We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Stagg Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Titley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Stagg Inn
Save
You added The Stagg Inn to your Saves list
Titley HR5 3RL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Titley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gloucestershire
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Called in for lunch last week and we were so impressed. Great menu including extensive vegetarian options and specials too! We ordered the sausage and mash on the specials board (very good) and the ploughmans lunch for me. I had a choice of cheeses (there were twelve to choose from) and it was one of the best ploughmans I have had the pleasure to eat! I particularly loved the savoury baked apple, it accompanied the cheese and fresh bread really well. Service was attentive and friendly and we left feeling very content. Wish it was our local!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    31
    24
    6
    3
See reviews for
32
102
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Not been here for a few years as it's a bit of a trek but so glad we made the effort. beautifully presented garden, covered in pumpkin lanterns for Halloween and the garden still looking trim and tidy and great for the time of year. Good selection of non-alcoholic drinks, I recommend the ginger and elderflower cordial with soda. great menu with a full vegetarian menu as well. all of the food was top draw, could not fault it and even my Mum managed 4 courses as she just did not want to miss out on such great food. I had baked figs with local blue cheese and pears for starter, fillet with smoked marrowbone, chips and salad which was divine. even the bread is worth a mention, dark and rich although the bag it came in to keep it warm is a nice idea its actually a bit of a fag as you have to pick the stray bits of hessian off of the bread. dessert of a trio of crème brulee topped off with coffee and home made petit fours which were in their own right worth a mention. they even sell Elysium which is my favourite dessert wine. tiny weeny rumple in the proceeding was we ordered a pot of coffee which arrived with a cup each but there was not enough coffee in the pot for our 4 cups and no accompanying cream or sugar. Waitress was properly surly when we politely asked for extra coffee, cream and sugar, not sure what we had done to upset but she made it very clear we had. Great value for money - 4 courses with non-alcoholic drinks under £50 a head. great lunch, can't wait to go back

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Our third trip to the Stagg simply confirmed our previous visits (and review). Lovely pub with charming service and excellent food. Highly recommended.

We stayed int eh Vicarage and our room had a luxurious free standing bath. Great place for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Had wanted to try this restaurant for a few years but unable to get in on a Saturday when in the area; this year we booked ahead and were not disappointed!
The young man behind the bar was friendly and attentive. The tables in the dining room were arranged in an un-crowded way with both of us having a good view, the acoustics of the room mean you can maintain a conversation.
Excellent unobtrusive service, ie attentive but not rushed.
Food was interesting and meals well balanced, with prices lower than I expected.
Would hope to book a room too next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clun, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

It was our wedding anniversary, so we thought we'd give this restaurant a try. On arrival at the bar, a young gentleman greeted us and confirmed our booking. He served us our drinks and then took us straight to our table. We felt distinctly hurried. Admittedly it was a Friday night and they were busy, but still....it seemed there was no alternative other than to sit at our table with our drinks and view the menus.
He asked if we would like water for the table, I said yes, tap water would be fine, but no lemon! I saw him tell the waitress immediately, however the water subsequently arrived with the lemon! On informing the waitress she rectified the error.
Given the status of the restaurant we felt the menu a little limited. A foam concoction with crisps to dip arrived before our starter. It was so lacking in flavour and interest we are not able to recall what it was - also the crisps were stale.
Our choice of starter for us both was the scallops. They arrived in a scallop shell nestling on a bed of hot stones resembling old potatoes. On first impressions we were quite intrigued, but in attempting to eat the starter due care and attention was required in order not to lose the whole dish in the rockery! What was more amazing was the ability of the waitress to remove both dishes when clearing the table without the aid of a strapping lad! I had the duck as a main course which was very good. My husband had the fillet which was also good, but was not enhanced by the shin bone full of marrow. Given our earlier encounter we felt a dessert was a step too far! My lasting impression of the dining room was of the staff almost running from table to table to serve which did not give the evening a relaxing feel. We were asked if we required anything else such as coffee to which we replied no thanks. Within a blink of an eye our bill arrived - which we had not requested. We felt the whole evening was hurried which is generally not indicative of this quality of restaurant. Overall the food was good, but I don't think this is an experience we will repeat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

First meal was with 8 people, we all had something different from the menu and all enjoyed everything. (Except the soup) Then we were down to four two days later and really loved everything, especially the smoked chicken starter, this came in a sort of kilner jar, plus salad (most imaginative, with nastursan flowers) on opening the lid, you are greeted by smoke and a smell of burning. So different and tasty. Its a good menu and quite an extensive wine list, although probably more pricey than we usually pay. But to find such a good resturant in quite a tiny village is a bonus, plus open on a Sunday night, (As Londerners) which prompted our second visit, as staying for a long weekend in Winforton. Ambiance and staff very friendly, never had bread served in a sack before, which adds to the interest. When we go back to Winforton Court next year (amazing B & B) wil definately go back to The Stag. Well worth a meal,

Room Tip: Not stayed there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Felt my partner and I were not welcome as soon as we walked through the door. The lady behind the bar (owner) was rude and I felt that as we are slightly younger than the usual customer at the restaurant that we were not good enough to stay and eat for the evening although we booked a table in the restaurant (and did spend over £150 inc wine). Very good food just a shame about the sour faced landlady.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Stagg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stagg Inn

Address: Titley HR5 3RL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Titley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Titley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Stagg Hotel Titley
The Stagg Inn Titley, Herefordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stagg Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.