We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best breakfast and friendly host and hostess,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wern Ganol Guest House

Wern Ganol Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nelson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wern Ganol Guest House
Save
You added Wern Ganol Guest House to your Saves list
Caerphilly Road, Nelson CF466PS, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Nelson B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“best breakfast and friendly host and hostess,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Having stayed here before we were delighted to be able to visit Wern Ganol again. We will be there next time we visit our relatives in Wales. We were able to visit the beautiful Gower from here and Caerphilly is always worth a visit, and the castell should not be missed!

Room Tip: they are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
10
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, West Sussex
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed for two nights at Wern Ganol, and enjoyed out stay. We had a double and a single room, and while compact, both were really nicely decorated with contemporary colours and finishing touches. The beds were very comfortable too.

The full Welsh breakfast was probably the best we've had in a b and b anywhere, and the hosts friendly and helpful about the local area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We have just spent two nights at Wern Ganol, it was a return visit. Wern Ganol is a superb bed and breakfast in every way. Andrew and Carolyn are the perfect hosts and their home the perfect bed and breakfast. Rooms are spotlessly clean, all the equipment is 'up to the minute', beds comfy, good hospitality tray, and the breakfast second to none. We always use Wern Ganol when we are visiting relations in the valleys, but it is ideally placed for whatever your reason to be in South Wales! We will be back again soon.
L & M Carter, Sheffield

Room Tip: Room 6 has a lovely view of the valleys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My mum and i stayed in this lovely guest house over weekend, she had stayed here 20 yrs ago and the character and charm of the place hadnt changed one bit!.It was delightful, the room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was delicious!!
Would definately recommend so friendly with a warm welcome see you again sometime but shant wait 20yrs!

Sandra&Christine

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

WOW, What a lovely place! Came across this B and B on the internet we booked in for a two night stay to attend a friends wedding, after travelling 3 and 1/2 hours we were given a warm welcome! Taken to our room which was not only spotlessly clean but, had superb views over the valleys. The breakfast was excellent too, freshly cooked to order.

This really is a fabulous place and could show some of the top hotels a thing or two!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I recently stayed at this guest house and found it to be very clean, very comfortable and received a warm welcome when I arrived. I payed £45 for 1 night in a single room and this also included breakfast. The breakfast menu was varied and included options for a full cooked breakfast, cereals, toast and lots of other alternatives, I had scrambled egg on toast which was very good indeed.
I would definitely stay at Wern Ganol again and would also recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

stayed here for 3 nights in june. rooms are large,rustic and spotless. we were so comfortable! breakfasts were freshly made and very good. Andrew and Caroline were lovely and nothing to much bother for them. House is set in nice countryside but only about a mile from Nelson. Handy for Cardiff and Caerphilly. There is a good pub across the road and although we didn't eat there, it was quite busy so it can't be too bad. Even the weather couldn't distract from our stay here and I would highly recommend WERN GANOL

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wern Ganol Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wern Ganol Guest House

Address: Caerphilly Road, Nelson CF466PS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Caerphilly County > Nelson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wern Ganol Provides Accommodation within Caerphilly, South Wales. Set in its own grounds in the heart of the Welsh valleys and enjoying panoramic views of open countryside. Centrally located near Caerphilly, Pontypridd, Merthyr Tydfil, Cardiff and the Brecon Beacons, Wern Ganol is an ideal location for business or pleasure. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wern Ganol Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.