We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where are Tina and Jeff?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Augusta Bay Bahamas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Augusta Bay Bahamas to your Saves list
Augusta Bay Bahamas
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Queens Hwy, Mile Marker 1.2 West, P.O. Box EX-29180, George Town, Great Exuma (Formerly Beach Inn Exuma)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 George Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Where are Tina and Jeff?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

We were there in August and are coming back to the island (rental house) at Christmas w/the whole family. Tina and Jeff and the Beach Inn were amazing and we were planning on dinners at the Beach Inn at Christmas. Now it's Augusta Bay. Anyone know what's up?

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    59
    21
    4
    5
See reviews for
25
125
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

After 9 days on a sailboat- I was ready for a night on land. We stumbled upon the Beach Inn and fell in love with it. The place is a cozy, upscale, comfortable inn. The pool area and rooms are gorgeous in a comfortable, luxurious way. Brewer, Tina, and Jeff were absolutely amazing hosts! If you go to Georgetown, this is the ONLY place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEXAS
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

Same great place , however new owners and new name." Augusta Bay Bahamas" formally the Beach Inn.
Same great place , great staff, great food , great beaches, still the best place in Exuma.

A must stay for everyone who is going to Exuma !!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

I am female travelling with a guy friend.

It's a little ways to town. We managed to hitch rides from locals, some of the staff was kind enough to give us a short ride (rainy season- we were the only ones staying at the hotel - Jun 2009).

Room 18 was really nice- view of the ocean, your own hammocks and an end unit... it was renovated and spacious. The kitchen has a chef who was formerly of the Four Seasons resort on the island (closed in early 2009). He was really nice and creative. Keep in mind all the produce is flown in and many ingredients used are not always available depending on the season/weather/delivery, etc.

Great amenities: Hobie cat- if you know how to sail, 2 kayaks to go across the water to the local hangout, pool, wi-fi (in restaurant area), great chef (they are supposed to expand menu and hours), AC (in some rooms).

Loved the comfy room, staff, and boats! Disliked the mosquitos (prob just during rainy season).

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visiting EXUMA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

This is without a doubt one of the best kept secrets in the Bahamas!! Beautiful hotel, Tommy Bahama room decor, Frameless glass showers, granite counter tops, spacious balcony's with comfy cushioned chairs over looking the crystal clear water. Hobie cat,kyaks, sparkling pool, internet access, Wii games in the lobby, great food,drinks and most of all Super Friendly Owners (Tina & Jeff)who were so much fun to be around !! They made sure we saw and did as much as we wanted to while spending hours soaking up the sun and lounging in the pool. Make sure you have Jeff & Tina get you over to Chat & Chill's 1.8 miles across to Stocking Island from your pool deck (they have a very reasonable boat capt .that will pick you up from the hotel's beach and take you across..so much fun !! Sunday Pig Roast) . We spent the Labor Day weekend 3 nights/4 days and hated to leave all the other hotel guests that weekend were equally amazed with the Beach Inn and the great Hosts......We Will be Back !!

Tina/Jeff : We will post great photos soon as we dig out from being away !! We look fwd to sharing them with some of the other guests we met that weekend too !!

Wendy & Rick

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raleigh, nc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

I would recommend and have recommended this hotel to anyone looking for a great getaway with or without the kids.

We rented a house on Exuma from a diabetes auction in Raleigh, NC. So we took off to Exuma knowing little or nothing about the island.

Although we had an incredible house with its own pool we ended up spending most of our time at the Beach Inn.. One of the reasons we spent most of our time at the Beach Inn was the owners, Jeff and Tina, (now called Uncle Jeff and Aunt Tina by our children) are so gracious and friendly. They let the kids play WII in the restaurant overlooking the pool.

Another reason we spent so much time at the Beach Inn was the snorkeling right out their back door. Jeff and Tina let us use their beach to snorkel from. They even gave us towels and sunscreen to use. Class.

The kids got to swim in the pool while I used the morning to enjoy my coffee and use the free wifi to catch up at the office.

We took a tour of the rooms for our next visit and they are unmatched. Seriously. The bedrooms are very nice and the bathrooms are spa like in all the rooms. You won't be disappointed.

Can't wait to go back.c

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

Outstanding! The service was excellent, the dinner delicious and Jeff and Tina made us feel very welcome. Thanks for a great evening! Pat and Mango: Toronto

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Augusta Bay Bahamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augusta Bay Bahamas

Address: Queens Hwy, Mile Marker 1.2 West, P.O. Box EX-29180, George Town, Great Exuma (Formerly Beach Inn Exuma)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Augusta Bay Bahamas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate 16-suite beachfront boutique resort on one of Exuma's prettiest coves. Reopened in 2009 following a lavish makeover. Augusta Bay is an exclusive boutique HOTEL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Augusta Bay Bahamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Augusta Bay Bahamas Hotel Great Exuma
Augusta Bay Bahamas Great Exuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Augusta Bay Bahamas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.