routes the Studios location couldn't be better - we recommend the horseshoe walk!
Our stay was so good we booked another weekend stay before we left. Huge thanks to Cathie & Jeff for such a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathie-theStudio, Owner at The Studio, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write your lovely review. Although it is sad that your family event was cancelled, we were delighted that you decided to come and stay with us anyway and even more pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much. We think we are very lucky to live in such a beautiful part of Wales and really do enjoy being able to share all it has to offer with our many visitors. We look forward to your return visit and hope you will find the Cwmdu Valley just as enchanting in the Autumn as the summer. The walks will be here just waiting to be taken, the hot chocolate will be ready and all you'll need to bring for a wonderful relaxing weekend will be some slippers and a good book.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Location Location for anyone wanting to explore the Brecon Beacons.Cathie and Jeff were very accommodating host on arrival and departure.Nice and cozy comfortable B&B what more could you ask for.Breakfast was a fantastic spread everyday.They even had a BBQ. Cathie was very knowledgeable of the area and was very helpful with directions.Wished we had more time to stay however all god things must come to an end.We will return!!Fernview Farm

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathie-theStudio, Owner at The Studio, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hi Guys we are really glad to know you made it back safe and sound to Aus and that you enjoyed your visit to the UK. Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to review the Studio as we know you must be busy on the farm.

We are really pleased you enjoyed your time at the Studio and that you found it a comfortable and relaxing place to spend a few days. We feel very fortunate to live in such a beautiful part of the country and we are delighted that you enjoyed the location as much as we do. If ever your over this way again, do look us up and call in for a very British cup of tea or better still come and stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This amazing B&B definitely helped to make our special weekend even more special! Cathie was very welcoming and she is a fantastic cook! The homemade cake was delicious and the breakfast filled us up for a full day of activities! Before arriving, Cathie very kindly emailed us with a variety of different walks for us to do. We would highly recommend the waterfalls circuit. We also spent time at Llangorse Lake which was good fun. Our only regret was that we didnt have long enough, we will definitely be returning for longer next time! So much to see and do in the area. The Farmers Arms provided us with nice pub food and drink and only a 5 minute walk from the B&B. The Studio is the best B&B we have been to because it is self contained and you have an element of independence. I would highly recommend it to all of our friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathie-theStudio, Owner at The Studio, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Wow what a lovely review, thank you you are so kind. I'm blushing a little at the "fantastic cook" bit but I'm so glad you had a good stay and enjoyed our delicious breakfast.. We moved here after holidaying in the area and think its just the most amazing place. I'm delighted you enjoyed the Waterfall Walk as it's one of my favourites and we would love you to return and experience some more of what this lovely area has to offer, but be warned there is so much to see and do you may want to keep coming back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walsall
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Fantastic location, lovely area . The studio has every thing in place------good cake , filling breakfast. Cathie made sure we were very comfortable but.........she couldn't change the weather! We will def go back, the pub down the road was very pleasant. We bought sausages recommended by Cathie in Crickhowell . The sound of sheep and the cluck of hens is wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathie-theStudio, Owner at The Studio, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Hello to you both and thank you very much for your kind review of the Studio. We pride ourselves on providing a delicious breakfast with quality ingredients from local suppliers, the butchers home made sausages are a big hit with lots of our guests so we're glad you enjoyed them too. You were delightful guests and we would be very happy to welcome you back when you are travelling this way again and hopefully you will be luckier with the weather next time and you'll get to enjoy the garden and maybe even throw a few of those sausages on the BBQ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

The Studio B&B was a wonderfully located guest cottage situated right in the middle of all of the starting points for the major walks in the Brecon Beacons. Having a car would have been a lot more convenient for us, as we were constantly having to call a cab if we wanted to go into one of the adjacent towns for a quick trip, but myself and my two girlfriends were just there as hikers and so overall it was perfect for us. The views were breathtaking: The hills surrounded us on all sides, it was quiet and relaxed. Cathie and Jeff were absolutely wonderful. Very accommodating, helpful, warm, and open. We very much appreciated their care and the fact that we had the place to ourselves and could just relax quietly in our own little cottage after a long day's walking through the hills. Overall, a great place to stay. Highly recommended. Just watch out for spiders on the ceilings! :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathie-theStudio, Owner at The Studio, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Hello Girls and thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to review The Studio. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that you got to experience the peace and tranquillity and breathtaking views of this lovely part of Wales. As for the spiders on the ceiling, as it was such lovely weather and the windows were open most of the day and night I'm afraid the little critters do sometimes sneak in and if we had known you were keeping pets we would have charged more! I really hope you enjoy the rest of your travels around the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Studio

Address: Tyffynon, Cwmdu, Brecon Beacons National Park NP8 1RU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Cwmdu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cwmdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a lovely, rural location with your own private mini cottage - a B & B that is much more than just a bed. Halfway between Abergavenny and Brecon, The Studio is set down a quiet country lane with views of the Black Mountains from every window. Completely separate from the main house, you have your own four walls and a pretty garden with table and chairs and a BBQ. The main room is light and spacious, with a double and single bed, as well as a large comfortable sofa, Flat screen TV, DVD and CD player. A small fridge is also provided to pop your picnic in or so you can enjoy a glass of wine in the evening and there is a pub serving food just five minutes' walk away. The en suite facilities include a full length bath to soak away aching muscles after a good day out, as well as a power shower. We bring you a hearty cooked breakfast in your own room with the emphasis on quality ingredients locally sourced. If you want to sleep in late we can supply you with cereal, locally baked bread and home-made jam and leave you to it! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Studio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.