We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luna Azul

Save Saved
You added Hotel Luna Azul to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Luna Azul
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 km north of Nosara, Ostional 50306, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save on Tour tickets
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ostional
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We live in California and have a second home in the little town of Playas del Coco on the Pacific Coast of Costa Rica. We were fortunate enough to have come across Luna Azul on one of our trips to see the turtles in Ostional and have returned a few times because we love this wonderful hotel. Whether we come by ouselves or with friends to enjoy the turtles, activities and wildlife close by or just relax we will return again and again. The owners are wonderful and make everyone feel right at home in the gorgeous oasis they have created. What a view! Their restaurant is one of the finest we have enjoyed in Costa Rica and Rolf and Andreas could not be better hosts. We always look forward to their on site restaurnat's culinary creations. In addition they have a wonderful wine list. This place is a must go to spot. The amentities, grounds, rooms, service, ambiance and top notch hospitality are fabulous and we highly recommend you treat yourself to Luna Azul.

Room Tip: Any rooms are comperable and have beautiful views. One side of casitas face the ocean view and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    6
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
66
138
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

What a fantastic place to spend a long Labor Day weekend!

Situated on a hill overlooking lush forest and the Pacific Ocean, and offering tastefully designed casitas with the most awesome open air bathroom I've ever seen (you can gaze at the ocean from the shower, and then walk out on to a deck without any privacy worries, this place causes instant stress relief from the moment you enter the grounds. The hosts Rolf and Andreas (and their puppy Fino) do everything possible to make your experience as fun, stimulating, and relaxing as possible. If there's something that can make your trip more enjoyable, they will do it. They make fantastic food, which is fortunate since this place is far from other dining options--especially during the slow season.

The landscaping of the grounds is gorgeous, and the pool with an infinity edge overlooking the ocean--not sure how I managed to leave it. Sigh.

There's plenty of wildlife on the property, especially in the form of monkeys, lizards, and birds.

There's plenty to do in this area--the main attraction being seeing the sea turtles nesting at nearby Ostional National Park or swimming with them at sea. Other excursions can include trips to nearby Nosara. Or, you can just hang out in the pool and crash in your beautiful room while taking in the surrounding natural beauty.

Finally, the weather was beautiful even though this was the "rainy season." The weather was typically absolutely beautiful in the morning, giving way to showers in the afternoon, followed by a lovely and comfortable evening.

The humidity was never too bad, especially considering how lush and green everything is.

The off-season prices are are incredibly reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the "Tropical" themed casita or the other one that provides views of the Pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

As a Costa Rican living abroad, I am very proud and pleased that this little piece of heaven exists in my country. I was in Costa Rica for two weeks, and the three days we spent at Luna Azul were the highlight of the trip. Even before getting there, Rolf and Andreas were wonderful with recommendations and good tips, I was very interested in watching the turtles nest their eggs, and Rolf told me exactly when to go and what was needed, and like magic, the turtles arrived the night we got there. The hotel is located far away from everything, and Rolf and Andreas managed to create paradise there. A property that is beautifully and tastefully decorated, a restaurant that offers amazingly delicious food, cozy rooms surrounded by nature and monkeys, and a friendly and kind staff... What a wonderfult experience, talking to Rolf and Andreas every day was like talking to family... Rolf arranged a wonderful tour for us with Capt Mike, where we swam with the turtles, and then he gave us the best tips to see the turtles and the beaches in the area...They made our stay a very special one, and we are really looking forward to our next visit. This was really a wonderful experience, and I recommend this place to everyone who loves nature, relaxation, and a wonderful time in paradise!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This place is phenomenal. The food is out of this world (menu changes daily), the owners and staff are friendly and helpful. The view is amazing, the lodgings are very romantic along with the outdoor shower. Luna Azul is heaven and goes down as the best hotel I have stayed at thus far. There are monkeys in the trees, iguanas by the pool, the pool is soothing. I went with my girlfriend and it was the relaxing experience that we needed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Believe the reviews. Rolf and Andreas are the real thing...charming and worldly and ever so helpful. My biggest regret is we couldn't stay longer. The food is WAY underrated. We had several amazing dinners with them and the breakfast was hearty and complete. Breakfast wasn't "set" each day but we were able to customize it. When we didn't eat with them, they gave us wonderful recommendations. I stayed with my wife and my two daughters and they had information for everything we wanted to do, from surfing lessons to nighttime turtle watching (on our own...saving me the rip off "guide" fee).

Our room was perfect. The decor and set up, all the way down to the outdoor shower and bathroom (which my teenage girls were worried about and now count as one of their favorite parts of the trip) were impeccably put together.

The management is thoughtful and focused. The facility is top notch. The surrounding area was my personal favorite of the whole trip. It is worth the unpaved roads to explore this area and Luna Azul is THE place to stay.

Room Tip: I put average on fitness center and room service because we didn't use them...unsure they even o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wien
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

stay at Luna Azul. The property is a gem, maintained like a botanical garden. The rooms are spatious and tastefully furnished, but the main attraction for us was the outdoor shower with views over the forest and with the noise from the Pacific. The lodge provides the privacy you need, but it's also no problem to socialize with other guests in the pool area or the restaurant. Besides, the food is extraordinary. Rolf and Andreas are really great hosts and make you feel like you are visiting friends. It was always a pleasure talking to them and to hear how it is to live in Costa Rica. If you stay at Luna Azul it is definitely recommandable to have your own car as it is right in the middle of nowwhere, which of course is one of the main attractions. The closest beach, breathtaking San Juanillo, is a 10min drive away. It takes about an hour to Samara. But its even not a waste of time just to relax at the pool or relax at your private porch and enjoy the traquility of Luna Azul.

It's really a pity that it is so far away from Austria, as we feel like coming again

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Our stay at the hotel Luna Azul was my favorite stop during our trip to Costa Rica. The owners were warm, courteous, professional, and work nonstop serving their guests (I don't know how they do it). As requested, our room had a scenic view of the Pacific. Everything at Luna Azul (bungalow, food, service, and outdoor shower) was better than advertised. The only thing between our room and the Pacific, was the forest, birds, and monkeys. Make sure you have at least 3-4 days to spend at Luna Azul - you will want to stay longer. Playa Ostional and Playa San Juanillo were very scenic, deserted, void of tourists, yet easy for public to access.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Luna Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna Azul

Address: 8 km north of Nosara, Ostional 50306, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Ostional
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ostional
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Luna Azul 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luna Azul Boutique Hotel in Ostional is one of the jewels on the Guanacaste Gold Coast: A small, very private lodge with a spectacular main lobby and elegant, colourful bungalows offering absolute tranquility and relaxation. Big terraces open to a jungle full of wildlife and the outdoor showers are a thrill for every nature lover. Relax on the pool terrace with gorgeous views over the surrounding nature reserve and to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Luna Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Luna Azul Costa Rica/Ostional

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luna Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;