We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe the reviews!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luna Azul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Luna Azul to your Saves list
Hotel Luna Azul
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 km north of Nosara, Ostional 50306, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ostional
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Believe the reviews!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

It's hard to add anything to the superlative reviews the Hotel Luna Azul has already received -- simply put, this is a wonderful hotel made truly unique for two reasons -- the hospitality of the owners/hosts, Rolf and Andreas; and the incredible beauty of the Ostional region. Perhaps I can add something to the other excellent reviews by elaborating a bit on the area. To get to the hotel, you need to be good at route finding and be willing to drive an hour on gravel roads. The roads are not really that bad (I'm from New Mexico, so I love rough roads!), and you don't really need four wheel drive, although it makes sense to rent one anytime you go to Costa Rica. The nearby beach in San Juanillo is our favorite anywhere, and the nesting turtles are truly one of the wonders of the world. If you want bars and nightlife, go somewhere else. If you don't like getting lost once in awhile and exploring backroads, go somewhere else. If all you want to do is drink mai tais and lay out by the pool, go somewhere else. If you want to see one of the most special places in the world before it changes, in a setting of grace and beauty, go to Hotel Luna Azul.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    8
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
76
159
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We have visited this charming hotel on three occasions and look forward to many more visits. The owners,Rolf and Andreas , will do everything they can to assure that your visit meets your expectations. Nestled in a dry rainforest the property offers individual casitas for couples as well as for families. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and there is plenty of opportunity for wildlife viewing. The hotel also features an infinity pool and a four star restaurant,where the meals are consistently excellent. Often the Olive Ridley Turtles are nesting at near by Playa Ostional. If you are fortunate , you may see thousands of turtles nesting en mass. Contact Rolf through the hotel's website and he will be happy to advise when to visit,to best see the turtles.

The hotel is off the beaten track and requires a bit of an effort to get to but this is part of its charm. Every time we visit Hotel Luna Azul we are amazed that Rolf and Andreas have created this wonderful hotel in such a remote location.

Visit Hotel Luna Azul,you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We have been coming to CR every year since 2006 and try to see and visit new areas each time. Hotel Luna Azul in Ostional is a wonderful find in a very beautiful place. Luna Azul sits prominently on a knoll overlooking the ocean from a distance as well as the jungle treetops all around. The layout and architecture of the hotel and bungalos is very tasteful and the views quite impressive. Rolf and Andreas are exceptionally gracious hosts and the meals prepared at their restaurant are amongst the most creative and delicious that we have encountered in Latin America. We've enjoyed the experience at Luna Azul so much that we returned for a second time recently and are already planning a third visit in the near future. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

During our third trip to Costa Rica (every time different region) we were fortunate to visit Ostional area with it's one of a kind character. Unquestionable beauty of the nature, laid back atmosphere created by the mixture of easy going local population and professional, yet friendly treatment offered by most of the business owners, made our visit in Ostional a pleasurable experience.
We've stayed at the Hotel Luna Azul for five days. Our bungalow with the jungle/ocean view, lovely terrace and the outdoor shower was very comfortable. Gourmet meals were always fresh, prepared with attention to detail, served with a smile. Because we love our eggs in the morning with fresh avocado, beautiful rosettes tastefully created from the fruit slices were there for us whenever we've asked. Just another little thing to make a visitor happy.
The owners Rolf and Andreas seem to run their business with a Swiss precision (they are from Switzerland). On top of their hospitality and friendliness, they are tactful. They can tell when their guests need attention, they also know if their vistors need personal space.
If you need some guidance in regards to local attractions, travel tips, there's no better source of information than your hosts. Rolf and Andreas know all the right people and places in the area.

So, if you are looking for this special, quiet place near the ocean, far from it all, and you enjoy to be surrounded by the trees, plants and colorful birds, this is the place. Loud pop music or rock will not attack your ears at Luna Azul. Soft jazz may accompany your meals at the resaturant. And the staff members will know exactly when you are ready for your second "cervesa" or "Margarita" by the infinity pool. To get there, you'll have a bumpy ride (roads are well...Costa Rican ; ). When you get there, you'll relax in style. We hope our pictures do justice to this incredible place.

Room Tip: For more privacy, ask for an oceanview bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Rolf and Andreas were such gentlemen throughout our stay. The food wasexceptional not only at breakfast but also the evening meals too. The outdoor shower with lovely views was something special. The option for air conditioning also quite helpful. We would highly recommend it anyone. Thanks Beth and Dan

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boucherville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We’ve just arrived from our trip to Costa Rica. We stayed at Luna Azul for 2 nights with our baby boy (20 months). The site is beautiful, rooms are well decorated and the breakfast that is complimentary was more than expected. However, I would not recommend it for 3 reasons:

1 – The price is a little high. Furthermore, during our stay, we couldn’t access to the internet since someone had stolen their copper wire. Honestly, not having internet access was not a big issue for us since we were on vacation. However, hosts could at least offer a discount on their daily rate or something else to compensate the absence of this service which is in theory part of the price;
2 – We had trouble to use our credit cards. The owners were nothing but comprehensive and accommodating in resolving our issue. Since internet was not available at their hotel and they didn’t offer to use their phone, we had to drive by San Juanillo (15 minutes driving) to connect to internet in a café. Furthermore, owners seemed to be nervous about our ability to pay the bill;
3 – Maybe not indicated for family travelling with young children. When we left, one of the hosts made a comment regarding our baby boy who was, according to him, crying a lot. Well, maybe he cried a lot during our stay (personally, I never met a baby who doesn’t cry), but our baby was crying before he get asleep at night (10 minutes max), when he fall on the slippery floors of the pool and room (total 15 minutes). On a 48 hours stay, I think this is a good average. So, be aware if you go there with your young one because you may disturb the hosts.

I’m not saying that Luna Azul is not a good place to stay in during vacations; I say that it may not be indicated for family travelling with young ones…unless you don’t mind having the impression to disturb.

N.B. : Just to make a note that we stayed in 8 different places in Costa Rica and never had such comments regarding our baby.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellunaazul, Owner at Hotel Luna Azul, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for visiting our hotel. We have absolutely no problem with children, families are always welcome. With pleasure we had put a nice crib for your baby into the room, free of any charge. But kids can become a problem when other guests start complaining about them, which was definitely the case during your visit. Two of the other guest parties contacted our management, complaining about your baby crying too much, for too long and too loud. One guest even considered to leave the hotel one day early because it was not possible to relax on the pool terrace while your boy was crying so much. The other party was a family with 3 kids and if even they start to complain, it was probably more than a normal average – at least for the ears of people who are not the parents…

Unfortunately, the telephone (copper) cables in the area were stolen, for this reason the hotel like all the neighbours had no phone and no internet. The telephone company needed more than a week to replace them which was not within our influence. Like to all the other guests we apologized to you, everybody was very understanding given the special situation, nobody complained. Thanks to all the other guests for their comprehension, we appreciate it.

Obviously your credit card didn`t work when you went to a restaurant in the village. When you came back to the hotel you seemed very nervous about this and were anxious about paying your bill at the hotel. Being without phone and internet we couldn`t do a lot in this situation than sending you back to the village to try the card again later. We were absolutely not worried about you paying for your stay, because we had the impression that you are a very honest person. Problems with credit cards happen, but there is always a solution. Thank you anyway for worrying about paying your bill.

And finally the price: if you check the reviews you are pretty much alone with your rating, the vast majority is very satisfied with the value they get at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I can only add to the many previous reviewers that this is one of the best places in the world to relax. It has class and comfort. It has excellent food supervised by Rolf. He even produced a couple of very good boiled eggs, something I can't seem to do myself. Every evening the dinner menu offered 5 or 6 salads (all great), and 6 or 7 main courses. The main course always offered beef, chicken, fish, pasta, and shrimp, all with excellent sauces.And if we could manage it there was also a very nice desert. The rooms were always clean and confortable and we didn't miss the TV because we do not own one and don't even turn one on in a hotel room that has one.

Andres and Rolf come from different backgrounds in Switzerland but here in Costa Rica they have put together an excellent little hotel and we hope to return.

Room Tip: Other reviewers said we should ask for ocean view. I do not think it matters much so don't worry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Luna Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna Azul

Address: 8 km north of Nosara, Ostional 50306, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Ostional
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ostional
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Luna Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luna Azul Boutique Hotel in Ostional is one of the jewels on the Guanacaste Gold Coast: A small, very private lodge with a spectacular main lobby and elegant, colourful bungalows offering absolute tranquility and relaxation. Big terraces open to a jungle full of wildlife and the outdoor showers are a thrill for every nature lover. Relax on the pool terrace with gorgeous views over the surrounding nature reserve and to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Luna Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Luna Azul Costa Rica/Ostional

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luna Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.