We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot of £££££ in cars!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caister Castle Motor Museum

Caister Castle Motor Museum
Caister Lane, Caister-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth NR30 5SN, England
01572 787 649
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A lot of £££££ in cars!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We visited and were overwhelmed about the amount of money sat in the museum in cars!!! Must be worth millions!!! And this shows by no pics allowed and the sheer volume of old and rare automobiles! Not a great car museum enthusiasts but I really enjoyed it ESP reading the history of the cars and castle!!! Worth a drop by!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    21
    8
    8
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, Wales, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
476 reviews 476 reviews
260 attraction reviews
Reviews in 226 cities Reviews in 226 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
“Probably helps if you like cars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

A superb selection of cars from the dawn of motoring, one of us really enjoyed the time spent in the museum. My partner it very tolerant !
It appears that the museum is added to as money is available (a guess) and there is currently a further extension being built. Vehicles are displayed in a variety of conditions, some very much 'as found', others are immaculate. As a 'car person' it was a great day out.
We did climb to the top of the tower of the adjacent castle - I would not reccomend it - its a long, steep climb. Several other visitors only made it part way, before coming back down. And after all, when you get to the top its just a view !
The cafe is a little expensive and there is not a great choice, but very pleasant surroundings.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Charming.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

The museum is for serious car enthusiasts, but it is nicely set out with some interesting vehicles. The castle is beautiful and the climb to the top of the tower was well worth it to see spectacular views of Norfolk. The tearoom is provided a lovely cuppa and the facilities were clean. Friendly staff too. A

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great museum and beautiful Castle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Visited today and felt I had to write a review after reading previous comments.I visited with my husband and we thoroughly enjoyed it. There IS a reduction for oap's of a £1. There are 2 attractions in one for £10:50 adults, £9:50 oap , £5 children and cheaper I think for families. The Castle is beautifully kept, has a wonderful moat , large lawned areas with lots of benches where you can have your picnic. There is a small tea room which sells hot and cold drinks lovely cakes and sausage rolls . . . . ok not a huge range but what they do have is nice. The museum is very large and I thought it was just cars . How wrong was I . .there are countless numbers of cars, motorbike , bicycles, prams , carriages, various other items including fine porcelain. The staff are very friendly and helpful. My advise is to slow down and take time to enjoy this Museum and Castle for what it is !

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“a piece of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

On a recent trip to Norfolk we decided to visit Caister castle and car museum as it had been twenty years since the last time we visited. Found it a bit pricey at £10.50 with only a £1 reduction for pensioners how ever it was still well worth a look and you can spend a good half day there .
There are access steps to the top of the castle not for the faint hearted but once on the top the view is worth the climb

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caister Castle Motor Museum also viewed

 
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 

Been to Caister Castle Motor Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caister Castle Motor Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.