We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caister Castle Motor Museum

Caister Castle Motor Museum
Caister Lane, Caister-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth NR30 5SN, England
01572 787 649
Improve this listing
Type: Castles, Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Diss, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very interesting place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Be sure to go up the tower of the ruins of the castle, however not for those who don't like heights.... in addition you need to be steady on your feet. Once you get to the top the views are stunning.
The Museum itself is very interesting and the staff are on hand to give you more information- all in all a great experience.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    21
    8
    8
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Better than we anticipated.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We went to Caister Castle and motor museum, with trepidation. The reviews were not good! but we enjoyed it! every member of staff were friendly and made us feel welcome. We felt the price was about right, and our only disappointment was that we did not allow enough time there. The place is obviously well loved by staff and owners, but visitors were thin on the ground! as I have said before on recent reviews, I think museums etc. are suffering from an apathetic public and also the fact that families can no longer visit in term time, only in school hols or weekends. Due to new school attendance rules! and places such as this cannot survive on a few weeks a year. This year people are allowed to take photos, so maybe more people will give it better reviews.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great day out for all the family on Fathers Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

A fun day was had by all at Caister Castle. We all climbed the steps to the top of the tower, with views of Caister, Breydon Water and the sea. The geese, ducks and moorhens (including babies) were lovely company for a picnic - for which there were lots of benches. The cars were a fabulous collection - from f1 cars to fire engines, harley davidsons to Silver Ghosts. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
89 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Good museum a bit pricey!!!!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

When we arrived at the museum, found out they did not accept debit cards, no discounts for carers or people with disabilities. A good selection of cars, plenty to see, staff did not seem to be able to answer basic questions. Enjoyed climbing up the tower, and exploring the castle grounds, pleasant picnic area. A bit expensive, staff seemed to have no idea of any information. Well sign posted.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“photo's at last”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

After visiting Caister Castle for the third time it was a pleasant surprise to now be allowed to take photo's. The collection over this time has grown with some wonderful new editions along with the rare motors (Doble E10 for example) being able to now show friends these lovely examples of classic motors has been a real treat for me and them. I would also like to say that the woodland walk and the castle grounds are beautiful and calming. I would also add , take a picnic and enjoy the whole day. Staff are polite and helpful. It was a breath of fresh air to spend the day there.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caister Castle Motor Museum also viewed

Caister-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth
 
Hemsby, Great Yarmouth
 

Been to Caister Castle Motor Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caister Castle Motor Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.