We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returning customer to Hotel Luna Azul” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luna Azul

Save Saved
You added Hotel Luna Azul to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Luna Azul
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 km north of Nosara, Ostional 50306, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save on Tour tickets
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ostional
Salt Lake City
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Returning customer to Hotel Luna Azul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

I am addicted to this hotel... I admit it..I am probably in need of a 12 step program to get over my addition.... but life would not be nearly as enjoyable without the Luna Azul. This was my 4th trip to this Hotel. This time we stayed 4 nights instead of the usual 3. It was wonderful as always... beautiful, peaceful,and the owners are delightful. The food is simply fantastic. The food would be considered excellent if competing with great restaurants in major US cities. There is great swimming and snorkeling nearby, the owners arranged a boat trip for us to swim with sea turtles....a highlight of our trip. Love this place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    229
    6
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
56
134
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

I cannot believe how wonderful this hotel was. The hosts were super friendly, helpful, and genuine. The views were spectacular and the rooms spacious and beautifully decorated. My husband and I felt like celebrities staying at a super-exclusive hotel in the jungle. The food was fantastic and the landscaping gorgeous. It is a little tricky to get to, but well worth it!!! We would love to come back one day as our one regret was not staying there longer. We felt very well taken care of and pampered. Roberto, our server, made the best virgin pina colodas!! It is not often that you receive a complimentary breakfast that is served to you and of such high quality. What was most incredible was the affordability of the hotel. The lodging, the food, and the excursions were all very reasonably priced. Go there, as you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

If a Marriott or Four Seasons hotel room is your idea of where to stay, then Luna Azul is not for you. If, however, you're looking for a tastefully decorated room in a beautiful remote location, high on a hill with great sunsets and views of the Pacific, a large private patio, short drives to wonderful walking and swimming beaches, great breakfasts and very reasonably priced, and equally tasty dinner fare, then you will love the Luna Azul.
Our hosts, Rolf and Andreas were exceptionally accommodating and a pleasure to be with. Rolf stopped over to talk every night at dinner...we would have been happy to have him pull up a chair. But it was Andreas who took our call at 11:00PM, when we had trouble finding the best road to the hotel (we didn't know that roads were built running thru drivable bodies of water) and drove 15 minutes to lead us back to the hotel. We loved Costa Rica. We are only sorry we didn't spend another day or two at Luna Azul.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012 via mobile

We spent three terrific days at hotel Luna Azul. The location is convenient - very short drive to a beautiful black sand beach (not great for swimming on account of rip tides). Additionally, there is A great, sandy swimming beach about 15 minutes away via driving.

The property is beautiful and immaculate. The open-air lobby is tastefully decorated and provides little nooks for reading and hanging out. The dining area is elevated and affords very nice views of the surrounding jungle and seaside. The pool is nice and had very sturdy lounge chairs with comfy
Cushions and adequate umbrellas.

Our room was very nice. The interior was simple and clean. There was a mini fridge and AC (optional for additional fee). The bathroom was outdoor and very cute. From the shower you had beautiful views of the forest below. There was also a beuatiful little back porch that had rocking chairs, providing a totally private little outdoor hangout.

The proprietors are very friendly and are always willing to make suggestions and provide direction. The included breakfast was very very good. We never managed to have lunch there but there is a limited lunch menu. Dinner was very satisfying. The food was tasty and the presentation was outstanding. We found it incredibly pleasant to dine there as the combination of the good food and the beautiful location and presentation create a wonderful experience.

The atmosphere was very relaxed. We had a mix of couples and families with children. On the final day, we were one of two couples present and it was really nice to have the place to ourselves.

In summary, Luna Azul provides a very satisfying place to stay in ostional. The rooms are clean, smartly decorated, and wonderfully private. The owners are very accomodating and responsive to guests and they have a great day of useful information to share about the area.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We spend a night at this lovely little hotel whilst travelling around Costa Rica on honeymoon in December. What can I say, it was heaven from the moment we arrived. The pool is beautiful, the rooms immaculate, the views spectacular and the staff friendly, helpful and efficient.

Our host Rolf was brilliant. He was able to give us information on how to see the turtles which turned out to be the highlight of the trip and he also took the time to draw us a detailed map of the most scenic route to our next location.

Being a small hotel the menu is limited but everything is beautifully cooked and was amazing. Even the sandwiches are made from home cooked bread. Be aware that food is not served all day, I believe lunch ended at 2pm.

There is ample parking, WIFI in the bar area and amazing private outdoor showers in the rooms. If you want something a bit special this place is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

Rolf and Andreas accommodated us at the last minute and made us feel very welcome. From the delicious breakfast to the comfortable and clean rooms with amazing decks to the beautiful swimming pool, there is nowhere better to stay in Ostional. They helped us arrange for a magnificent turtle tour and answered a lot of questions we had about the region, the turtles, Costa Rica and the history of the hotel. Can't imagine anything they could do to improve. An excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We really enjoyed staying at Luna Azul - beautiful, spaceous rooms with an open air shower, excellent restaurant and very friendly hosts. It is just one minute drive to the beach, where the turtles hatch. The breakfast is one of the best you will find in Costa Rica. Highly recommended !
Thank you for everything - we will be back ;-)

Room Tip: Be sure to make your reservation in time !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Luna Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna Azul

Address: 8 km north of Nosara, Ostional 50306, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Ostional
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ostional
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Luna Azul 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luna Azul Boutique Hotel in Ostional is one of the jewels on the Guanacaste Gold Coast: A small, very private lodge with a spectacular main lobby and elegant, colourful bungalows offering absolute tranquility and relaxation. Big terraces open to a jungle full of wildlife and the outdoor showers are a thrill for every nature lover. Relax on the pool terrace with gorgeous views over the surrounding nature reserve and to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Luna Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Luna Azul Costa Rica/Ostional

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luna Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.