We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Manor to your Saves list
The Manor
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Northampton Road, Weston on the Green OX25 3QL, England (Formerly Weston Manor)   |  
Hotel amenities
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Afternoon Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Last Saturday I arranged for 7 family members to have afternoon tea at Weston Manor Hotel, Weston on the Green. We were celebrating, a wedding anniversary and 2 birthdays so wanted something special. I had read some not quite so favourable reviews but had also read that The Manor was under new ownership and undergoing refurbishment so thought we would give it a go.

We received a very friendly welcome and waited for the rest of the party to arrive in the reception area where there was a roaring log fire. The General Manager, Christian, was professional and charming, and entertained us while we waited, telling us about the refurbishment and future plans.

Afternoon tea was taken in the Morning Room which was beautifully furnished and decorated. We were seated at a round table which was so much more social as we were all able to see and talk to each other. The table was in the window overlooking the garden which was lovely.

Our waiter for the afternoon was Charles who deserves a great deal of praise. He was professional yet friendly, knowing exactly when to appear and equally disappear. The 3 tiered cake stands held a selection of finger sandwiches, small cakes including rich chocolate, victoria sandwich and the most delcious pastry cup with raspberries, and warm scones. There was also clotted cream, jam and lemon curd. These were all replenished when needed. Stangely, one of the scones was rock hard but this was taken away and replaced.

Our choice of tea was The Manor Afternoon Delight and it was a delight. I think we drank 7 pots by the end of the afternoon!

All in all we had a wonderful visit to The Manor. I can thoroughly recommend the Afternoon Tea experience and will definitely consider going back, and maybe will try an evening meal next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    103
    49
    20
    16
See reviews for
41
199
5
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My mother and I have just returned from an overnight stay at this hotel, booked as a Mother's Day gift. I am afraid to say we were very disappointed - especially as we had paid for a superior room. The main building itself is absolutely beautiful, we were told the current owners purchased in 2012 and refurbished. Unfortunately where we were placed - in the Coach House - looked like it had not been touched in about 15 years. The carpets in the hallway was very worn and the place smelled damp and old. We were placed in a room right beside the cleaning cupboard, and the room itself was an orangey/peach colour with two single beds. In the bathroom was.....an avocado suite (I have not seen anything like that in about 20 years!) with a shower just as old. There was no hot water in the shower and the tv failed to work properly. We reported this all to the staff who did apologise, we decided not to push for a partial refund. We were entitled to as that certainly was not a superior rooms - I've stayed at better Holiday Inn's (and we dont frequent those often!!). The food is great and I think this could be a fantastic hotel, but they need to spend a bit of work modernising the Coach House. We were not impressed at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building - these might be a little better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian K, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you for your kind comments and constructive feedback, all of them very valid and useful for further consideration. Whilst one will never make excuses for poor services, I am pleased to inform you that the entire Coach House is just weeks away from a much needed face lift. The room you stayed in is by category Superior, even though the decor of the room (including the Avocado coloured bathrooms) would possibly suggest that it was in its heyday.

We are truly grateful for your feedback and will use this in our journey in transforming The Manor to one of the most exclusive venues in the Cotswolds region. A destination where culinary experiences are matched with luxurious bedrooms.

And the coloured bathtubs will NOT be a part of the future here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey.uk
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Like a lot of the reviews this was also a Groupon deal.

The hotel is a gorgeous 14C rambling place in wonderful order and would make a splendid setting for a well healed wedding.

However, no doubt, because we were Goupon people we were given a bedroom absolutely up on the very top, v small but very clean with a lovely clean bathroom with a bath (not shower only) but no tea making or fridge facilities'. Because we had run so late we had to have our (tasting menu) dinner at 9pm One has two choices either 7pm or 9pm.

The first course was a half teacup of very hot mushroom soup with an inch square of parmesan tulle, eaten with a teaspoon and three tiny tiny slices of bread (think half a slice of a small loaf cut into 3). Fifteen minutes later we had a tiny portion of John Dory, a wee bit dry and roughly as big as a very small fish finger, that was served with some thinly sliced carrots (I think, the vegetable was in a dressing and we ate by candle light). After that another 20 minutes or so until the meat arrived, a small mountain (about the size of a small mince pie) of very tender feather steak, sitting under it was some kale and on top of it was about half a tablespoon of potato puree. This was eventually followed by a plate with a smear of fruit puree topped by one rosette of piped chocolate something - think a large button - again a hiatus before the pudding which was meant to be a smoked panne cotta surrounded by a tiny moat of something, was it passion fruit puree? Never mind, it was tasteless. Then 4 very petit fours. Put it this way, if you like bits on plates with smears and tiny mountains of food you would have loved it.

There is a condition called Prader Willy that prevents sufferers from it from ever feeling full up, however if you don't have that condition the brain says 'Oh I'm eating' and then if there is a long pause between courses it says 'Oh I'm full'. Is that what a tasting menu is all about? All the food was lovely and hot.

Had we paid the proper price £245, per night plus £45 per head for the meal I would have been not a happy birthday lady. It is indeed a lovely, lovely grand Manor house tho' I did spare a thought for people who lived there before central heating.

Outside is a splendid topiary garden, beyond the gardens is a lorry park and junk yard, but do remember that we were on the very top of the building, people on other floors would not have noticed it. Yes we could hear the endless noise of the A34 from our bedroom.

The staff were fine, reception was a bit off hand but otherwise efficient. The building is worth a visit if only for a cup of tea.

Room Tip: Pay more to upgrade to a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

well worth groupan deal only couple there looked after well one thing was charged service charge would have given my own tip staff excellant the two staff that waited on us were very professional and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton - England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Had an overnight stay 3rd March with the Groupon Deal. We upgraded and stayed in room 4. The room was beautiful with a four poster bed!!!, the bathroom was spotless with lovely fluffy white towels. Bath robes and towelling slippers were provided, but as only overnight stay did not bother to use them. The staff were very very polite and nothing was too much trouble for them. The taster menu was delicious, with some lovely touches with hand made chocolates with our coffee.
We opted for the cooked breakfast and was not disappointed. We understand that the hotel is being refurnished and everywhere was extremely clean and bright and would make a beautiful wedding venue. We would not hesitate to go again even without the Groupon deal. Thanks must go to the Manager who gave us a little talk about the history of The Manor as we found it really interesting.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Had an overnight stay at The Manor. Very easy to get to, just a couple of miles from the M40 and A34. Driving up to the Manor, the driveway is beautiful, and the Manor itself is absolutely enchanting. Staff are all extremely professional and at the same time very friendly, and service was therefore spot on. The hotel is undergoing refurbishment. However all rooms that we accessed were stunning, really beautiful. Food was excellent. All in all - to be highly recommended, which we have done already.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just had an overnight stay at The Manor - good staff, warm welcome, excellent food and a very nice, realxing atmosphere. We stayed on the Groupon deal with the really enjoyable tasting menu - would agree with earlier comments about the lovely mackerel and beetroot! - in all a well thought out and executed meal.
A couple of suggestions to the Manor - when it says bath robes are provided if would be nice if they were - and a tea/coffee tray in the room would really be expected for this level of hotel.
In response to earlier comments we stayed in the "wet room" (room 28 in the coach house) and had no problems with the bathroom at all (note to the Manor staff - the seal in the shower head needs replacing as you cannot switch from hand shower to overhead shower without them both being on at the same time.
Would thoroughly recommend this hotel for a relaxing break with excellent food and service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor

Address: Northampton Road, Weston on the Green OX25 3QL, England (Formerly Weston Manor)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Weston on the Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Weston on the Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 12 tranquil acres of Oxfordshire countryside on the edge of the Cotswolds, offering the perfect environment for a variety of events, leisure breaks, celebrations, weddings, private parties, residential meetings/conference or team building. Country house with award-winning cuisine situated in the Manor Restaurant. Located just 2 miles from Junction 9 of the M40 off the A34, with 25 comfortable bedrooms and attentive service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weston Manor Hotel Weston On The Green
Weston Manor Oxford
Weston Manor Hotel Oxford
The Manor Weston On The Green, Oxfordshire, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.