We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Very, Very Good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chatcoombe

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sketty
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chatcoombe
Save
You added Chatcoombe to your Saves list
20 Rhyd-y-Defaid Drive | Swansea, Sketty, Swansea SA2 8AH, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Sketty B&B and Inns
Walnut Creek, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Really Very, Very Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had the opportunity to visit Richard and Merle on two successive weekends, in connection with family events in Mumbles. Both visits were entirely successful thanks to the diligence and seriousness with which they they take their business. Every need is attended to, the room we had was spotlessly clean and comfortable in every respect, and the breakfasts were "to die for." In addition, not only are Richard and Merle most friendly and pleasant to chat with, but they seem to cater to a clientele associated with the University that make the breakfast table conversation a real pleasure. As a final comment, Richard put us on to a nearby pub for dinner -- The Woodman -- that was top-notch. We'll definitely stay at Chatcoombe on all our future visits!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
25
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Came down for an overnight visit with my mother and 3yr old daughter to visit my eldest daughter who has just started university. My mum has stayed here before and told me how nice it was, and I wasn't disappointed. Firstly, you couldn't wish for more welcoming hosts - Merle and Richard were so friendly and helpful. The room was immaculate and had everything we needed and more. And breakfast! Well, I've never been so spoilt for choice!! And thank you Merle and Richard for letting my daughter join us for breakfast - probably the last decent meal she'll have for a while ;)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

A great place to stay - a real home away from home! Richard and Merle are so friendly and welcoming, the bedroom was clean and cosy, and the breakfast was absolutely delicious. The only shame was that we couldn't stay any longer....We will definitely be back to stay at Chatcoombe.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We Stayed at Chatcoombe for four nights. On our arrival Merle and Richard greeted us with a lovely pot of tea, and a cold drink for my daughter.

The room was beautifully presented, exceptionally clean, and light and airy. Both Merle and Richard had an exceptional knowledge of the area, and gave us great tips on where to go and where to park. They also had lots of leaflets on activities for sunny and rainy days.

The breakfasts were exceptional, there was a wide choice available even down to cockles and larder bread, fresh fruits and a wonderfully cooked breakfast. Out of ten i would rate it eleven.

Their hospitality was great and i felt more like a friend than a guest. Thank you both for a lovely stay, we were able to see so much of wales, but will certainly come back to see the rest.

Your kindness and generous spirit will be remembered. This bed and breakfast is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

I used Chatcoombe on a trip to Swansea because it was recommended by colleagues at the University of Swansea. It was great and we will be using it regularly for the next few years.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poole
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Really warm welcome from Merle and Richard. The pot of tea on arrival was especially appreciated after a long journey. They were helpful and knowledgeable about the university as my son and I were there to visit on an Open day.
Breakfast fantastic,so much choice and all freshly prepared.
Much nicer than staying in a chain hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011 via mobile

A total gem of a place. Room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. B and B is perfectly located for exploring the Gower and surrounding area. Owners were delightful and literally couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast was out of this world. Freshly prepared and far exceeds what you would get in any hotel chain. Ive never seen so many different flavours of jam and marmalade. This really did exceed our expectations and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chatcoombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatcoombe

Address: 20 Rhyd-y-Defaid Drive | Swansea, Sketty, Swansea SA2 8AH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea > Sketty
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sketty
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Bed and Breakfast in Swansea of exceptional quality, Chatcoombe is ideally located to visit the beautiful Gower coastline, Mumbles, Swansea City and the Maritime Quarter. We are a few minute's walk to the University, Singleton Hospital, National Pool and Sketty Hall. A warm welcome is guaranteed. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chatcoombe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.