We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We really were sorry to leave this place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scaife Hall Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blubberhouses
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Scaife Hall Farm
Save
You added Scaife Hall Farm to your Saves list
Hardisty Hill, Blubberhouses LS21 2PL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“We really were sorry to leave this place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

Arrived mid afternoon and were greeted by Christine. Shown to our room which was very clean and comfortable. We had good views of the fields and the moors beyond. Christine is a very friendly hostess and went out of her way to do all she could to make our stay enjoyable.
Our bed was very comfortable and the nights were very quiet.
The breakfasts were excellent.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
45
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

One of the best B&B breakfast that I have ever eaten

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Scaife Farm for the weekend. We eat well, slept well and we walked in beautiful countryside with directions that Christine had given us. Everything was very good. I really liked watching the chickens in their yard and would have loved to have took them home so we could have had fresh eggs every morning just like we did when we stayed on the farm. It was a very relaxing time and would recommend it to anyone who wanted to have a countryside experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

My mother and I have just returned from a stay at Scaife Hall Farm which is just outside Harrogate.Christine was such a friendly lady and served up the most wonderful breakfasts.We were treated to having honey that the bees had made up on Christine and her husbands farm on our toast .We shared a twin bedded room with lovely views overlooking the farmland. It was very peaceful and even though my mother does not sleep very well she had some very good nights sleep while we were there. We looked at several places to stay in the area but are so glad we choose to stay here and will certainly go again if Christine will have us.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Britain
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

We have had a most glorious 3 day stay at Scaife Hall Farm -This is really a little secret we would like to keep to ourselves now we have found it but in fairness to Christine and her husband we fell we should send in a review. We wanted to stay in the countryside but also be able to get into Harrogate without too much bother. What a lovely place,what lovely people and the food ....you can tell it is of the very best . Apparantly locally sourced which is nice to think that everyone does their bit to keep the local producers busy. The highlight of our stay we were given a map to go through the woods to Thrushcross Reservoir. It was so green and alive with brids singing.We had wonderful walks and such peacefulness. It was very romantic. Christine must work through the night as the house is spotlessly clean and nothing was too much trouble in giving us extra help to make our stay so wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

I recently stayed at Scaife Hall Farm with my partner and my elderly parents for the weekend. We were made to feel so welcome from the moment we arrived and were provided with tea and biscuits in the beautifully presented guest lounge. Our rooms were spotlessly clean and the beds very comfortable. Our bathroom had a walk in shower cubicle and my parents twin room had a shower over the bath. Both of the bathrooms were wonderfully decorated and spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were to die for and were served in the beautifully presented dining room looking out over the countryside. You can basically have anything you like for breakfast cooked the way you like it......and you will not be hungry for several hours!!! As it was lambing season, we were lucky enough to watch Chris deliver a little lamb (serious lambing live!) which really helped to make a city slickers trip very special!!
The farm is located in rural heaven, but you really are only a 15 minute drive to Harrogate and under an hour to York. We took the park and ride on our day to York, on Christines advice and this really was the best thing to do. We can also recommend a trip to Bolton Abbey for it's stunning views.
We tried out two local pubs for evening meals during our visit and would recommend both. One was the the Queens Head in Kettlesing and the other was the Wellington Inn at Nidderdale. The Queens Head had a simpler menu but the food and atmosphere were really good. The Wellington Inn had stunning views from it's convservatory and a wider choice of food.
All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed out stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2009

Our overnight stay here was one of the best we have had: superb setting and great views, great accommodation (including a spacious guest lounge with open fire), an excellent breakfast and a professional and warm welcome. We chose the twin room at the front because it had a bath rather than a shower. The evening meal at the recommended local bistro was first rate.

[The back bedroom (double with shower) was smaller than our room and had more restricted views. Go for a front of house room if available ]

Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scaife Hall Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scaife Hall Farm

Address: Hardisty Hill, Blubberhouses LS21 2PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Blubberhouses
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Blubberhouses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A working farm set in picturesque countryside. Four Star Gold Award rating from Visit Britain. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scaife Hall Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.