We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we were looking for!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hideaways at Palm Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hideaways at Palm Bay to your Saves list
Hideaways at Palm Bay
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jolly Hall Bay at Queens Highway, George Town 00000, Great Exuma   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Just what we were looking for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Hideaways and will return! The staff is as friendly as you can find anywhere. Very helpful with planning outings, where to eat, find beautiful beaches and relax. Lovely beach and pool and the Thompson car rental is right across the street so we were able to pick up a car at the airport and return it easily. We liked being close to Georgetown. Loved our boat trip with Captain Bob at Coastal Adventures and the shuttle over to Stocking Island!

Room Tip: We stayed in cottage 12, one bedroom, kitchenette, very private but view of water. Very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    126
    24
    13
    5
See reviews for
111
171
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We go to Exuma once a year. We have stayed at other locations but like the Palm Bay because it is on the beach and quiet. The room was clean and effient. We go bone fishing with drex and he is the best guide...they have other guides on the island and they are also good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed in a 1 bedrm garden cottage and it was perfect for us. Clean, quiet and comfortable. Nice furnishings. Friendly staff. Good amenities. Lovely views and beach. Shuttle service to Georgetown (every two hours from 9am - 5pm) is excellent. Handy to have Splash restaurant on site but beware - the service is really SLOW! There are a couple of other smaller resorts on the Bay that also have restaurants. We especially liked Augusta Bay and their friday night buffet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Perfect place if you want a quiet and peaceful vacation..
We rented the deluxe oceanside 2 bedroom villa..
It was huge! 2 stories, what was perfect for us, while our 1 year old baby was asleep downstairs, we hang out on the patio upstairs!
The appartment was super clean and had everything we needed and more!
We always went to jolly hall beach, a 5 minute walk from our appartment, where we were on our own 85% of the time we spent there! It's beautiful!
The beach/see at the hotel is not so clean, I saw 2 death fish so didn't want to go swim there..

We rented a car for 2 days and drove across the island and were very happy with our choice! Location wise, beach wise, this is THE place to stay! (If you want a quiet vacation, if you want something fancy, go to sandals, you will be bored at hideaway if you want nightlife..)
There are plenty of restaurants at walking distance, we even walked into Georgetown to go grocery shoppingand drove back with the shuttlebus they offer.

The only negative point we can think of was the unfriendly service at the hotel restaurant and almost everyone at the front desk (except the daughter, she was super friendly)

But hey, we weren't there to socialize with the staff, so no problem!

We had a great time!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Hideaways at Palm Bay is a nice, quiet hotel, not too far from Georgetown. This is a great place to relax and soak up the Caribbean sun. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean, and the beach is gorgeous. The food service at the restaurant can be quite slow, but we opted to eat at the nearby local restaurants most of the time, anyhow. Please be advised that Exuma is a a very quiet island with a non-existent nightlife. It's great for relaxing, kayaking, snorkeling, and diving, but there isn't much else to do. That being said, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Ukraine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Nice hotel near Georgetown (there is a free shuttle bus every 2 hours), friendly staff, clean rooms, free kayacs.
Jolly Hall beach near the hotel is very beautiful place to relax.
Staff helped to organise activities.
A/C was a little bit noisy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Hideaways at Palm Bay is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the Bahamian sun, beach and water. It is away from the hustle and bustle of Georgetown, quiet and private, but should you feel the need to go into town to shop, dine or just poke around, Hideaways provides a complimentary shuttle.

Room Tip: The bungalows away from the pool are quieter and more private, but still close enough to the pool an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hideaways at Palm Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaways at Palm Bay

Address: Jolly Hall Bay at Queens Highway, George Town 00000, Great Exuma
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hideaways at Palm Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beachfront villas & cottages are available in either studio, 1 or 2 bedroom plans and offer full kitchens or kitchenettes. Decorated and designed with tropical charm, amenities include air conditioning, ceiling fans, private bathrooms, televisions, wireless internet access, full service business center including guest computers. Hideaways Exuma is the ideal location for your romantic getaway or family vacation. Weekly rates are available in our hillside villas and studio rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hideaways at Palm Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaways At Palm Bay Hotel Great Exuma
Hideaways At Palm Bay Bahamas/Great Exuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hideaways at Palm Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.