We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three-Day-Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cuffern Manor Country House

Cuffern Manor Country House
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cuffern Manor Country House to your Saves list
Cuffern Manor Country House
Cuffern | Haverfordwest, Roch SA62 6HB, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Roch B&B and Inns
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Three-Day-Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had a great three-night-stay at Cuffern Manor: Great welcome/hospitality from the proprietors, Julian & Jane. Great breakfasts and Great location. We highly recommend Cuffern Manor.
Derek & Jackie White, West Moors, Dorset

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    18
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
14
44
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

After a long drive we received a very warm welcome from Julian who showed us around and led us to our very spacious en-suite room, which was spotlessly clean. Jayne came to welcome us and brought us freshly baked welsh cakes to have with our coffee. The lounge was cosy and inviting with a large selection of unusual and traditional beverages along with a biscuit barrel. Julian and Jayne gave good local knowledge and made suggestions in a very relaxed way, not at all pushy. The history of the Manor had been thoroughly researched by the family and it made very interesting reading, adding to the pleasure of the stay. The breakfast was plentiful, and foods were locally sourced or grown in the Manor's walled garden. This set us up for a wonderful anniversary. We parked at the local beach Newgale (superb) walked a section of the coastal path, had sunday lunch in the local pub as recommended by Julian, and a passer by, excellent and visited the local food fair at Narberth. On our return we found a lovely vase of pink roses in our room, what a lovely kind gesture, thank you. All I would say is that 2 nights isn't long enough, when we return we'll come for a week.

Room Tip: The rooms with the best views are at the front of the Manor. They face south and views are spectacul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweetinsomnia, Owner at Cuffern Manor Country House, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We hope to see you in our beautiful county again-May and June are great for the flowers and puffins and our music festival in the walled garden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Very welcoming with the best selection of tea I've seen anywhere. We drink Rooibos and it was there. Fantastic library and great breakfast. Enjoyed reading the history of the Manor and chatting with our host,Julian. Easy and lovely drive to beach at Newgale.
Would book meal in hotel next time as prefer not to turn out to eat, but to be fair we knew that before we booked.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
none
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our first visit to Pembrokeshire, but hopefully not our last -- gorgeous coast walks, lots of things to do and see close together. We chose Cuffern Manor because one of us is vegetarian, and they advertised both good vegetarian breakfasts and the possibility of vegetarian evening meals. Arriving directly from overseas, the latter was much appreciated! Our one dinner lived up to its billing, and the breakfasts -- both veg and non-veg -- were simply outstanding, including some home grown fruit and jam. The accommodations were very comfortable, with 2 public sitting rooms also available for our use, and even WiFi. The owners provide the perfect mix of warm hospitality, helpful suggestions on the area, and first-rate service. We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweetinsomnia, Owner at Cuffern Manor Country House, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed staying here and thank you for taking the time to write such positive things about Cuffern Manor. Julian and Jayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at Cuffern Manor for a couple of days over the busy August bank holiday week and now dream of going back as our experience was so wonderful. We booked at very short notice but despite this were allocated a very comfortable room with an additional single bed for our little one. Our bed was extremely comfortable (very little roll into the middle, which we are quite particular about!) The communal bathroom was clean and very accessible for our little one and didn't seem used by many other guests at all as most rooms are ensuite. The location is idyllic. Extremely peaceful and offers a real chance to get away from it all. Jane, Julian and their son in law, Andy and his wife were the greatest hosts, so kind, accommodating and full of information. We enjoyed walking around the grounds and peeking in at the walled garden which Jane works so hard to maintain. The amount of home grown produce that is used in her breakfasts and meals is very impressive and makes this place all the more special. Our children were in their element, running around the large lawn and being able to play in such natural surroundings. The breathtaking scenery of Newgale, Whitesands and Freshwater West are only short drives away as are St. David's and we visited Pembroke Castle which was definitely worth exploring. We can't wait to come back another time, thanks so much for everything.

Room Tip: The view from the front is spectacular. All info that you need is in the rooms so just look or ask i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We have run an accommodation place somewhat similar Cuffern Manor in Tasmania for over 20 years so we have some idea of what it takes to create an atmosphere of welcome and hospitality. Our recent stay at Cuffern Manor was the last night of a three week B&B tour of Britain. Without doubt the Cuffern Manor experience was the highlight of them all. We love the relaxed family feel and the casual approach, the spacious sunny room, the music night with Robin and Bina Williamson, the visit to Pentre Ifan ancient monument. The walled vegetable garden, the lovely view from our window and the sounds of the grandchildren's feet running on the floor boards above our room, absolutely charming and not a doily or a lace curtain in sight. We wish there more places like this

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweetinsomnia, Owner at Cuffern Manor Country House, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay here and to recieve such a review from someone in the same business and from Australia has given us an extra special fillip. Thanks for take the time to write the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I have been a guest at Cuffern Manor on several occasions and last week I returned after a gap of four years. I experienced the same warm and friendly welcome and the relaxed approach towards guests as I had previously enjoyed. The house has an interesting history and still breathes some of the spirit of its past atmosphere. Set in its own grounds it is a quiet and tranquil retreat and a good centre for exploring the area. My room was clean and newly decorated. I was aware of the 'private bathroom' but not prepared for the walk along the corridor. I would have brought a robe if I had known! The breakfasts were of the usual high standard, with a plentiful choice of cereals, fruit etc. It was good to see the improvements especially the added ensuites- better still if all the rooms were so upgraded. Cuffern is as a 'home' to which I can return after a busy day. It will not be another four years before I return.

Room Tip: Clarify ensuite availability and details when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cuffern Manor Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuffern Manor Country House

Address: Cuffern | Haverfordwest, Roch SA62 6HB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Roch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Roch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1770, Cuffern Manor is set in three and a half acres of walled garden, woodlands and lawns. This award-winning guest house is perfectly located for exploring one of the finest unspoilt coastal areas in the world. We can accommodate up to 25 friends or family groups who want to share exclusive use and be together. We cater for all dietary needs. Our garden provides the soft fruit (raspberries, strawberries, blackcurrants, blackberries) for our breakfasts and fresh veg for evening meals (when available). We have lifts to all accommodation and special facilities for our disabled guests to ensure their comfort and enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cuffern Manor Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuffern Manor Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.