We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food, great company!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luna Azul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Luna Azul to your Saves list
Hotel Luna Azul
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 km north of Nosara, Ostional 50306, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save on Tour tickets
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ostional
Kamloops
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food, great company!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Dislikes : NONE!

Likes: The food was exceptional, the owners were welcoming and full of information and the ambiance is incredible. Oh and the vegetables were great....Just because someone takes the time to shape their vegetables doesn't mean they came frozen from a bag!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    6
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
67
138
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pachamama, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I have been dining regularly in the restuarant since Luna Azul opened, and many people i know who come to visit the area stay in the bungalows and the best words to describe the experience is THANK YOU... for providing and maintaining such a high standard and consistent delicious goodness in the middle of paradise found. I am fortunate to live near by and am grateful to have such good neighbours and see those who come find a charming, get away from it all, boutique hotel with incredible views of the ocean, yet close enough to drive to the georgous beaches near by and dive in....highly recommended. :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed here with my husband and children, 7 and 9 August 2012 for two nights. My first impression was that this was the Garden of Eden. It was amazing. The food was fabulous. I loved the fish. I had it both nights. I also loved their black beans with rice. Andreas made arrangements for me to go see the Olive Ridely turtles come on shore at midnight. I didn't see any turtles, but it was still a very cool experience. We saw a huge swarm of ants. Andreas explained that the ants were moving to a new location. We saw only one howler monkey. Wish we had seen more. We went to the local beach that Andreas told us about. We had the beach to ourselves. The sand, the mountains and water together made for a beautiful scenery. I'm looking at the pictures and reminiscing.

We were not prepared for how long the drive was from San Juan. The road are unpaved and you do drive through little streams. Andreas was amused when we said we didn't want to drive through the streams at night to see the turtles. That is when he arranged a ride for me.

We went during the rainy season, but saw no rain during the two day we were there, yet everything was so lush. As others have mentioned in their review, the bathroom is completely outside. There are walls there for privacy, but it does not keep out the bugs in the room. We did have little mosquitos and ants creeping into the room. We would rather not have shared our room with the bugs, but this was part of the adventure of staying at this hotel.

The two days we were there, we had the place to ourselves. My children loved swimming in their pool. I was however very aware that we were staying in a place that Rolf and Andreas are consider home. I kept a close eye on them so they didn't walk around with bare feet around the eating areas and minded their manners. I hope I did a good job.

Don't know if we will come back, there is so much of the world left to see, but I'm glad we went to the Hotel Luna Azul. I'm going to post some pictures.

Room Tip: This is a good romantic hotel if you like nature. All rooms have amazing views-some of the ocean an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad Colon, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The Hotel Luna Azul was as good as all the reviews indicted it would be. Rolf and Andreas are terrific hosts and were very patient with our many questions - they helped with everything from car rental advice to beach recommendations. The rooms were immaculate and spacious, and the view from ours (an "ocean view room") was great. We loved seeing and hearing the howler monkeys from the balcony. The grounds/gardens were lush and well taken care of, and the restaurant and pool area was relaxing and beautiful. And the food - well let's just say that in most Costa Rican hotels, we've felt a sense of dread at what we might find at mealtime. But the Luna Azul menu was a delight - fresh daily specials from delicious local ingredients - every meal was really, really good. When we are back to the Nosara/Ostinal area, this is where we'll be staying!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zofingen, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

When you drive up the small hill on which this hotel is located the first time, you would never expect to find such a beautiful and peaceful place like the Luna Azul. The owners, Andreas and Rolf, accorded us a hearty welcome with a delicious, fresh mixed cocktail and some jokey small talk. They also gave us some informative and helpful tips for trips. But the moment when I had to catch my breath the first time was, when I saw the overwhelming view from my balcony. I've never seen such a beautiful panorama view. The monkeys were sitting every morning directly above the balcony in the trees.
The pool, bar and restaurant area offers you lots of possibilities to calm down, drink a fresh cocktail, enjoy the sunset or swim some leads. Although this area is open, we never had the feeling to be disturbed or observed. The whole Luna Azul crew always give their best to make you feel comfortable.
Furthermore there is to say, that we have never eaten better during our journey, than at the Luna Azul. For breakfast we got always some fresh fruits, self made yoghurt, gallo pinto, ect. It was absolutly delicious and always a good reason to get up for. ;) About the dinner there is nothing else to say. No matter if it was fish, meat, vegetables, dessert or whatelse, I would die for every single meal we had at the Luna Azul.
Additionally the whole Luna Azul team was always very courteous and kind. Thank you Andreas and Rolf for making our stay not just fanstatic but absolutly amazing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We loved our stay. Everything was perfect- the rooms, grounds, pool, view, staff, food and drinks. The hotel is intimate and well thought out. Rolf was so sweet with our 7 and 9yr old- let them help in the kitchen one night. We are definitely returning in 2014.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is my idea of paradise. Beautiful views, lush landscape, spacious rooms and fabulous food . The hosts are gracious and very helpful in arranging excursions or pointing you to areas of interest. We visited a waterfall that is mostly frequented by locals . They also have a small but exquisite gift shop that had some of the best Costa Rican crafts I have seen (came home with 3 pieces). I have stayed here twice and plan to come back whenever I am in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Luna Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna Azul

Address: 8 km north of Nosara, Ostional 50306, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Ostional
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ostional
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Luna Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luna Azul Boutique Hotel in Ostional is one of the jewels on the Guanacaste Gold Coast: A small, very private lodge with a spectacular main lobby and elegant, colourful bungalows offering absolute tranquility and relaxation. Big terraces open to a jungle full of wildlife and the outdoor showers are a thrill for every nature lover. Relax on the pool terrace with gorgeous views over the surrounding nature reserve and to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Luna Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Luna Azul Costa Rica/Ostional

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luna Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.