We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hideaways at Palm Bay

Save Saved
You added Hideaways at Palm Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hideaways at Palm Bay
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jolly Hall Bay at Queens Highway, George Town 00000, Great Exuma   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in George Town
Odessa, Ukraine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“good value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Nice hotel near Georgetown (there is a free shuttle bus every 2 hours), friendly staff, clean rooms, free kayacs.
Jolly Hall beach near the hotel is very beautiful place to relax.
Staff helped to organise activities.
A/C was a little bit noisy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    177
    106
    18
    12
    5
See reviews for
90
129
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Hideaways at Palm Bay is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the Bahamian sun, beach and water. It is away from the hustle and bustle of Georgetown, quiet and private, but should you feel the need to go into town to shop, dine or just poke around, Hideaways provides a complimentary shuttle.

Room Tip: The bungalows away from the pool are quieter and more private, but still close enough to the pool an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This place is old, low quality in everything. The customer service is awful . There is nothing to do in exuma. Boring , boring, old and mugly.i dont know how people write good review. I totally believe that this place can be better with a full renovation and some customer service training. Food is average nothing special. Limited menu, limited options.
The only good is the beach is nice and clean .

Room Tip: Do not go if you are looking for modern place or if you are depress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Our week at Palm Bay was great. Studio 11 was spacious and the best location. Spend the extra for the beachfront location. I thought having to pay extra for housekeeping was a little odd, and should have been included for the price they were asking.
The free shuttle into Georgetown was great. We used itseveral times.
All in all there is a friendly and casual atmoshpere that is restful and enjoyable. Don' go there if you're looking for glitz, but if you want a good base location to explore Great Exuma you should't be disappointed.
Rent a Boston Whaler from Minn'sin georgetown if you have any boating experience...that way you can set out to one of many perfect sand beaches that are close and very interesting. You are likely to see rays, starfish and perhaps even a small reef shark.
The beach at the hotel is not the best but there is a marvelous beach a short walk away to the left....Jolly Hall Beach, where you could be the only one on it's soft white sand stretch in paradise.
Splash restaurant was adequate, with varying quality of service depending who was working.
Loved the conch fritters, chicken fingers and burgers.

Room Tip: Not much privacy on the patios at the villas around the kidney shaped pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We just returned from a glorious 2 week stay here. It was fantastic. Beverly will do anything in her power to make your stay enjoyable. The staff are friendly and personable. The place is clean and well kept. We had a lovely beachfront cottage with a king size bed. They will shuttle you into town if you decide to not rent a car. The beaches are exquisite. Cruise ships do not come to Exuma because the waters are too shallow, which makes it even more appealing. The island is quiet and layed back.
Don't look for a shopping mall or a traffic light, you won't find one.
This was the vacation of our dreams! We look forward to returning next year!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Hideaways is a fantastic place to stay! My family and I have stayed here a few times and we keep coming back! They never disappoint! We stayed at Hideaways for 9 days! The rooms were clean and the staff was amazing, they were all very friendly and helpful! The room we stayed in had a kitchen we could stay in and cook our own meals or if we weren't in the mood to cook they had a great restaurant (splash) the stuffed burgers in the restaurant were amazing!!!! The beach was beautiful! We traveled with our two small children and they had a great time playing on the beach and in the pool! We all can't wait to go back again next year!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My initial words might seem a bit strange. But, really - this place is good if you know what it is set out to be. It is not a high end luxurious resort. However, to Bahamian standards it comes at a decent price. It is clean and the staff is friendly. The cottages are really nice with comfortable beds and the wifi (not complementary) is better than most I've had at even expensive 5star hotels in the US. I do agree that the decor is tacky in both the main building/reception and at the bar and in the restaruant.. It looks rather cheap actually. But, on the other hand it is also part of the charm.. Going around the island you'll find that it is not totally transformed into the likes of Nassau but more relaxed and not over-touristic so to say. So, why not just embrace that Exuma charm?

The only thing I didn't really care for was the food. But, that's not specific to Splash (the restaurant) but more to the whole experience from the island itself. It's all about fries, chicken and burgers more or less. I thought that there'd be great fish and seafood. Sure, the mahi mahi was decent, especially the blackened one.. But still. It was really not a restaurant but rather a fastfood joint gone hotel restaurant...

Also, the beach outside the hotel isn't great. When it's windy it'll be rather messy with drifts from the ocean. HOWEVER, there's only a 5 minute walk along that beach to get to a beautiful stretch with lots of palm trees and such. AND, after a 10 minute walk you'll find the most incredible beach of all - Jolly Hall Beach. Eco friendly for sure and always more or less empty. That's the TRUE GEM about staying at this hotel. The water is crazy beautiful - turquiose and super clear.

Room Tip: Cottage nr 7 is large with 2 bedrooms and a kitchen. It is also very close to the pool and reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hideaways at Palm Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaways at Palm Bay

Address: Jolly Hall Bay at Queens Highway, George Town 00000, Great Exuma
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hideaways at Palm Bay 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beachfront villas & cottages are available in either studio, 1 or 2 bedroom plans and offer full kitchens or kitchenettes. Decorated and designed with tropical charm, amenities include air conditioning, ceiling fans, private bathrooms, televisions, wireless internet access, full service business center including guest computers. Hideaways Exuma is the ideal location for your romantic getaway or family vacation. Weekly rates are available in our hillside villas and studio rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hideaways at Palm Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaways At Palm Bay Hotel Great Exuma
Hideaways At Palm Bay Bahamas/Great Exuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hideaways at Palm Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.