We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luna Azul is my blue heaven!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luna Azul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Luna Azul to your Saves list
Hotel Luna Azul
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 km north of Nosara, Ostional 50306, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ostional
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Luna Azul is my blue heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

We arrived at the end of a 2-week stay and were rejuvenated and relaxed by our stay at Luna Azul. The cabinas are well laid out and throughout the entire facility there are touches of beauty and whimsy to be discovered - the lipstick palm trees, baby pineapples growing, pineapples decorating the top of ceiling fans, and lovely handcrafts. We all absolutely loved the food and ate all our dinners here. The food is locally grown and prepared to highlight the quality of the ingredients. Our trips were scheduled by Rolf who took great care of us and we were the only guests on a trip to see birds and on a trip to see sea turtles. On our sea turtle tour we also saw and followed a humpback whale and her baby. We were so well taken care of that I did not want to leave and I definitely will return whenever I'm in Costa Rica. It is an adventure to get to Luna Azul on a dirt road that crosses several streams, but it was not a problem in a 4-wheel drive vehicle.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    6
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
67
145
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jaco, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

The hosts of the hotel were really wonderful and you counldnt ask for more. My husband and I really had a merorable time and would definatley come back. The pool and ground were very well maintained and the food in the restaruant was outstanding. Come for the food alone.
Chris and Mick

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

We found this lovely place when surfing on internet. You cannot trace it on Tour Operator brochured or withThird Party Intermediaries. Rolf and Adreas, our Swiss hosts, prefer a direct contact with their clientele and the level of caring correspondance prior to our venue shows it!

The place reminds me of an increadible lodge we had been few years back for a Safari in Kenya. The same atmosphere and open spaces concept. You get at Luna Azul the best food you can find in Guanacaste and they make you feel like at home.

There is lots do do and to see (turtles, canopy zip lines, birds watching etc) or one can simply enjoy the tranquillity of the pool.

Mind you. Beaches are not within walking distance. If you do not mind driving for 20 minutes there are some very nice ones (playa Pelada is our preferred one) not too far away.

We will be back one day!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

After days of travelling around by car we spent a few days at this welcoming, enjoyable
and amazing place, which is surrounded by jungle. The location is tastefully furnished and decorated and makes you feel very comfortable. We found it an ideal good place to relax and were surprised at the absolutely delicious food, which we did not expect at all. We also took the opportunity to profit of the possible activities in the region as turtle watching (absolutely fascinating!!!), swimming in the pacific (refreshing) or a tour through the mangroves (beware the crocodiles). Rolf and Andreas, the owners were very helpful to find us the right places to go. Luna Azul, definitely a place to come back to!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

I was pleased to return to the Luna Azul after staying there in 2008. This is a wonder boutique hotel in a wild setting. It is refined, but casual... elegant but comfortable. The food is of the highest quality... and delicious. I was happy to return and was not disappointed... this is a good test of a hotel.. can it maintain its quality? The Luna Azul has. I highly recommend this hotel. It is not on the beach but a short drive to two beautiful beaches. We saw hatchling turtles at one beach (Rolf gave us directions of where to look... he was right, the beach began to bubble baby turtles). This was a highlight of our trip...The drive to the beach was not a big deal. I actually like staying on the hillside.. cool breezes and the view... We never used the a/c. The pool is lovely. It is the perfect getaway spot... go!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Our experience at Luna Azul was fantastic from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. Andreas and Rolf have built an amazing place. The facility was second to none, as were the meals. We were very happy to have selected this hotel and look forward to going back!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

while in the past it may have been a good place to stay today hte owners have lost it.

i was given a room viewing a car park and a kitchen, they tried to take a comission on the taxi ride from the airport, when i found better accomodations they tried to charge me 13 days when i had stayed 2 !!!!

the food was poor and service excruciatingly slow, you sometimes had to wait 55 minutes for food you ordered to reach you...

it is very far from the beaches, there are better options in Nosara walking distance from the beach with good tempered staff and much better accomodations.

really to be avoided unless you want to sit amongst boring middle aged silent mostly swiss german clients, over pay and have to haul it to the beaches in long car ride.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellunaazul, Owner at Hotel Luna Azul, responded to this review, January 29, 2011
Dear guest,

We cannot really follow your thoughts: when you contacted us for a reservation, we told you that our bungalows are fully booked and that you would have to take the room in the main building. This room has a king size bed, A/C, ceiling fan, safe deposit box, fridge, WiFi, the bedroom and the bathroom have 2 windows each. The rate is 50% of a bungalow. The room goes on one side to the garden, on the other side to the parking lot. You confirmed that you want to book this room, because you wanted to visit your friends who stayed at the same time in our hotel (by the way, they have been our guests several times in the past). Together with you we agreed that you will move into one of our bungalows as soon as one will become available. At the same time you were informed that this won`t be the case for another 7 days, because everything was sold out. Fully aware of all this, you made a reservation for 14 days. The first day you didn`t show up at all, then you stayed for 2 nights and on the next day you wanted to check out “without any further charge”. We accepted this - even though it was against our cancellation policy - just to avoid any further unpleasant discussions. Who has got a reason to complain here?

You are the first guest ever complaining about the food in our Restaurant. Have a look at all the reviews on Tripadvisor – any negative? But: “de gustibus non est disputandum”, every person has his own taste, no discussion. Our Restaurant is one of the most popular dinner places in the Nosara area and often our tables are fully booked. We do our best to serve everybody as fast as possible, but sometimes it is inevitable that guests have to wait a little bit. People come to beautiful Costa Rica to feel the “pura vida” vibe and to get rid of the stress in their professional lives, so this isn`t really an issue for our guests normally.

As you could have seen on our website, our hotel is not located on the beach, but uphill from the Ostional Turtle Refuge. Our guests like the view over the green valleys and to the ocean, the nice breeze and the wonderful wildlife in and around the hotel. It`s only a short drive to 2 beautiful beaches.

The price you had to pay for the taxi transfer from the airport was the normal standard fare, no commission at all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Luna Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna Azul

Address: 8 km north of Nosara, Ostional 50306, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Ostional
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ostional
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Luna Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luna Azul Boutique Hotel in Ostional is one of the jewels on the Guanacaste Gold Coast: A small, very private lodge with a spectacular main lobby and elegant, colourful bungalows offering absolute tranquility and relaxation. Big terraces open to a jungle full of wildlife and the outdoor showers are a thrill for every nature lover. Relax on the pool terrace with gorgeous views over the surrounding nature reserve and to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Luna Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Luna Azul Costa Rica/Ostional

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luna Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.