We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Manor to your Saves list
The Manor
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Northampton Road, Weston on the Green OX25 3QL, England (Formerly Weston Manor)   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

What a great hotel. The staff are excellent and very helpful. Larry the chef is fantastic. Our meal was superb. Couldn't fault this place - it's a must visit.
We stayed in the coach house which has recently been refurbished. Excellent. If you want to treat yourself I can definitely recommend this hotel. Look out for larry on the TV next year - he's going to be the next James Martin :-)

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianGarside2013, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
We enjoyed reading your comments and viewing your pictures of the kitchen brigade! Thank you very much for your positive feedback and we do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Brian Garside
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    103
    48
    20
    16
See reviews for
41
199
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I ate here thursday night with my family and the meal we had was absolutley fantastic. We've eaten at many nice restaurants before and I must say this was up there with the best of many Michelin star establishments. We had the tasting menu, always advisable at restaurants of this caliber and it was great. No faults what so ever. The staff were friendly and very helpful to.
We will return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianGarside2013, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for your very kind feedback which I was delighted to share with the team, and is much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Manor very soon.

Brian Garside
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Wow! Ok so we chose the sunniest day of the year but that only added to a fabulous afternoon with tea on the terrace. Great selection of tea (& coffee), some gorgeous sandwiches, but it was the cakes that stole the show! The lemon drizzle was amazing and the chocolate filled macaroon was the tastiest thing I've had in a long while. We just had to add champagne and that too was perfectly chilled and delicious. We honestly didn't want it to finish.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianGarside2013, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review, and we were delighted that you enjoyed afternoon tea on the terrace in the Spring sunshine. Dan, our Pastry Chef, produces some magnificent cakes and pastries and your comments serve as a wonderful morale boost!

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Brian Garside
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

From the moment we entered The Manor we were made to feel at ease by Amy on reception. Our room, number 1, on the first floor, was bright and airy. All the linen was fresh and white and the bed very comfortable. Bottled water in the room is replenished daily. The service at dinner was excellent as were the breakfast waiting staff. I have to give 5*s to the breakfast chef who makes the mouth-watering Potato Rosti and the perfect poached eggs. What we were not so happy about was the tea-making set-up in our room. The equipment is on a tray in a cupboard nowhere near a suitable area to plug in the kettle and, although the room and bathroom are nicely decorated some attention needs to be given to the cupboard doors.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front overlooking the attractive entrance, the car park and, in the adjacent fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianGarside2013, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments which have been conveyed to all the team, and particularly highlighting Amy in Reception and the breakfast waiting staff.

We have noted the points you raise regarding the positioning of the hospitality tray and the cupboard doors, and our Head Housekeeper and Maintenance Manager have now focussed their attention on these. We very much appreciate your feedback in this regard.

We look forward to being of service to you again on another occasion.

Brian Garside
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We had a wonderful lunch at The Manor today. The staff were attentive and the food superb. The faclities and overall experience blended the period features of the manor with modern day requirements. This was a truely delightful experince rounded off with a walk in the beautiful gardens

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianGarside2013, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Philip H

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your recent Birthday lunch, and we look forward to welcoming you back on a future date!

Brian Garside
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nth yorkshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We visited this beautiful hotel for afternoon tea to celebrate my sister's birthday. We were greeted politely by the waitress and shown to our table. We had booked for 3 and while she had believed the booking was for 2, she quickly and without fuss laid an extra place at our table.
The choice of teas was extensive, and arrived in a beautiful teapot, which we felt added to the decadence of afternoon tea. The bread of our sandwiches did appear a little thick, but the fillings were good.
The scones (1 fruit and 1 plain) were beautifully light, and arrived warm with jam and cream. Our cakes were excellent, we enjoyed a chocolate filled pistachio macaroon, a lovely moist orange cake with crystallised fruit on top and a choux with fresh cream and lime filling.
The restaurant staff were attentive but not intrusive and background music was added half way through our tea.
Overall, a very enjoyable, relaxed and special birthday treat.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianGarside2013, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Sue W

Your kind comments are very much appreciated, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your recent afternoon tea at The Manor to celebrate your sister’s birthday.

Our team pride themselves on offering discreet, professional service in support of the highest quality freshly cooked food and positive feedback from our guests serves as a wonderful morale boost - thank you!

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Manor on future occasion.

Brian Garside
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Four of us arrived to this sumptuous, old world Manor House to eat. After drinks we were asked would we like to eat in the kitchen and watch the chef. It was fantastic! The food was sublime. Carefully balanced flavours, wonderful choices, excellent wines, outstanding service. We all had dorset crab to begin - light, delicate and full of flavour. The ladies had mutton almost perfumed with Indian spices: my friend had chicken which was tender and richly presented, I had cod with razor clams, and a red wine jus. Utterly delicious. It was not cheap about £70 a head with wine and coffee, and drinks. They are still completing some refurbishment, so this new and magnificent venture is still a soft-opening: the hard opening will be at the end of March. Watching the chefs was the highlight of a totally sensory experience: the kitchen was like a church and the food was treated and created with the utmost reverence.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianGarside2013, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
It was so pleasing to read your comments following your recent experience at our Chef’s Table. This is a new feature at The Manor, and already we have received some very positive feedback.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to welcoming you back on another occasion – although you may have to book your Chef’s Table in advance now word is getting out!

Brian Garside
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor

Address: Northampton Road, Weston on the Green OX25 3QL, England (Formerly Weston Manor)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Weston on the Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Weston on the Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 12 tranquil acres of Oxfordshire countryside on the edge of the Cotswolds, offering the perfect environment for a variety of events, leisure breaks, celebrations, weddings, private parties, residential meetings/conference or team building. Country house with award-winning cuisine situated in the Manor Restaurant. Located just 2 miles from Junction 9 of the M40 off the A34, with 25 comfortable bedrooms and attentive service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weston Manor Hotel Weston On The Green
Weston Manor Oxford
Weston Manor Hotel Oxford
The Manor Weston On The Green, Oxfordshire, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.