We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable, excellent food in a wonderful pub.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oxford Arms

The Oxford Arms
Troy Lane, Bicester | 10 Mins From Bicester Shopping Village, Kirtlington OX5 3HA, England
+44 1869 350208
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $39
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Oxford Arms is an award-winning dining pub in Oxfordshire. We are situated 10 mins from Bicester Shopping Village. Reservations recommended.
Oxford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Reliable, excellent food in a wonderful pub.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I have been visiting the Oxford Arms for over 10 years and have never been disappointed – always well-kept beer and excellent food, well cooked and superbly balanced in terms of flavours and proportions. Wood burning stove in winter, nice patio garden at the back away from the road in the warmer weather, only a small place but well run and welcoming. Outstanding regular dishes (the 28 day aged steak is superb) and always a few specials which are well worth trying, always including good fish such as Dover sole. Recent highlights have included Cajun lamb burger, and sausage and mash – both much better than a simple description would lead you to believe. The owner/chef knows his stuff and is friendly and attentive. Well-judged salads and vegetable dishes. Desserts are great too (e.g. fruit crumbles, superb; recent excellent flourless hazelnut and chocolate torte). A lovely spot – please don’t change a thing!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOxfordArms, Owner at The Oxford Arms, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Norman P.,

Thank you for your kind review! It is always tempting in this industry to change things for no need. It's very nice to know that our regular dishes are appreciated.
Hopefully we'll see you again soon!

Best wishes,
Bryn Jones
Chef/Owner at The Oxford Arms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    26
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Oxford Arms in Kirtlington”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The staff here are nice, the setting is extremely pleasant, and the food is marvellous. The only thing that has stopped my wife and I returning is the fact that we haven't had time. We can't wait to get back there, to work our way through the menu, over a number of visits. If the weather is nice, the village of Kirtlington is worth a look, as it's quintessentially English in a nice, old fashioned way.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOxfordArms, Owner at The Oxford Arms, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Stuart B,

Thanks a lot for your very nice review! We hope you may find the time to visit us again soon!

Thank you,
Bryn Jones
Chef/ Owner at The Oxford Arms and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Sunday Roast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We called in without having booked a table and were welcomed very warmly, had a delicious 2 course Sunday lunch and left very happy. It's true you can certainly get a cheaper roast elsewhere, however this one is particular good, worth a visit!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOxfordArms, Owner at The Oxford Arms, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Lilicles1,

Thank you for taking the trouble to write a kind review! It's nice when guests acknowledge that quality and cheap do not go together. We hope to see you again!

Thanks,
Bryn Jones and The Team at The Oxford Arms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Interesting menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Interesting menu - advisable to book a table as may not be able to accommodate if you just walk in ... pleasant service, prices not the cheapest but local, quality food was served - in other words you get what you pay for. Nice gastro pub.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOxfordArms, General Manager at The Oxford Arms, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Aggie F,

I am very pleased to hear about your pleasant experience here with us at The Oxford Arms.

We hope to welcome you back here soon!

Thank you,

Chelsea Moran and the Team at the Oxford Arms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Inviting pub in a quaint village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have lived in the area for 6 months and can't believe we had not eaten here before. The food was extremely good thoughtful and executed beautifully. The Pub itself is very warm and inviting with a large fire and comfortable interior. I had the posh pate, it was wonderful. We also tried the sirloin steak, again beautiful piece of beef, coupled with the chunky chips it was a delight. Lastly, the staff are very attentive, friendly and professional. They only add to the ambience and character. We will become frequent visitors.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOxfordArms, General Manager at The Oxford Arms, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Simken,

We're very glad that you found us! I am extremely pleased to hear about your great experience dining here, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future - especially now that the log fire is becoming a must!

Thank you,

Chelsea Moran and the Team at the Oxford Arms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oxford Arms also viewed

Weston on the Green, Oxfordshire
 
Hethe, Oxfordshire
Weston on the Green, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Oxford Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oxford Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.