We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Augusta Bay Bahamas

Save Saved
You added Augusta Bay Bahamas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Augusta Bay Bahamas
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Queens Hwy, Mile Marker 1.2 West, P.O. Box EX-29180, George Town, Great Exuma (Formerly Beach Inn Exuma)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 George Town B&B and Inns
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I could not be any more satisfied with our 5ight/6day trip to the Exuma's. Although American Eagle did not deliver our luggage for a day (apparently this is not a rare occurrence - so pack carry-on's wisely), there is not one thing that could have made our experience at Augusta Bay and Exuma's a bad one. From the taxi cab driver, to John the maintenance man and his pup Augusta, to Glen the bartender, and even the bartenders next door - everyone was always willing to help and make your vacation enjoyable! Augusta Bay's views are not only gorgeous, but the room is perfect and makes for a comfortable nights sleep! The pool and kayaks are a nice perk as well as the perfect snorkel location right below Augusta Bay's own dock. We rented a boat from Minn's Water Sports (highly suggest!) for the duration of our trip and it was very convenient to be able to just pull up and tie up our boat less than 100 yards from our room on Augusta Bay's dock. I could never say enough great things about this hotel and George Town (center of town is a $10 cab ride away and fish fry's are walking distance - not bad!) and it's people in general. I've already referred all of my friends and family and I hope to return one day. Note - if you are someone who needs top notch amenities and Sandals like events, you will walk away unsatisfied. This hotel and location is perfect to check out from the world and truly enjoy the person/people you are with!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    51
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
23
103
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

we had a great honeymoon week at Augusta bay. Most of our great time is do to the great people and staff like Glen the bartender, Al the bartender and taxi driver, Monica our helpful hostess, Tonya concierge and Minn's water sport sales person. I forget the names of all the others who helped us have a great stay, however their personality and character we will not forget. Augusta bay offers a room, beach, dock, pool, food, and bar that is comfortable enough to spend a full day just relaxing. We wanted to explore the the people, island, and culture.
Day1, taxi to Augusta bay and was greeted and welcomed by name. We got settled in and took a short walk to Jolly hall beach, looking at the numerous fish under the Augusta bay dock and taking in the 365 degrees of paradise views that the residents of Exuma take for granted as can be seen by the amount of trash along the roads and beaches that are not connected to the hotels. I have heard from other people that Exuma is one of the cleanest of Bahamas out islands. A very well prepared dinner (4star) from a great menu with some Kaliks ended our first day of adventure as we were still jet lagged from the morning arrival.
Day 2 started with the ample complementary breakfast and coffee with an extra order of pancakes, bacon and eggs. Car rental was arranged by the front desk and delivered. We were nervous about driving on the roads and being on European side of the road but quickly realized it was easy and would opt for at least a 2nd day with the car. Augusta bay is perfectly located to explore the island and George town. George town has a grocery store to get supplies and a little cooler we were able to put some drinks and water in for our exploring. We stumbled on tropic of cancer beach by taking the large dirt road up and over a hill that was about a mile from the end of the road at little Exuma. The end of the beach had some snorkeling. Thanks to purchasing some sockwa's for our feet we could walk like we were barefoot on very sharp rocks without a problem and no need for fins. On our way back we ate at the famous Santana's hut and was offered by some locals to help them try and catch one of the black tip, lemon, or bull sharks that were swimming by. This area of the island faces the open Atlantic and is not protected by shallow water and Elizabeth harbor so sharks come by looking for food. He was able to hook one but it cut the line. A bottle of champagne on ice was left in our room for our honeymoon gift from the staff at Augusta bay.
Day 3 we drove the other direction toward Paradise point. This is the only area of the island that has more than one road going in different direction, however they will all lead you back to the main road. We stopped at many historical sites, beach and ocean views but didn't stop at a place that had any decent snorkeling. We went back to Augusta bay to get freshened up and drove out to the catch a fire for a great meal, dancing to live music with "Bahama Obama".
Day 4 we picked up our boat from Minn's water sports and took it over to stocking island and the chat and chill. The 15' boat had no problem as the water in Elizabeth harbor was rather calm but the 60 HP 2 stroke with a beat up, dented prop ran like a 25HP motor. We could only get it up to speed if we went down wind or the water was perfectly flat. We had a great time at the chat and chill but our first tank of gas was already empty on our way back to dock it at Augusta bay.
Day 5 was our only disappointing day as the wind was coming up through the harbor and was too choppy to take the boat out. We tried anyway but with the motor not able to produce enough power we didn't feel confidant that we could keep the water from coming over the bow so we took it back to Augusta bay. A cab ride to George town and hanging out at Augusta bay, Jolly hall beach, and Friday night life provided by Glen at Frankie bananas on the dock of Augusta bay saved our otherwise disappointing day by not being able to take the boat out.
Day 6 our last day with the boat we headed to Minn's to fuel up and even though the water was still a little choppy it was manageable to take it to Crab Cay were the water is more protected from the wind and Atlantic. We didn't leave our room soon enough in the morning and missed out on room service for the day. We found several beaches we had all to ourselves, reef structures for snorkeling, turtles, and more great views. Minns's was accomidating with making an adjustment for our rental day that had the poor weather. Monica hooked us up with coffee and towels to get us through the next morning for missing our room service. If i were to do it again i would choose a larger boat if i could afford it. I dont feel we got our moneys worth with the boat rental as the windy day would have been our only full day with the boat. Dinner, drinks, and nightlife at the fish fry shacks just a couple hundred yards from Augusta bay was great.
Day 7 our last full day on the island we had Augusta bay arrange a full day tour with coastline adventures with Bob as our hard working captain. We had a great day and this trip was the icing on the cake. We swam with nurse sharks, stingrays, thunder ball grotto, and the trip beat all my expectations. He made sure his cooler was stocked with beer, drinks and rum punch. After we stopped for snorkeling he always took a mop around the deck so people would not slip. He is a little fast paced as he wants everyone to get as much out of the trip as possible. He even swam 50 yards over to a yacht to pick up some plastic spoons for the conch salad he made in exchange for checking there prop that was stuck in a sand bar. Awesome day!
Day 8 departure day, we had our normal breakfast that had already been called "the usual" by the staff at Augusta bay(order of pancakes). A trip to George town for family gifts from the straw market and watching the boats get loaded into the water for the family island regatta finished out our stay on Exuma and Augusta bay.
The rooms at Augusta bay are very nice. You may find that the lamps and furniture have a wobble to them but that is reasonable considering buildings on the beach have to battle hurricane season, erosion, wind, and moisture that changes the shape of wood products. For those who complained about no hot water you were in to much of a hurry. Augusta bay obviously has a central water heating system and we just have to wait a little for the hat water to reach your room. If you can't wait a minute than just take what you would call a cold shower. The truly cold water on the island is in a glass with ice. We are so thankful to find Augusta bay to introduce us to the real Bahamas. We are so happy we didn't choose to spend our honeymoon in Hawaii, or Mexico. The money in Bahamas is 1 to 1 with US and using cash will save you in the long run however using credit or charging to the room is very easy. The island restaurants do incorporate for your convenience a 15% gratuity.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Was forced (poor me) to spend the night in Great Exuma a few weeks ago while waiting for our charter sail boat to arrive. I didn't want to break the bank but def. wanted something comfortable and safe - as I was traveling solo. I had checked out August Bay the night before on Bahamas.com but was not sold until the girls at the Airport Car Rental convinced me. Sure enough the place was perfect - great location, extremely friendly staff. The woman at the front desk dropped nearly $100 off the advertised room rate because I was a walk-in and had checked in after 6pm. Great place to stay for boaters in transit looking for a bit more than just a place to rest their tired feet!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

United airways paid for our family to stay at Augusta Bay for one night due to overbooked flights. I will start with a positive, their buffet on Friday night is awesome! Ok, now for the down side. We had zero hot water. Yes, we took ice cold showers! Air conditioning was working poorly, and my sweater got caught on the broken metal bed frame. We stayed in rooms 206,207. Oh yeah, there is a sign in your room that's states if your room smells like food, you will be charged 100.00. Also, if you change the thermostat, you will be charged 100.00. Definitely not worth 300.00 per night! Before our flight was canceled, we stayed for six nights right next door at the Palm Bay Hideaways. Our condo was super clean, updated, spacious, staff was so friendly and the owner couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful! Our stay was the first week of April,2013. I hope this helps! :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweetle, Owner at Augusta Bay Bahamas, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
I have read the review by Amanda B and I can surely say that her complaints are unfounded. Firstly she does not state which room she is referring to. Secondly, the room rate that she states is incorrect . Lastly, we did not receive one complaint from either party occupying the rooms in question. The rooms are all linked to a central hot water system and not one guest ( we were fully booked ) complained about the lack of hot water. Our air conditioners are set at 74 degrees which is an acceptable standard for hotel rooms. If the air conditioners are turned lower, the outside pipes freeze and the unit will shut down, requiring a technician to make a 'house call' the next day. I noted that Amanda B was wearing a sweater, which tells us that the room was pretty cool. The steel shard from the bedpost ( that hooked Amanda B's sweater) has been filed and we will gladly replace her sweater - we did not receive a complaint about this. We do not encourage guests to bring food to their rooms. Two minutes walk from our hotel is a delightful complex, housing various Bahamian vendors selling food, which is aptly named The Fish Fry. There is ample seating at the Fish Fry, but in the past guests have brought fried food back to their rooms. The end result is that fried food is spilt on the bedspreads and furniture and the smell of fried food gets imbedded in the linen and curtains, which is unfair to future guests and management - hence the cleaning fee. We do our utmost to ensure our guests a wonderful experience, but cannot deal with guest complaints, if we are not aware of the problem.
Ian Wright. Owner Augusta Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I really liked the small-ness and relaxed vibe of this hotel. LaTroy was there to welcome us, it was a pleasure to meet someone who truly enjoys his job and gives exceptional service. I even got a huge hug from him when we were leaving :) Also adding a shout-out to Glen the bartender, who pours a great Bacardi Añejo. We got a screaming deal through Air Canada vacations, so I can't say much about value if you pay cover price for your stay here. Apparently the hotel was booked out for Easter week, however it was super quiet and I kind of wondered where everyone was, were they all hiding in their rooms? I didn't go in the (tiny) pool but paddling around in the sea out front was great, high or low tide. If you have little kids you can teach them how to swim here as you've got to walk out quite a way to get to deeper water. As other reviewers have said, there is a beautiful, long beach an easy walk away. It's pretty clean if you go in that direction, but walking toward George Town there is a lot of garbage on the beach and on the roads. I thought the food at Augusta Bay was good, I didn't have a bad meal here but I am more into drinking beer and snacking... on that note it is too bad there are no grocery stores within walking distance. The fish fry is fun, I got some Bahamian culture drinking Kaliks while watching some old guys play dominoes. Also met some lovely people at the bar in Augusta Bay, that was probably the highlight of my stay there was the friendliness of the locals we met. Thank you, Exuma.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The staff and beautiful location made our experience at Augusta Bay wonderful.

We arrived very early (7 am), well before check-in time and our room was occupied. And we were exhausted having had only a couple hours sleep in Nassau. The front desk guy really went out of his way to make us comfortable though. He brought us pillows and blankets and we sacked out on the chaise lounges by the pool. After a snooze for an hour or two he woke us and escorted us to our readied room where he had moved our luggage. He left us and said after we had time to chill out we should come check in formally. Wow - so relaxed!

Our room was spacious, clean and inviting. We had a little patio that opened up to the pool area and was a great, shady spot to relax.

The bar and dining area felt like something out of a Hemingway novel or old movie. In general, the food itself is good, but not spectacular - on par with other dining in Exuma. The lobster was very good, but not fresh as we were past season.

You will probably want to rent a car or use taxis to get to George Town or explore. I walked in to George Town and back one day and it didn't feel safe due to fast traffic whizzing by, and there's no real sidewalk. A cab to town is $10 one way.

Their beach is small, but you can walk over a mile north past other properties. And it was fun to snorkel around the little bay.

I highly recommend Augusta Bay for a romantic, sleepy getaway.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ijamsville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Great Exuma. Most staff were very friendly. Exceptional service from Latroy. In the evening service seemed a bit stressed and disorganized, the owner (Ian) was away so maybe they were struggling without his leadership. Puzzled by the barman, not super helpful or attentive - he could have sold a lot more drinks if he'd been more aware of glasses that needed refilled. Good views out to the east and nice dock where you can get a ride from Elvis out to Stocking Island each day. Close to great beach Jolly Hall which is an easy walk along the shore. Sad to see trash lying along the hotel beach, 5 mins each day would make such a difference but that is the paradox of the Bahamas for you. Really disappointed in the food, with it's location you would expect some really good seafood options but catch of the day was "Tillapia" (freshwater fish from the US), to get better food we hear you need to go to one of the shacks. Room smelled musty and we met people who had stayed in the same room and complained of the same problem. Augusta Bay was above average (not by much though) but so easily could be much better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweetle, Owner at Augusta Bay Bahamas, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Unfortunately, as the owner of Augusta Bay, I was in South Africa at the time of this guest's stay. I agree wholeheartedly that Tilapia should not (and will not) be on our menu in the Bahamas.. I believe that due to high winds, the local fisherman were unable to offer us fresh catch and our chef was only able to order Tilapia in Nassau. I will also investigate the complaint about the rooms. We are extremely busy at this time of the year and there is no reason for rooms to smell musty. We are fully booked every week end and the rooms are cleaned and airated on a daily basis. This will be investigated. Our bartender, Glen, is recognized as the premier barman on the island and normally getsvgreat reviews on Trip Advisor. Patrons come from far and wide to enjoy hits service and company. I will certainly be giving him a copy of this review to digest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Augusta Bay Bahamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augusta Bay Bahamas

Address: Queens Hwy, Mile Marker 1.2 West, P.O. Box EX-29180, George Town, Great Exuma (Formerly Beach Inn Exuma)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Augusta Bay Bahamas 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate 16-suite beachfront boutique resort on one of Exuma's prettiest coves. Reopened in 2009 following a lavish makeover. Augusta Bay is an exclusive boutique HOTEL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Augusta Bay Bahamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Augusta Bay Bahamas Hotel Great Exuma
Augusta Bay Bahamas Great Exuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Augusta Bay Bahamas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.