We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stop over” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guidfa House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Guidfa House to your Saves list
Guidfa House
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Crossgates, Crossgates, Llandrindod Wells LD1 6RF, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Crossgates B&B and Inns
Leicester
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stop over”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed one night as a stop over while on a short tour. Beautiful house with delightful decorations and furnishings, also most welcoming hosts! We were offered tea and delicious cake on arrival.
Everything was immaculate and very comfortable. The breakfast was all anyone could ask for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
45
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

tony and anne welcomed us warmly and went out of their way to make our two night stay an enjoyable one. guidfa house is impeccably tidy and extremely clean. quite possibly the cleanest place we've ever had the pleasure of staying at. my husband had to go to newtown for work but chose to stay at crossgates for its more central location. tony gave me walking tips and even arranged for me to get a ride to llandrindod wells (5min by car) to go walking in the welsh countryside. breakfast was hearty and anne served the freshest local produce. the croissants were freshly baked in the morning and the eggs had such orange yolks they could only have come from seriously happy hens. tony and anne know so much about the region and had organised a booklet with a compendium of restaurants near by. we were spoilt for choice and wish we could have tried out more of their wonderful recommendations.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

From the moment we arrived at this wondreful place we knew we had made a good choice. Although a couple of hours early we were shown immediately to our upgraded room (bonus!) which was beautiful. I have never stayed in such an amazingly clean place. Everything had been thought of and was catered for. A lovely pot of tea and piece of gorgeous cake on arrival was another added bonus! Anne's cooking is second to none. You can tell that Tony and Anne love what they do and take every pride in doing it. Would recommend Guidfa House to anyone!
Thanks to you both.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to Room 5 - it was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We spent two days here in July on the way back from visiting friends and helping with the family holiday in South Wales. The plan was to have a relaxing break on the way back home and that was exactly what we had thanks to the great service and food provided by Anne & Tony in super surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This was our second stay at the Guidfa and it was even better than the first. It is a charming place and has all the important amenities, with great attention to detail. The beds are very comfortable, the bathrooms are some of the cleanest we have seen with a spa feeling, the breakfast is delicious, the hosts are very friendly. We stayed at the Coach house suite and would highly recommend it. It is a bit more expensive than the other rooms but it is a large, two- level apartment with a comfortable living area, kitchenette, two bathrooms (one with jacuzzi tub downstairs and a powder room upstairs next to the bed), a king size bed and a skylight. So if you do go for it, the price difference will be justified. Internet access is also free and reliable. Overall, the 5 stars are well deserved, and we are looking forward to our next trip.
There is nothing we disliked at the Guidfa, I would only highlight that you must rely on a car if you stay there (we were visiting family so it was not an issue, but bear in mind that the closest town, Llandrindod is too far to walk). Also, the breakfast is served between 8-9am only, though the hosts were graciously accommodating of our early 7:30am start when we had to catch a train on our last morning.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Our stay was excellent - with welcoming, helpful owners, beautiful and spotlessly clean rooms with a comfy bed, well equipped shower room with plenty of towels,toiletries and hot water. Our breakfast was delicious with extra tea/coffee. All this with tea and cake on arrival. Pefect!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Had a lovely visit to mid Wales recently and was lucky enough to find Guidfa House. Just dropped in and had a really warm welcome and a lovely room at the front of the house over looking the garden with a huge bed and lovely bathroom. Great breakfast.........really sorry we couldn't stay longer but we'll be back. Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guidfa House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guidfa House

Address: Crossgates, Crossgates, Llandrindod Wells LD1 6RF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells > Crossgates
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Crossgates
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Guidfa House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Georgian house located in the village of Crossgates just three miles north of Llandrindod Wells and eight miles east of Rhayader and the stunning Elan Valley. The six individually furnished non-smoking en-suite bedrooms are all specious and bright. All rooms have comfy beds, flat screen TV's with DVD, iPod docking stations, radio alarm clock, tea/coffee making facilities, plenty of fluffy towels, bath robes and quality toiletries. Free WiFi throughout. Five star accommodation with a gold award from Visit Wales, a Certificate of Excellence from Trip Advisor and members of the Green Tourism Business Scheme. Plenty of private parking, secure bicycle storage, drying facilities and an electric vehicle charging point are also available. After a good nights sleep start the day with a delicious breakfast. Choose from a selection of fresh or poached fruit, grapefruit segments, figs and locally produced organic yoghurt. A wide choice of cereals are available including home-made muesli along with fruit juices, Fairtrade Colombian coffee and a selection of teas. Our cooked breakfasts are made from the very best local produce but if something lighter is preferred there is always smoked salmon and scrambled eggs or the cold collection. All jams and marmalades are home-made. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Despegar.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Guidfa House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guidfa House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.