We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff made us feel welcome & at home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hideaways at Palm Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hideaways at Palm Bay to your Saves list
Hideaways at Palm Bay
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jolly Hall Bay at Queens Highway, George Town 00000, Great Exuma   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Staff made us feel welcome & at home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

On arrival we were met with great service and hospitality. Latovia made our experience comfortable, easy and so much fun. A mention also goes to Patrick & Vincent.

The Staff are the heart of this hotel and without them our experience would not have been the same.

We highly recommend this place, the atmosphere created by the staff will make you feel at home away from home.

The Girls from Oz

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    122
    23
    12
    5
See reviews for
110
161
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nassau City, New Providence, The Bahamas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is an awesome property. The resort is beautiful, the rooms are beautiful the people are beautiful. I've travelled throughout the Bahamas because of my job and have seen alot of hotels. This is my #1 recommendation for Great Exuma.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Fully supporting the other recent reviews for Pam Bay. A great laid-back and small resort with clean and very comfortable accommodation. We spent a week in unit 36, a wonderful, immaculate two-story condominium. Used one of the mooring balls for our 19' whaler - no fuss. Splash is ok with a typical bar food menu, and most of the staff are friendly and highly accommodating. The same with the front desk service, and Beverly is a star (in stark contrast to one other front desk lady who gave a whole new meaning to the term "indifference").
All in all a wonderful, unpretentious and cozy resort that forces you to take a deep breath, relax and actually enjoy Island Time - and that's a good thing!

Room Tip: Depending on your party, but go for the two-story units if you can. Wonderful, spacious and very cle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Excellent place! Accommodation was more than I expected, very new, comfortable and well furbished cottages and extremely clean. We had also a great terrace with a fantastic view to the sea. This is one of the very few places that looked better that what I saw in the internet!!!! Service was correct but I must say that the "friendliness level" varied very much depending who was serving breakfast or who was sitting in the reception. Some were extremely friendly others just correct but made no extra effort. Food is decent but the choice is limited. However, it is like this in the entire island. This island is not a place for foodies! From the hotel you can take great excursions to incredibly beautiful beaches nearby. We rented a boat for 4 days and it was fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Palm Bay Club was an excellent place to stay. Very clean, staff very helpful and friendly and very accomodating. It was great to have a dock for the boat.

They set us up with a grill, so we cooked out every night. There is a lot of room outside not to bother others around you.

Would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We had another perfect week at Palm Bay. We always rent a boat (Minn's) and use the boat the same way you would use a car on another trip. Groceries at Exuma Market are easy with a boat. We spent a delightful week puttering around Elizabeth Harbour and visiting deserted sugar sand beaches. Perfect sleeps at our seaside villa made for a terrific holiday.

Room Tip: Pay more and ask for a beach side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 10 night stay at the Hideaway at Palms Bay. It was our first visit to Great Exuma, and we loved every moment of our vacation! Our room at the Hideaways was much larger than we anticipated - complete with a bedroom, 2 bathrooms, 2 TVs, a full kitchen equipped with stove, fridge/freezer, coffee maker and microwave, and washer and dryer. The suite was very clean, and had everything that we needed.
The staff at the Hideaways at Palm Bay were fabulous! In particular, thank you to Latovia, Kamal, and Theresa who were always so kind to us. Both Latovia and Theresa work at the front desk, and were always happy to answer questions and help us plan our days on Great Exuma. Kamal was the shuttle bus driver, and drove us into George Town on multiple occasions, sharing tips and knowledge with us along the way. Thank you to all 3 of you for being so kind and helpful!
The Hideaways is very conveniently located on the island. The beach in front of the hotel is quite shallow, but the water is turquoise, clear, and warm! The chaise lounges were a lovely way to relax and enjoy a good book and an incredible view! Most days, we walked about 5 minutes along the beach and rounded the corner to Jolly Hall Beach. This is the most amazing beach I have ever seen - we felt like we had walked into a postcard! The hotel is also conveniently located near George Town. The complimentary shuttle leaves every 2 hours, starting at 9am. A couple of times, we didn't’ want to wait 2 hours for the return of the shuttle, and simply took a taxi back to the hotel for $10. Some of the places we enjoyed visiting in George Town were: the Straw Market (these amazing women hand weave straw hats, baskets, and more!), the SandPiper gift shop, the water taxi to Stocking Island, and the Exuma Market for groceries.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hideaways at Palm Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaways at Palm Bay

Address: Jolly Hall Bay at Queens Highway, George Town 00000, Great Exuma
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hideaways at Palm Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beachfront villas & cottages are available in either studio, 1 or 2 bedroom plans and offer full kitchens or kitchenettes. Decorated and designed with tropical charm, amenities include air conditioning, ceiling fans, private bathrooms, televisions, wireless internet access, full service business center including guest computers. Hideaways Exuma is the ideal location for your romantic getaway or family vacation. Weekly rates are available in our hillside villas and studio rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hideaways at Palm Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaways At Palm Bay Hotel Great Exuma
Hideaways At Palm Bay Bahamas/Great Exuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hideaways at Palm Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.