We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luna Azul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Luna Azul to your Saves list
Hotel Luna Azul
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 km north of Nosara, Ostional 50306, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ostional
nebraska
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We must spent 3 nights and had a wonderful stay. We had a king room with a lovely balcony facing into the trees. We could enter the bathroom through the door from our room or from the balcony since it was open to the elements.
Dinner was so good each night with many choices and breakfast was complete and also very good.
We paid an extra $10US for A/C each day but it was worth it for sleeping. There is a ceiling fan in the room and on the balcony so it was possible to be comfortable most of the time but to get the humidity out, the A/C was comfortable to use.
What we really appreciated was how well thought out & executed the total hotel concept
was. Everything was functioning, pleasing to the eye & comfortable.
The hosts were personable and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    6
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
67
145
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My wife and I spent a weekend at Luna Azul and thoroughly enjoyed the best service, facilities, and food that we have experienced and we travel a lot. Rolf and Andreas are very knowledgeable about the area and attention to detail is evident in service and décor.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are very quiet, private, and very romantic for couples. Rolf and Andreas are excel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Arrival after a five hour by car trip (thought "rural" at best roads for the last two hours) was a blessing. Our hosts welcome us kindly and took us to our cabin (two rooms per cabin) where they explained us most of the things about the hotel.

The rooms were big enough and each room has its own private terrace with nice views of the rain forest. the first 'surprise' was that the bathroom was "kind of" outside... By that I mean the walls of the bathroom did not go all the way to the ceiling and that you can go directly (without crossing any door) from your terrace to the bathroom.... What that means ? Well, it means that for example animals (frogs, bugs ... ) can go into the bathroom.

That day we found out that any trip to the beach (or anyway) had a huge cost ($20 per trip, while if they use a meter would have been around $2).

On the positive side our host arrange for us to do a turtle watching at night ($10/person) that was REALLY WORTH IT. We had a lot of fun watching the turtles laying eggs from a few feet away. They also contacted someone to view the turtles on the sea for $70/person (a rip off + taxi) but we arrange something similar with the fishers for $20/person and it was great.

The second "surprise" was to find out that kitchen was close on Tuesdays... So we had to find a place (a use the $20 taxi) to have dinner. This "surprise" was quite unwelcome and I think a nice place as this should have a plan for those nights (barbeque? Sandwiches ?) Nevertheless we were able to eat in a nice soda and latter in a restaurant close by.

The third and latest "surprise" was that the use of AC was NOT included in the price. I just found out in their web place about it but no one told me about it before the check out.... So for me it was way close to a hidden charge (on top of the no cheap $145 + taxes / night).

Breakfast was good but no special (included the bottled orange juice) and dinner was in the same range. Dessert on the other hand was amazing.

PROS: Nice location, helpful hosts

CONS: Outdoors bathroom, You NEED a car, Expensive transportation and no dinner on Tuesdays.

Summary: I don't consider I wasted my money but I will not recommend the place over others in Costa Rica. You need a car to survive there and you can get away staying a single night there to visit all the places around.

Room Tip: All seem to be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellunaazul, Owner at Hotel Luna Azul, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments. Your friends from Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, who were traveling with you, also posted a review on Tripadvisor about a week ago. The author rapeji65 writes (review in Spanish) that for them, the stay at our hotel was „ UNA GOZADA“, which means A TREAT or also FANTASTIC. Your friends joined the 230 other reviewers who gave us an excellent 5 star rating in the past and helped us being hotel number 1 on Tripadvisor in the province of Guanacaste.

You did not like the semi-open outdoor bathroom. For most of our guests that’s one of the highlights of their stay! People come to Costa Rica exactly because of it’s abundant wildlife, they are happy when a frog comes to visit them and also they LOVE to see the birds and monkeys in the trees while taking a shower. An unforgettable experience for many people!

And of course our hotel is remote – this is part of the beauty of the place! Almost all of our guests come here by car – it’s a bumpy, but fun 1 hour ride on a gravel road which is nothing else but the pacific coastal highway, connecting the tourist towns of Samara, Nosara and Tamarindo. You are right, taxi rides are expensive and risk to add up at higher costs than renting a car. You decided to get here with a driver ; it would have been easy to have a rental car delivered to the hotel without any extra transfer costs. We just didn’t get any message from you.

You are right, our dinner restaurant is always closed on Tuesdays. Every employee in Costa Rica has got one day off per week. This is also the case for chefs. We are happy to prepare sandwiches for our guests who do not want to go out on Tuesdays. Again, we just didn’t get any message from you that you didn’t want to leave the hotel going for dinner close by.

All the clients who make their reservation directly with us, get a detailed list before they arrive, with all important information regarding their stay with us. There is no surprise. You made your reservation through a booking site and not directly with us. All these booking sites ALWAYS make the reservation including air conditioning, for which we charge 10 $ per day. We cannot change anything in a reservation which we get through an intermediary. Check the reservation confirmation you got from them and you will see that we charged you exactly the amount confirmed from the booking site.
Our direct clients decide on site only if they want a/c or not ; we always recommend not to use it, for ecological reasons and because there is a nice breeze at night from the rain forest, cooling off the bungalows.

And of course : the turtles are the big „show“ here in Ostional! Happy that you liked seeing them laying eggs on the beach. On the boat tour to the ocean you will always and year round see these wonderful animals in the water. There are in fact two options for this tour: either on a „real“ boat with life vests, toilet, a roof (sun, rain!) and a ladder to go into the water and back if you want to go swimming with the turtles – or: you go on a « nutshell » panga with a local fisherman. Obviously much less safety, no roof, nor any other thing in this case. Version 1 is a tour of 2,5 hours for 75 $ p.p.(including dolphin and whale watching further out in the ocean, drinks and fruit), version 2 is about 1 hour for around 20 $ p.p. You decided for option 2, most people go with option 1. Main thing is that everybody is happy with his tour!

We hope to see you back soon in our remote little paradise !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We planned this vacation last minute and although there are many options, because of the reviews we went with Hotel Luna Azul. Getting to the hotel is a great experience. I live in Costa Rica, but going through the gravel roads made for a very exciting trip. Once there, when you get onto the grounds, it's like going into an oasis. It's a little piece of perfection. Rolf and Andreas have done an excellent job of keeping the hotel in tip top shape.

The main house is beautiful and quaint. It has a different social areas where you can eat, drink and relax.

The pool area is neat and clean with a pool that has a view to the ocean.

There are 7 rooms (casitas). We got the banana room which has a great view into the jungle in the back of the property. On my first morning there, there was a beautiful squirrel with a very long tail having breakfast on a palm right outside my balcony. The howler monkeys were very audible and I was expecting to see one in the vicinity of my room, but the closest I got to one was on a tree across the street from the hotel.

The room was perfect for my family of four. There was a king sized bed and two single beds. The bathroom, as stated everywhere is outside the room. Although it's a great experience showering in a bathroom that is in the middle of a jungle, going out in the middle of the night to use the toilet was a little unnerving for me. Mostly because at night all the bugs come out, but nothing that OFF Deep Jungle can't help with.

Other than that we had a great vacation. There are many beaches to go to that are very close by, so we had the opportunity to see many of them. The hotel is placed perfectly for going to the different beaches, some of them with white sand.

Room Tip: I stayed in the banana room, but I think any room at Hotel Luna Azul would be wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We loved every moment of our stay at Luna Azul Costa Rica. We came there as a family with a 10 and 15 year old. We all enjoyed it. The rooms are lovely, the food is amazing, and Rolf and Andreas, the owners, are not just friendly, but knowledgeable about local food, wildlife and attractions and will happily arrange any tours with reliable local folks. The location is somewhat off the beaten path, exactly what we wanted, but also lets you easily access a variety of beaches, for surfing, for snorkeling, swimming and walking. For example, Ostional turtle beach is less than a mile away. San Juanillo is about 2 miles and good for swimming and snorkeling, Marbella is great for surfing and Nosara is not too far either. You can also enjoy a fabulous pool with great views of the pacific and likely howler monkeys, birds, iguanas, and other wildlife right there.
Can't say enough great things about Luna Azul's food. Breakfast is rich in wonderful tasty fresh fruits, yogurt and granola if you are interested, juice, coffee, plus eggs and traditional gallo pinto (the BEST we had on our trip), and let's not forget about home-made preserves and freshly baked bread!
We traveled in Costa Rica for two weeks and had a great time overall, but we kept comparing our experience to Luna Azul, a high bar that was set in our first week.
We will be back!

Room Tip: tell hotel exactly what you want, they can customize by age of your kids, i.e. number of family memb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

What a great hotel, personalized service, awesome rooms will definitely be back!! Really fantastic what a great weekend. Rooms are bungalows, very unique, restaurant was great and the included breakfast was a feast

Room Tip: We were on the west side awesome overlooking the jungles
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Luna Azul is a beautiful, tranquil oasis on the Pacific Coast of Guanacaste. The place is tidy and nicely landscaped. The infinity pool and the bungalow rooms with open-air showers are really lovely. The hosts and their staff are equally delightful. It’s wonderful dining out on the open veranda with all the sultry sights and sounds of the tropics surrounding you. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here this past April. We found Rolf and Andreas to be exceptional hosts and excellent guides to the Playa Ostional region. They have a wealth of knowledge of the local flora and fauna, and they have plenty of great ideas on what to do and see here during your stay. For example, they recommended a trip where we swam with turtles and sailed alongside humpback whales! I can’t recommend Luna Azul enough. You will not regret staying here. Enjoy living la pura vida! I’m already looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Luna Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna Azul

Address: 8 km north of Nosara, Ostional 50306, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Ostional
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ostional
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Luna Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luna Azul Boutique Hotel in Ostional is one of the jewels on the Guanacaste Gold Coast: A small, very private lodge with a spectacular main lobby and elegant, colourful bungalows offering absolute tranquility and relaxation. Big terraces open to a jungle full of wildlife and the outdoor showers are a thrill for every nature lover. Relax on the pool terrace with gorgeous views over the surrounding nature reserve and to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Luna Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Luna Azul Costa Rica/Ostional

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luna Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.