We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite old hotel and dirty room the first day after they clean it, shower was new” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Southwest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Southwest to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Southwest
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3730 South Lindbergh Boulevard, Sunset Hills, Saint Louis, MO 63127-1397 (Formerly Quality Inn Southwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Sunset Hills
Scansano, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quite old hotel and dirty room the first day after they clean it, shower was new”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

The first impact was hard, the structure is old and more similar to a motel, the room was dirty, I went to the staff and they were kind the room was clean and the wash the carpet also. Bath was quite new, the breakfast adequate to a cheap hotel. The price is very convenient and it is near to the city

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    2
    7
    35
See reviews for
11
13
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
minnesota
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

I am not usually a complainer, but this was the worst hotel room we have ever seen. After 11 hours on the road, the lobby was decently clean, so we checked in. The room was filthy, windows filthy, ceiling water stained and mildewed. Tub grout was cracked and moldy; we refused to shower, or even take our socks off. Dust/cobwebs hung from lamps. Furniture was paint splattered. Coffee maker had not been emptied, but even after I emptied and cleaned it, it did not work. Multiple cigarette burns on bedspread. Trash on outer walkway and several exterior lights not working. Trash cans around the property overflowing. Stairway window broken, jagged edges and glass littered around. Lobby women's restroom was filthy, sink gouged and stained, hot water tap did not produce any water, light fixtures were stored in the stall, soap dispenser was empty. I was overcharged, not given my discount, my member # was not recorded and I was charged for a phone not used. On checkout, the clerk asked how the room was and when I said it was the worst pit I'd ever seen, his response was, "Well, how was breakfast?"

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa fe
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We knew we weren't going to be staying at a high-end hotel... But this was just disgusting! There was food crumbs all over the floor... Hair and dirt in the bathroom... Scum on the toilet lid... And a bathtub that didn't drain. Needless to say, we didn't even stay the night!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

I will NEVER ever stay at this hotel again. I was quoted a rate, but when I checked my bank statement, quite a bit more was taken out. I was told there was a pet DEPOSIT of $25, when instead I was CHARGED $20. When I confronted the so-called manager, I was told "The room rate was not what I was quoted and I can charge you what I want because you signed a registration card." I told her she was being rude, and she got loud and hung up on me. The first night, we had to change rooms, because there was no internet access or A/C. The second night we had to shower in a different room because our room had no hot water. I would have been a steady customer having to come to that area once a month, and should have been treated right to maintain my business. The manager should not be a manager, no business tact whatsoever. The only good thing to say about the experience, was that the other people that worked the front desk were very personable.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

I stayed here a few nights in Oct of 2011 and got a King room on the second floor non smoking (you can smoke right outside the door). The second floor ended up being much less busy than the first floor. The room and bed were nice - down comforter and good sheets and comfortable. It was really quite decent. This is a good central location and you can hop right on highway 44 and go to Forest Park (huge park that is really cool and has all the museums and an awesome bike and running trail around the perimeter - for bike rentals, go to city cycling tours dot com). The breakfast was decent - waffles and biscuits and gravy and cereal and drinks. The hot tub didn't put out much power but the indoor pool is nice. On site restaurant and very close to lots of restaurants (St. Louis Bread Co is across the street). Overall very decent stay. Lobby had computer to use and they let me print my travel stuff. The on site bar and restaurant (mexican) were good too...would recommend if you like to stay in a moderate priced hotel.

Room Tip: Get a non smoking room on 2nd floor - quieter and I think they are used less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We booked this motel based on name and price. Got into St Louis later when it was dark and used the GPS to find it. Checking in was complicated by the fact that their computer system was down but went smoothly and with no problems. Room was clean and comfortable. Could not use the pool or hot tub but used the motel's WiFi to schedule the next days' activities. Had a lot of motorcycles parked next to us but they were an older group and we got a good night's sleep. Breakfast was as advertised and no problems. They could not print out a receipt for us (same computer problem) but sent us on our way with a hand written one.

Room Tip: Older motel-outside access to rooms; not a real concern. Food next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Its the dumps... 1st on entry of our room... we found roaches and a spider. i talked with the night shift duty person. and he tried to find another room for us, but the 2 we looked at smelled horrible like smoke.( we have 3 girls 7 9 11)... he said to talk with Danielle the manager and the would straighten it out....so on returning into our room i was going to take a shower...coming to find out the was very little water coming out of the faucet on the hot side.... returning to the office again( he logged all)...in short i ended up showering in their pool house shower... up next morning talking to Danielle coming to find out the owner was there.... and he was not willing to do anything to make any of it right.... so the best... we are outside waiting for their maintenance man to look at the shower and here comes a guy out of a courtyard room(the guy that was fixing 1 of their parking lot lights the night before) (10ish am) walking in his underwear across the courtyard to his truck to get dressed..... and then in the end the owner tells us that he could charge us for that day also because its past checkout.... I wished i would have taken pictures....

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Southwest

Address: 3730 South Lindbergh Boulevard, Sunset Hills, Saint Louis, MO 63127-1397 (Formerly Quality Inn Southwest)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Sunset Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Sunset Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Southwest 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Saint Louis
Saint Louis Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Saint Louis
Econo Lodge Southwest Saint Louis, MO - Sunset Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Southwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.