We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place shame about the room.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bryngarw House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brynmenyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bryngarw House
Save
You added Bryngarw House to your Saves list
Bryngarw Country Park, Brynmenyn CF32 8UU, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Brynmenyn B&B and Inns
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice place shame about the room.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a one night stay with 3 course meal and breakfast on a Living social deal and it was good , sorry make that very good value for money. The place is nice and the grounds are lovely. The meal was of good quality and reasonable selection and it turned into a 5 course with a soup taster and mango sorbet and in the morning the breakfast was great again good quality and good selection. the staff are very nice and the stay was enjoyable. The room had all the facilities, kettle and the usual drinks making, Digital freeview tv, shower en suite etc and it was clean and well decorated - BUT there was no window! there was a skylight through which we could see the branch of an overhanging tree. It was more like a cell. it was small with a double bed, It was over the old stables, room no.20 and was accessed through the rear car park, so out the back of the hotel, cross passing the bins and into the annex and upstairs, so dressing for dinner meant an overcoat as well because it was freezing outside! didn't feel it so much on the way back, full of food and a bottle of wine. but such a disappointment such beautiful views and we couldn't see them, so My advice is do book - it would be a shame to miss out - but ask for a room with at least a window. I know 19 & 20 have sky lights but didn't see inside any other rooms. Its a great place, great grounds, lovely staff, good food, get a deal and spoil yourself - but get a nice room. Enjoy the grounds and pop over to McArthur Glen for some shopping and the area sights and beaches, its a good base to explore from.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a window, avoid no's 19&20
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    36
    9
    7
    5
See reviews for
17
52
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
neath
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

what a lovely place, rooms are lovely and very clean. Grounds are beautiful and the food was superb. Highly recommended and will be going back for more soon. The food portions looked small, but after 5 courses we couldn't move. the staff are really friendly, polite and efficient. The breakfast was really lovely too, nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the manager was very helpful

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed one night on a Social Living Deal. Hotel was clean and inviting with great Xmas decorations and ambiance.The meal was truly excellent and such amazing value for a Deal.The best meal we've experienced on one of ST deals.The service was really excellent.Congratulations to the staff for maintaining high standards despite them all having received redundancy notices.The council should reconsider closing it down after 19 years.I question whether it will run profitably as purely a wedding venue!

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just used a living social deal for a 1 night stay with dinner and breakfast included at this wonderful hotel.Unfortunately the weather was atrocious on the day of arrival so couldn't look at the outside park but as soon as we entered the door everything looked beautifully clean and were dealt with efficiently at reception.Our room had everything you needed the bathroom etc was immaculate towels very white and fluffy.The only criticism was the there was a noisy motor probably a/c system that went on all night but you could eventually get use to if after a while.Having chatted with one of the staff found out that the hotel was about to close very soon but reopening just for weddings .The chef and all the other staff at this hotel are being made redundant which I think is a great shame as they were all great .To lose such a great asset as this especially the chef is a great shame as the food was fantastic.We looked around the next day to see beautiful gounds and a very impressive house We would like to wish all the staff good luck for the future

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

We had one of the best meals ever ,the special deal we paid for,was exceptional value ,the hotel and bedroom was spotlessly clean ,staff very friendly ,a beautiful old hotel in lovely grounds in a lovely setting ,we would definitely return

Room Tip: Our room on the high level was rather small and cramped
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel with a living social voucher - what great value!!
The three course meal was first class with plenty of choice, the room was cosy and exceptionally clean, breakfast was freshly cooked with a great choice on the menu.
Negative..we couldn't stay longer to appreciate the lovely setting
Thank you for a lovely stay

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

I stayed here for a friends wedding my room (number 10) whilst very clean and tidy was small, just enough space for a double bed and 2 bedside cabinets the other furniture was a cupboard and a small desk and chair and that didn't leave much room left over, the bathroom was .... Compact.
The view from my bedroom window was a pebble dashed wall about 6feet away and from the bathroom a flat roof and walls, there was also some noise which suggested I was close to the kitchen as I heard a sound like a dishwasher and people taking.
As I was part of a wedding party and stated it when booked I was surprised that everyone wasn't grouped together.
I had an extended wait to order my breakfast (I had to ask to get my order taken) as the waitress thought I was "someone else".
I was charged £70 for a Friday night and £90 for the Saturday for what I got I feel it's overpriced I was expecting a better experience.

Room Tip: Don't have room 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bryngarw House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryngarw House

Address: Bryngarw Country Park, Brynmenyn CF32 8UU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Brynmenyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Brynmenyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 113 acres of picturesque country parkland, Bryngarw House is just four miles from Bridgend town centre in Brynmenyn, just off Junction 36 of the M4 in the South Wales valley.At Bryngarw House you will find four star guest accommodation. Our 19 individually decorated bedrooms, all with en suite facilities, ensure a comfortable and relaxing stay.It's not just the bedrooms that offer quality; our Harlequin Restaurant has also won the Taste of Wales Fine Cuisine Award. Whether you're here for our Sunday lunch, an intimate dinner or a large celebration, our menus are imaginatively designed to tantalise the taste buds!We are proud to have a licence to hold wedding ceremonies and civil partnerships. Whether you choose to marry here or just have your reception, we promise you'll have the wedding to remember. With the country park on the doorstep, the scenery is perfect for a fairytale wedding.The elegance of Bryngarw House combines seamlessly with the commercial world. With four meeting and conference rooms to choose from, and a wealth of experience in conference and banqueting, your meetings are guaranteed to be a success.So whether you want to pop in for afternoon tea, or celebrate a special occasion with a gourmet meal and an overnight stay, Bryngarw House is the place for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bryngarw House Hotel Bridgend

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bryngarw House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.