We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“can't complain” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66 to your Saves list
Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10709 Watson Rd., Sunset Hills, Saint Louis, MO 63127   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sunset Hills
St. Louis, MO
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“can't complain”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2008

I went with a group of 50 people, 40 of which were disabled, and the staff were very friendly to a rather challenging group. The rooms were good enough - some had updated heaters and some did not, and were a bit loud. We'll go back.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — just a little out of date
  • Stayed January 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    40
    47
    23
    26
See reviews for
47
22
9
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2007

We stayed here based on the location to the sights we wanted to see and on the price. The hotel was literally a hop away from every attraction we wanted to go to. Given the amenities (two pools, decent dining) we were pleasantly suprised at the value. For example, the year before, we stayed at the downtown Holiday Inn for more money and less goodies.
About the only drawbrack we found was the un-heated outside pool. It was freezing cold, which was uncomfortable for the kids.
The staff was great and helpful, the room was clean, the bathroom was kept clean, and the housekeeping staff did a great job.
All in all, a standard Holiday Inn, but it made an impression on us that will bring us back.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2007

Our experience here was terrible, our daughter graduated for cosmetology school in June 2007, The Holiday Inn St. Louis-sw/Viking MO Saint Louis, Missouri: 10709 Watson Road. was the place where she was to take her boards so we thought this would be the perfect place to put her up for the night, next morning well rested for her boards, but she wasn't allowed to check in because she was only twenty. I secured the hotel with my credit card but didn't pay for it. She had cash but still the management refused to let her stay but did say that if there was someone 21 in St. Louis they would let her stay. We did not have any contacts there. She finally went to three other hotels, the Best Western finally let her check in. There was NO concern for our situation. Basically, fell on deaf ears. Our sons and daughters 18 to 20 years old can fight and give their lives for our country but can not check into a Holiday Inn. They have lost my business for life and Best Western has gain my business.
Brian Woodruff, Springfield, Mo

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2006

I stayed here for 3 days/2 nights for business last week. The hotel seems like a pretty new hotel ... the lobby was nicely decorated with what seemed like new furnishings. I would say pretty modern decor for a Holiday Inn. The hotel lobby bar is small but the bartender (Jennifer) was very friendly. As far as the rest of the staff, they were average. My room was on the 4th floor, and I never heard any of my neighbors at all? Not sure what all the previous reviewers noise complaints were about?

The hotel offers FREE wi-fi which is really nice to have. They also have a business center that has also has free internet in case you don't have a laptop. Every morning they delivered a USA today to your door which was a nice surprise if you like to read the morning newspaper with your coffee.

One complaint I do have is when my husband tried to call my room he said it was hard to get thru to someone at the front desk during the evening hours.

I did not have a car, and decided to take a taxi into downtown one day. I had no idea it would cost $46 one way (not including tip) So next time I'm in St. Louis I would definitely need to rent a car. There are lots of restaraunts that are across the street, and they also have a restaurant in the hotel. I did not eat there so I cannot comment on it.

If I was in St. Louis for work I would probably stay at this hotel again because it is close to where I need to be. But if I was visiting St. Louis for pleasure, I would want to stay closer to the downtown area.

Overall, I would rate this hotel average, but for a Holiday Inn it was above average

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2006

Not a good place to spend your wedding night!!! First of all everyone was rude it was my wedding night and I was threatened to be put in handcuffs the rooms had wallpaper peeling off the walls and even the hallways were dirty, it smelled horrible. Many of my wedding guests were upset with the pricing because of their horrible experiences. Management is not customer service oriented and are very rude!!! I would have rather spent the night in the airport!!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2004

Spent the past weekend. The rooms smelled like dog and urine. The rooms were not clean. You can hear the people next to you and their TV. We were on a non smoking floor. They people next to use were smoking. We could smell it in our room. This is a typical nasty Holiday Inn. The Viking Rest has extremely slow service. Only 1 elevator was working. Never again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford,MI
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2004

I stayed for 3 nts in September. The Hotel is very nice, clean and in a great location. The staff couldnt have been more friendly.
There is a nice restaurant on property.
The outdoor pool was nice, the indoor pool was small. Jacuzzi wasnt very hot(kindda old)

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66

Address: 10709 Watson Rd., Sunset Hills, Saint Louis, MO 63127
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Sunset Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sunset Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in suburban St. Louis County, the Holiday Inn SW - Route 66 features 213 stylish and finely appointed newly renovated guest rooms, fitness center, whirlpool as well as indoor and outdoor pools. On property we have the T-Bird Cafe & Mile 277, for breakfast, lunch, and dinner or in-room dining. Surrounded by over thirty dining options available within short 3 mile radius you can satisfy any palate. We are pleased to offer complimentary WiFi & parking for your convenience. Guests that didn't arrive by car but want to explore the city we offer Avis car rental on property. Our central location positioned at the intersections Highway I-44 and I-270 an ideal location no matter what brings you to St. Louis. Sports fans take in a game at Busch Stadium home to eleven time World Series Champions, the St. Louis Cardinals. Adventurers visit the tallest manmade monument in the US, the Gateway Arch soaring into the sky at an impressive 630 feet. Thrill seekers gear up for massive roller coasters & cooling down at Hurricane Harbor at Six Flags over Mid America. Little explorers enjoy a full day of hands-on learning, creativity, experimentation & interactive play at the Magic House located just up the street. Nearby corporations include Liberty Mutual, ADP, Maritz, Lutheran Church Missouri Synod & General Electric. Whatever brings you to St. Louis you will find your tranquil home away from home in the center of it all at the Holiday Inn SW - Route 66. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St. Louis - Southwest (Viking) Hotel Sunset Hills
Holiday Inn Saint Louis
Saint Louis Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Viking
Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66 Saint Louis, MO - Sunset Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.