We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palm Bay with the kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hideaways at Palm Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hideaways at Palm Bay to your Saves list
Hideaways at Palm Bay
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jolly Hall Bay at Queens Highway, George Town 00000, Great Exuma   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in George Town
Victoria, BC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Palm Bay with the kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2008

We just came back from spending 9 nights at the Palm Bay Beach Club with our children who are 8 and 11. The Palm Bay is a great place for families to stay. We stayed in unit #7 which was a 2 bedroom with a small fridge and microwave. The unit was very nice and clean and the beds were great. The maid service was always very thorough. Just outside the door was the pool and a few more steps away was the Splash restaurant. We found this a great set up, especially with our age of children who could run off to the pool for a swim - sometimes even before breakfast!

The beach in front of the hotel was very clean and nice. There were hammocks to sit in as well as a peddle boat and kayaks to use if you liked. In the lobby of the hotel there were computers you could use if need be.

We especially appreciated the shuttle to George Town that was offered by Palm Bay.

The Splash restaurant was handy after a long day beach combing but we found that the menu could have used more variety and that the food was a little on the expensive side for what you got.

Overall, it was a great place to stay for families and I would definitely stay there again or recommend it to other families.

  • Liked — comfotable rooms
  • Disliked — would like better menu at reaturant
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    108
    20
    12
    5
See reviews for
95
137
19
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

You will read about the amenities at Palm Bay from other reviewers, and we agree that they are very clean, friendly and what I would say, have a quaint tropical charm. Therefore, I will try to give you a broader overview of the area beaches. The Palm Bay Beach is fantastic, with a very gradual slope and clear Caribbean waters. The tide moved up nearly to the small, nicely flowered sea-wall in early morning. At low tide - most of the day - there was about 20 feet of white sand beach, with some areas closer to 50 feet. While Palm Bay beach was gorgeous, you can also walk to the next beach to the north, which is much longer, a bit wider and equally nice.

We had a rental car, so we drove from end to end on the island. We were amazed at how many beautiful, white sand public beaches there were. They are all well marked, "Beach Access." Each time that we stopped the beauty was breath-taking, and the water color in most parts of the island was everything that the Cancun water is. But, what blew us away, was that we were the only two people on nearly every beach. The only other people that we saw, were two couples on one beach, and six local boys digging for small sand crabs on another. Unbelieveable! We have never found such great expanses of secluded, sensational beaches anywhere in the Caribbean!

We also took the Palm Bay catamaran over to Stocking Island - which is basically a breakwater for Palm Bay about 2 miles out. What a lovely sail that was, and we only saw one other boat. My girlfriend did not want me to write this review, because she did not want crowds of others to find out about this gem. I kind of agree, but I figured you are already researching Great Exuma if you are reading this.

In closing, I recommend Palm Bay and the many public beaches for simple pleasures and The Four Seasons (also a fantastic beach, with more color) for the ultimate pampered hide-away. Make the trip - just don't tell your friends!

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Food Choices, but what we had was great
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma, Italy
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2008

I went to Palm Bay Beach resort with my wife for summer vacation. The location is simply paradise: we had a cottage right on the beach and the cottage name was Seashore palm: one bedroom with two queen beds, one and a half bathroom, a living room with kitchenette and a fantastic patio overlooking the sea and Stocking Island (very clean, brand new and with full A/C). We stayed 5 nights. The resort is 20 minutes drive from the really small airport and it's on the main road. It has 2 small but very clean pools and the beach is big, clean and with sunbeds etc... It's 5 minutes walk from Jolly roger beach that is a stunning white crystal clear waters beach. We went there several times and no one was on that beach. Though we advice people to go snorkelling in front of the resort, around the emerged reef, because is full of live corals and fish. The resort restaurant is simple, but typical and very good. Not so many things to eat, but everything well cooked and fresh. Try their Bahama Mama cocktail: they do the best one! The staff is ok, but on the first day we had a problem in our room with the safe and they did not change nor repair it. They did not give us many advice about beaches in the island too. Thank goodness we had our guide! I must say that the resort prices are high. The restaurant prices are ok. Be prepared: the Starfish diving is closed, so they don't organize excursions. We had to go to the Peace & Plenty in town (2 miles far from Palm Bay) and took a boat to go to Stocking Island. We recommend the excursion on that island because it's gorgeous and cheap (10 USD each). This is the only way to go on Stocking Island or other cays, unless you rent on your own a private boat wich is very expensive. No organized excursions on the island at that time. We rented a car at the airport (70 USD per day all included) and we recommend to do that in order to visit the island and the beaches. We drove south and it's beautiful. We also drove up north and visited the Four Seasons resort. We are very happy we chose the Palm bay! We really enjoyed the resort: peaceful, and the beach is beautiful! Just what we were looking for! Not much tourism during August, so almost every day the beach was for the 2 of us. Incredible! The weather was simply perfect. No rain, lots of sun and breeze and we could even hear the sound of the sea waves from our room. Wonderful vacation!

  • Liked — Snorkeling and beaches!
  • Disliked — Staff not so friendly
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

Unless you require a pool boy to deliver your drinks, you will find everything you want in a relaxing beach vacation at Palm Bay.
Clean, comfortable and well decorated rooms in many configurations;friendly and accommodating staff; charming pool and well kept beach; free shuttles to town; inexpensive ferry to Stocking Island and CAPTAIN BRYAN!!! He knows the islands, the customs, and most importantly how to keep guests entertained!
Make sure you do Sunday at the Chat'n'Chill on Stocking Island for the roasted pig and the best MAc'n'cheese on the planet . A $20 plate will send you back out to your beach chair for a nap! The other side of the island boasts 5 miles of gorgeous deserted beach as well.
Went to 4 seasons to meet a friend for lunch(a $60 drink and sandwich lunch) and found it beautiful as well. Would like to move one of their cabanas back to Palm Bay, but otherwise figure we vacationed in Paradise/Palm Bay for 1/3 the cost of moving to 4-Seasons.
Make sure you make the Thursday meet and greet to visit w/owners and staff. Very nice people who run a delightful resort!
Thanks to all.

  • Liked — Nice, comfortable very clean
  • Disliked — Couldn't walk too far on the beach
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2008

I recently returned from a 7 day stay at Palm Bay. Our group had both a 1 bedroom and 3 bedroom villa on the ocean. Our accomodations were great, with the 3 bedroom being especially nice.

We enjoyed the pool, swimming in the ocean, and the kayaks that were available for guests. The shuttle that runs every hour to take people to and from Georgetown was very helpful. We also enjoyed the Thursday evening reception with complimentary drinks and appetizers. Great food!

The staff was very helpful and made us feel welcome, even when we arrived with WAY too much luggage! Sorry, Patrick & Bryan!

We all agreed the highlight of our trip was our time on the water with Captain Bryan. He was a wonderful source of information about the island and was gracious, helpful, and always willing to do anything extra we needed. He is a real treasure!

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2008

I came to Palm Bay Resort in March for the first time, and I loved everything about it. Starting with the flight over from Miami- it was so incredibly beautiful- the water color in the Bahamas is just spectacular. The resort itself is painted in island colors, with adorable gingerbread trim. My second story balcony had a lovely view of the harbor and Stocking Island. The apartment was very nicely decorated in a tropical decor. The landscaping is perfectly maintained and abounds with blossoms of varying colors and styles. Time seems to slow down, stress melts away, and you are borne away to a slower and more peaceful time and place. Smiles and greetings of the Exuma residents are warm and heartfelt.


The resort employees are available to meet whatever your needs are in a kind and respectful way without being intrusive. Computer stations in the lobby were available, but did not tempt me away from the beach or the scenery. I stayed across the street from the main lobby which meant that I was often walking down to the beach or the restaurant. I was always greeted with a smile and a “hello” from every staff member that I passed. That kind of innate courtesy made my visit a pleasure.

The restaurant, Splash, had great food and drinks. Don’t miss the Chocolate Martinis and the Fettucine Alfredo special! Every meal I had there was delicious, and the service was efficient and pleasant. The outdoor patio was lit in the evenings with clean tables and there are umbrellas for daytime use. The pool was clean and attractive with multi-colored lighting. There is also another small pool at which I enjoyed a water aerobics class with other guests that was lots of fun. The beach was lovely (clean), and I enjoyed the fact that it was uncrowded, especially during the weekdays. We went kayaking around the harbor, and saw starfish in the water and sea birds on the small island off the dock. Sitting on the apartment balcony or on the beach reading and enjoying the serene atmosphere was a special delight for me.

The week I was there was the Bahamian Music Heritage Festival at the park downtown. It was an unexpected pleasure with various Bahamian bands and singers providing the entertainment. I thoroughly enjoyed all the music and camaraderie, the food and drinks available. Everyone was dancing and enjoying- from the tiniest babies to the oldest grandmothers and grandfathers! If you want something from the grocery store in town, make sure you get there soon after the boat arrives as the hot ticket items go quickly.

I have been to several other islands in the Caribbean over the years, but never felt so warmly welcomed. This is especially true at Palm Bay, where the owners encourage a ‘family’ atmosphere where hospitality and warmth is the order of the day. I will certainly be back for another visit in the near future.

  • Liked — Scenery and beach
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2008

I just got back from a 4 day vacation at Palm Bay Beach Club. It's a beautiful place. The Harbor is gorgeous to look at, and the Villas are perfectly located and nicely done (though they could use a few hooks in the bathroom - no place to hang your clothes/robe/wash kit on the back of doors) - minor quirk. The front desk was well staffed and very helpful. Free internet, with three stations, and always one available (if you didn't bring your laptop and why would you want to?)

This is my third hotel stay in the Bahamas, and by far the best, especially in regards to front desk service and quality of rooms. Of course this was more expensive than the other places I've stayed. So I guess the old adage is true. The Restaurant, "Splash" also serves grilled fish as an option (versus fried) so you can eat healthy. Although one cannot resist the Conch Fritters. Also try the Guava Cake!

Palm Bay is not without it's glitches, but the pluses outweigh the minuses. They are basically at the mercy of the same problems and general frustrations you find most everywhere in the Bahamas: What you see on the restaurant menu, may or may not be available (ie., lobster or fresh fruit) ... the guided tours, may or may not be running that day (ie., if something else bigger is going on in town)... the flights to and from the island may or may not be on time -- so be prepared to just go with the flow.

The major plus at Palm Bay Beach Club is that they try to make up for it and do make things happen for you. We had planned to take a Harbor Tour, advertised by a local Tour Guide Service (unrelated to Palm Bay). For some reason they chose to only run Kayak tours that entire weekend ( A go with the flow moment ). When 'Captain' Brian of the Palm Bay shuttle boat heard from the front desk that we couldn't book the Harbor Tour we had hoped for, he offered to give us his own personal guided tour during one of his shuttle runs. What a cool guy! He even docked his boat at one point and walked us over to the ocean side for a view! He only asked us for $10 but of course we gave him a lot more.

One of the perks of the Bahamas, in general, is that even though services are not totally reliable or structured in the way we are used to state side, everyone knows each other there, and things come together anyway. Everyone wants to help you, and make things possible. And Palm Bay Beach Club definitely delivered on that. We couldn't have had a more satisfying time. We totally recommend a stay here.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — restaurant closes after 11pm
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hideaways at Palm Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaways at Palm Bay

Address: Jolly Hall Bay at Queens Highway, George Town 00000, Great Exuma
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hideaways at Palm Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beachfront villas & cottages are available in either studio, 1 or 2 bedroom plans and offer full kitchens or kitchenettes. Decorated and designed with tropical charm, amenities include air conditioning, ceiling fans, private bathrooms, televisions, wireless internet access, full service business center including guest computers. Hideaways Exuma is the ideal location for your romantic getaway or family vacation. Weekly rates are available in our hillside villas and studio rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hideaways at Palm Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaways At Palm Bay Hotel Great Exuma
Hideaways At Palm Bay Bahamas/Great Exuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hideaways at Palm Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.