We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for overnight stop on I5” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Santa Nella

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Santa Nella to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Santa Nella
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   28976 W. Plaza Drive, Santa Nella, CA 95322   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Santa Nella
Incline Village, Nevada, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice place for overnight stop on I5”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed here on our way down I5 to Disneyland. We found the location to be convenient. The room was pretty spacious. I was worried about freeway noise but we really didn't here any. The bed was pretty comfortable. Internet was ok - a little slow. The shower was marginal - I like a strong water flow and this was not, although it was not the worst I have had either. The breakfast was basic, although the cinnamon rolls were delicious. And there was someone there making sure all the items had sufficient amounts available.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Nella, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear TahoeMother,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. I am pleased to know that you find our rooms comfortable and apologize for the inconvenience the internet may have caused. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    59
    28
    9
    6
See reviews for
50
50
14
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Crescent City, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

After a rather long drive from the far northern corner of Calif., I was glad to arrive at my destination in Santa Nella with reservations at Holiday Inn Express. What was even nicer was the warm and friendly greeting by the desk staff. Wasn't to jazzed with check-out staff and she was pretty aloof, but it was just a brief contact. The facility is located in the furthest corner of town so any traffic noise was very minimal. For those staying more than one night, there were BBQ's, Jacuzzi and swimming pool along with tables and chairs, it gets HOT here during the mid summer months. The grounds were impeccable, the room very clean and tidy and missing nothing that I may have needed. In the morning, it was a full breakfast of eggs, ham, pancakes, biscuit and gravy cinnamon rolls, cereal coffee and juices. Without hesitation, I would stay here again!

Room Tip: There are a few restaurants on the same side of the highway as the Holiday Express and more on the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I am very glad I chose this location for my long trip between Seattle WA and Tucson AZ. It is easy to find and just off I5. This little area has lots of food and gas options. The layout of the hotel has all doors and windows facing into the locked courtyard/ pool area gives a nice and secure feeling. My only complaint is the hotel is staring to show some age but everything ages.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Nella, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear rosskrotzer,

Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. We are very glad that you were able to use the location of the hotel to your advantage during your stay here. Although, it is unfortunate the condition of the hotel prevented you from fully enjoying your time here. Your input will be shared with our management team to take into consideration for future upgrades. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

If you expected to find the standard Holiday Inn Express in Santa Nella to be one of the standard Holiday Inns, you will be surprised. To be sure the building has the sign but not really much else. Apparently there used to be another hotel (La Nation?) in that building and it has now been bought over by the Holiday Inn group. There is a nice courtyard and pool inside. All the rooms have entrance from the inside. There are four main gated entrances to the rooms and if you don't get parking in the correct side, you will have to lug your luggage to your room - quite a chore. We had asked for a single King bed but got two double beds instead. The rooms have not been modified much except for the slim TV. The sink is in the room and the person who gets up in the middle of the night or early in the morning could wake up others. The closet is just a rod with hangers in it. The bath room shows its age with wood rot in the back of the bathroom doors, peeling caulking etc. I could not the turn the old fashioned shower head to adjust the spray and had to use both hands to turn it like steering a car! The breakfast is OK at best. Not a real Holiday Inn experience!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Nella, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear pksubramanian,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the accommodations and service received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we received very seriously. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great Hotel right off the freeway.Perfect for a stop between north and south. Friendly staff,clean rooms,nice pool area,good breakfast.There is nothing to do or see in Santa Nella (it's more like a truckstop)Restaurants near by. A good value Hotel to recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I was traveling from one end of Calif to the other and stopped for the night in Santa Nella. On previous trips I have stayed across the street at the Best Western which is marginal. This time I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express and was pleasantly surprised. I know of all the truck noise in the area combined with Andersen Split Pea Restaurant traffic, but it is a good location to stop for the night.
I arrived late and got an immaculate room (213), and it was like a peaceful retreat for a one night stay. No noise at all. I noticed that the pool and grounds were very clean.
Clean towels and bedding. Wonderful staff. Overall a great place to stay. Didn't eat breakfast there as I wanted to get on the road.
Overall I give it a 5/5 and will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Usually I post to warn other from places that suck, but this place is ok.

Cool courtyard, impeccably clean and well-groomed, friendly staff, and in process of getting fresh paint and carpet.


Breakfast was good, the usual.

Pool was well maintained and fresh looking.


Grass, shrubs, et al were all well manicured.

We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Santa Nella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Santa Nella

Address: 28976 W. Plaza Drive, Santa Nella, CA 95322
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Nella
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Santa Nella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Santa Nella 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express, Santa Nella CA. Located in the geographical center of California, Santa Nella is on the way for weary travelers on Interstate Five --Just minutes from Los Banos and the San Luis Reservoir. This resort-style property features a beautifully landscaped courtyard surrounding a large pool and spa. Special features include, poolside gas barbecue grills, a fitness room and guest laundry facilities. Breakfast is served every morning from 6:30am to 9:30am, featuring our Express Start breakfast bar buffet. You will love our exclusive cinnamon rolls and Smart Roast coffee blend. We offer two types of rooms to accommodate both the family and the business traveler. Choose from a room with two queen size beds or a king mini-suite which includes a sofa seating area and a desk work surface area. All rooms feature, ceiling fans, refrigerators, coffee makers, high speed internet T-1, clock radios, granite vanity area, 25 inch color TV s, 3 HBO channels, FOX news, ESPN, Univision (Spanish) and 23 other channels, all free. No unrated pay per view channels here! Enjoy a destination, resort-style experience for a roadside rate. You may be able to find a lower rate but you won t find a better value. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Santa Nella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Santa Nella Hotel Santa Nella
Holiday Inn Express Gustine
Holiday Inn Gustine
Gustine Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Santa Nella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.