We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plough Hotel

Plough Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Plough Hotel to your Saves list
Plough Hotel
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   333 Barkly Street (corner of Geelong Rd) | Footscray, Footscray, Maribyrnong, Victoria 3011, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Footscray B&B and Inns
Cooma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We booked this hotel because it was a good price and close to our son's apartment and the previous reviews were quite favourable. When we first saw the hotel admittedly we were a bit apprehensive. The downstairs bar and bistro is not open so windows blackened and obviously empty. We received a text message from the accommodation staff with the code for the entrance as we were arriving after hours, and instructions on where the key was etc. When we arrived, what a lovely surprise. The room was absolutely lovely and very clean. The bed was extremely comfortable, so much so that we slept in the next morning. As suggested by a previous reviewer, we asked for a room away from the main road, but really didn't need too as you couldn't hear the traffic at all from the room...very quiet. Great value and definitely would recommend to others and would definitely stay again. Well done The Plough staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
7
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I checked this hotel out in March when we knew we'd be arriving from the UK at the same time as our new grandchild, thought then it would 'do'. We arrived to find the upstairs had been completely refurbished and the downstairs bar and bistro should be finished by January. It was room only but when downstairs is done they may do a continental breakfast. It is the only hotel I have ever stayed in where there was enough drawer and hanging space to completely unpack. The ensuite was good and spacious, there was a laundry for guests to use with washer, dryer and ironing facilities and there was a nice sitting room for guests with sofas, tea and coffee, television, books and magazines. It was all clean and tidy and the staff were lovely, really helpful as was the owner. If you are a light sleeper like me you need to ask for a quiet room as the hotel is on the corner of 3 roads, we had one and I slept really well. Middle Footscray station is only a few minutes walk down the road. We stayed twice and would definitely stay again. NB I have rated swimming pool and room service in error - there wasn't any and I can't delete it!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet one
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Who ever said a photograph doesn't lie? The website Pic's looked great. Listed as a boutique hotel I would be more inclined to call it novel. The Bistro was not operational at the time of my stay so essentially it was a bed, shower and a place to change kind of stop. My room was quiet however the whole neighbourhood was very quiet of an evening so I moved into the city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

the place was clean, tidy and conveniently located for a short stroll to train station, the local market (a beauty!!!) and some pretty cool cafe's etc.

road noise was a problem in our room, ask for a room on the right side of the hallway should be quieter and better.

our aircon wasn't usable as the remote was broken, we tried to contact the owners to fix with no response which was a little disappointing.

the other options in footscray are really terrible so i think this place is better than those.
its probably also overpriced, really should be $90-$100 a night but again, theres no competition so.... ... ...

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

I went to Melbourne for the tennis but the city was booked out so I stayed here and tbh I had a better time than i thought.
Its food was ok if you like pizza, the area seemed a little rough and it was a bit away from the city but there was a train station locally and I do like pizza.
I found it reasonable and the staff were pretty cool..probably would'nt stay there again but I enjoyed it at the time.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Nice place to stay if you get a good rate.. I would suggest it is like a nice motel that is comfortable and clear with the bonus of having a nice place to eat downstairs...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

Inept manager who knows only how to charge one more night's room fee, but doesn't care about losing a long term customer.

My husband has stayed at this hotel 6 days almost every month for business for past 3 years. Yesterday, he attempted to check out at 10:45am, but had to pay one additional night because he didn't advise the counter the day before. The manager said the hotel had got fully booked and she already turned down availability enquiries for that day, so she had to charge for that day.

The point is, if the hotel is fully booked and customers still keep calling in, would there be a high chance that the room could be resold?

My husband will never return to this hotel.

If I was the owner of this hotel, I would fire this manager. In today's competative environment, if the manager does not know how to balance hotel's short term and long term benefit, does not know how to smooth out conflicts of interest between customers and hotel, she would only achieve an all lose situation - the customer loses the room charge, the hotel loses a long term customer, its long term income, and its hardly-established reputation.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plough Hotel

Address: 333 Barkly Street (corner of Geelong Rd) | Footscray, Footscray, Maribyrnong, Victoria 3011, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Maribyrnong > Footscray
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Footscray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plough Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Plough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plough Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.