We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy returning customer... love the Luna Azul” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luna Azul

Save Saved
You added Hotel Luna Azul to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Luna Azul
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 km north of Nosara, Ostional 50306, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save on Tour tickets
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ostional
Salt Lake City
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Happy returning customer... love the Luna Azul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

I was pleased to return to the Luna Azul after staying there in 2008. This is a wonder boutique hotel in a wild setting. It is refined, but casual... elegant but comfortable. The food is of the highest quality... and delicious. I was happy to return and was not disappointed... this is a good test of a hotel.. can it maintain its quality? The Luna Azul has. I highly recommend this hotel. It is not on the beach but a short drive to two beautiful beaches. We saw hatchling turtles at one beach (Rolf gave us directions of where to look... he was right, the beach began to bubble baby turtles). This was a highlight of our trip...The drive to the beach was not a big deal. I actually like staying on the hillside.. cool breezes and the view... We never used the a/c. The pool is lovely. It is the perfect getaway spot... go!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    235
    6
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
59
137
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Our experience at Luna Azul was fantastic from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. Andreas and Rolf have built an amazing place. The facility was second to none, as were the meals. We were very happy to have selected this hotel and look forward to going back!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

while in the past it may have been a good place to stay today hte owners have lost it.

i was given a room viewing a car park and a kitchen, they tried to take a comission on the taxi ride from the airport, when i found better accomodations they tried to charge me 13 days when i had stayed 2 !!!!

the food was poor and service excruciatingly slow, you sometimes had to wait 55 minutes for food you ordered to reach you...

it is very far from the beaches, there are better options in Nosara walking distance from the beach with good tempered staff and much better accomodations.

really to be avoided unless you want to sit amongst boring middle aged silent mostly swiss german clients, over pay and have to haul it to the beaches in long car ride.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellunaazul, Owner at Hotel Luna Azul, responded to this review, January 29, 2011
Dear guest,

We cannot really follow your thoughts: when you contacted us for a reservation, we told you that our bungalows are fully booked and that you would have to take the room in the main building. This room has a king size bed, A/C, ceiling fan, safe deposit box, fridge, WiFi, the bedroom and the bathroom have 2 windows each. The rate is 50% of a bungalow. The room goes on one side to the garden, on the other side to the parking lot. You confirmed that you want to book this room, because you wanted to visit your friends who stayed at the same time in our hotel (by the way, they have been our guests several times in the past). Together with you we agreed that you will move into one of our bungalows as soon as one will become available. At the same time you were informed that this won`t be the case for another 7 days, because everything was sold out. Fully aware of all this, you made a reservation for 14 days. The first day you didn`t show up at all, then you stayed for 2 nights and on the next day you wanted to check out “without any further charge”. We accepted this - even though it was against our cancellation policy - just to avoid any further unpleasant discussions. Who has got a reason to complain here?

You are the first guest ever complaining about the food in our Restaurant. Have a look at all the reviews on Tripadvisor – any negative? But: “de gustibus non est disputandum”, every person has his own taste, no discussion. Our Restaurant is one of the most popular dinner places in the Nosara area and often our tables are fully booked. We do our best to serve everybody as fast as possible, but sometimes it is inevitable that guests have to wait a little bit. People come to beautiful Costa Rica to feel the “pura vida” vibe and to get rid of the stress in their professional lives, so this isn`t really an issue for our guests normally.

As you could have seen on our website, our hotel is not located on the beach, but uphill from the Ostional Turtle Refuge. Our guests like the view over the green valleys and to the ocean, the nice breeze and the wonderful wildlife in and around the hotel. It`s only a short drive to 2 beautiful beaches.

The price you had to pay for the taxi transfer from the airport was the normal standard fare, no commission at all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

This place is great. Remote (we drove through 4 rivers to get there) and peaceful. The owners were very friendly and gave us daily updates on the turtles, and helped us find things in the area. Its a short drive to a beautiful empty beach for snorkeling in one direction, and the turtle beach in the other. The balcony was great for watching wildlife and the jungle. The open air bathrooms are a little weird (and the shower's a little chilly when the wind blows!) but if you don't mind a few leaves and ants around, its pretty cool. The room itself was very comfortable and impeccably clean.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

By far the best place we stayed in during our two weeks in Costa Rica. The location is amazing, surrounded by a nature preserve full of birds and monkeys with the ocean visible in the distance. Rooms are large and comfortable with outdoor showers and a large deck. Grounds are immaculate and beautiful. Infinity pool and open air lounge is well designed and quite intimate. Food is excellent - in addition to breakfast, we ate three dinners there and nothing was repeated on the menu. Both food and wine are moderately priced.
The best part of staying at Luna Azul are its hosts. Rolf and Andreas, are friendly (as is the third host, mono - the black lab) , super helpful and will not steer you wrong. Our only regret is that we were there for only three nights and not longer. The location is not within walking distance of anything so you will need a car - preferably a 4x4. See other reviews for how to get there, beaches etc.
The one thing that could add to the experience is an in room coffee maker for early risers. Do not get misled by the B&B designation - Luna Azul is much more than that.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

Getting there: Beaches and Luna Azul was part of a longer Costa Rican vacation, from the USA, which included the Arenal Volcano and Monteverde Cloud Forest. Nov. 14-16, 2010 (off season) was our short time at Hotel Luna Azul (“Blue Moon”). However the hospitality at Luna Azul began long before then, with multiple emails confirming/re-confirming our reservations and responding to my many questions/concerns about travel, the area, language issues, flights, etc.

The approach to the hotel was essentially uneventful (from the north) with our rental 4x4 Toyota Rav4. The dirt/gravel roads were in quite good repair! There were multiple signs for Luna Azul on the approach road, an odd situation for Costa Rica where road signs are few. The challenge (to us) was the first time traversing small rivers where there was no bridge. Fortunately we were at the tail end of the rainy season, and torrential rains that flooded rivers two weeks prior (and damaged the Marbella bridge) had settled down. Waters were (in some places) up to 1.5 ft deep; the water was always gently flowing. Caveat: A 4x4 vehicle with good clearance is a must! Watch the local Ticos first, and learn from them! Follow their path, go slow, go steady, and don’t stop. Traversing rivers without a bridge soon became commonplace and more fun than a challenge. Definitely worth the challenge to get to Luna Azul!

Accommodations: Luna Azul is about 8 years old, and thus everything is quite new and modern… and different! The grounds are well maintained, and the facilities immaculate! There are several (but few) bungalow style private accommodations… none with room numbers! Each room has its own name (ours was “Tropical”) and decor, with a different carving in the light fixture at the main door. Large sliding glass doors provide access to your private patio overlooking undeveloped jungle. The private restroom was semi-enclosed and protected but essentially outside, and open air. The lack of other development in the vicinity was good because the shower was quite open to the wilderness… “one with nature”! The large bed was comfortable… not too hard, not too soft. Upon waking, the view was of the jungle and, in the distance, the shore of Pacific Ocean. The sounds you hear are those of the Howler Monkeys in the jungle, as well as the waves crashing on the sandy beaches and rocky outcroppings.

If you need a TV and phone in the room, this is not your place to stay… there are none (at least in our room). We had no time for TV, and didn’t need/want to call anyone! However, cell phones worked well at the hotel.



Hospitality: Exceptional. Most places have staff attending to your needs. At Luna Azul, although a small staff was available, the two owners (from Switzerland) are seemingly always available to talk, provide guidance and local knowledge, and also to prepare and serve your meals! Their roadside signs boast “Gourmet Restaurant” …this is an understatement! Although in a relatively remote setting, we’ve not had better meals anywhere. The menu changes daily, and with about 80 specialty items in their repertoire, you’re not likely to have the same thing twice… unless you request it.

Activities: Rolf and Andreas are eager to help you with scheduling excursions and activities. We missed the Olive Ridley sea turtle arribada, for which the nearby beaches of Ostional are world famous. Nesting occurs all year, with consistent low level nesting, but the arribada (thousands of turtles at once!) is timed with respect to the full moon… plan ahead! Nearby beaches were essentially deserted, while the beach activity occurs in Playa Guiones where there are shops and lots of surfers. Although other activities are available in the area (e.g., zip lining in Nosara), we had no time to allocate to them.

Luna Azul is not “on the beach”, but rather is a very short drive away from the north end of Playa Ostional, or perhaps a short walk (less than a mile) to a deserted beach. Access to other beaches (e.g., Junquillal, Guiones, etc.) is definitely a drive away. Ticos drive faster than tourists… we found that we had to double the drive times provided by locals (everywhere across Costa Rica). For example, to us it was a casual hour drive from Luna Azul to Nosara while for Ticos the drive was a half hour or so.

Swimming at the nearby Playa Ostional was not recommended at this time of year, due to the undertow and riptides. Swimming was recommended at the beaches of Junquillal to the north or Playa Guionnes to the south, just beyond Nosara.

The relative proximity (1 hr away) of the small Nosara airport is a plus! We left the rental car in Playa Guiones and caught a Nature Air flight from Nosara to the San Jose Tobias Balanos (PAVAS) airport, with a shuttle bus to the other San Jose airport, Juan Santamaria (SJO). For some reason, seashells collected at Playa Guionnes were confiscated by airport (SJO) security staff in San Jose.

Summary: Other locations and people that were visited in Costa Rica were great, and we will likely be back to see more of the country. However, we’ll surely be back to spend more time relaxing and eating at Luna Azul!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

The scenery is beautiful. The food is fantastic, and I'm pretty picky about good food. The owners are excellent hosts. The rooms don't have coffee makers, but they always had it available early in the dining room. There is also internet available in the dining area for people that need to check email. Overall a very romantic and relaxing environment.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Luna Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna Azul

Address: 8 km north of Nosara, Ostional 50306, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Ostional
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ostional
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Luna Azul 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luna Azul Boutique Hotel in Ostional is one of the jewels on the Guanacaste Gold Coast: A small, very private lodge with a spectacular main lobby and elegant, colourful bungalows offering absolute tranquility and relaxation. Big terraces open to a jungle full of wildlife and the outdoor showers are a thrill for every nature lover. Relax on the pool terrace with gorgeous views over the surrounding nature reserve and to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Luna Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Luna Azul Costa Rica/Ostional

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luna Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.