We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - will stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Park Royal

Save Saved
You added The Park Royal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Park Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stretton Road, Stretton, Warrington WA4 4NS , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Stretton
Madison, WI
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel - will stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I stayed here in June while on a business trip, at the recommendation of a coworker. Good suggestion. I arrived after 10 pm and the staff was very friendly. My room was a good size and very clean. Comfy bed. The breakfast was just what I was hoping for - it was a buffet, but included all the items for a full English. One morning I walked back to my room after breakfast, only to discover that for some reason my key didn't work. My room was a long walk to the front desk, but a staff member just happened to be walking by, so they went down and got me a new key, and returned with a smile. The hotel is just off the motorway, so it's easy to find. And the Stretton Fox is a great pub at the roundabout near the hotel. I will definitely stay here again when I make a return trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallon_General_Mgr, General Manager at The Park Royal, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear MrsBrit

Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding your recent stay at The Park Royal Hotel. i was pleased to read that our staff were so friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed the food here. Your comments are testament to the reason that so many of our guests return. i do hope that we can welcome you back here in the near future.

Kind regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    361
    226
    91
    34
    19
See reviews for
128
236
23
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our return visit to the Park Royal - spa break with friends. The spa experience was excellent - my therapist was Jessica very very good recommending further relaxation techniques. Amazing food fresh and tasty . A couple of issues with the rooms not being ready on time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallon_General_Mgr, General Manager at The Park Royal, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear K11MYM

Thank you for your review of your spa break at The Park Royal we are delighted that you had such a relaxing time. It would seem from your comments that we delivered exactly what you expected in terms of food, and customer service. I hope that we can welcome you back to The Park Royal in the near future.

Kind regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthmadog, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed in this hotel as a party of 6 celebrating our 40th birthdays. Had a fantastic time from start to finish. Booked a package deal which consists of an overnight stay, light lunch, dinner, breakfast and also 1 - 60min or 2 - 30min spa treatments. Great deal! Rooms were spacious and very clean. Food was amazing. Staff throughout the hotel were very helpful and pleasant (especially Jessica in the spa and the charming Christian in the restaurant). Can't wait to visit again!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallon_General_Mgr, General Manager at The Park Royal, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Jane J

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review of The Park Royal and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed yourself so much and that the team here mad ethe effort to make your staff so special.

Why not try one of our sister hotels next time? You can check out the best detais on the QHotels website.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again and the near future.

Kind regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Me & my husband stayed at the hotel as a treat,the room was a double but was small,hotel right through needs redecorating as it's looking tired.
Our room was over the function room so music booming out until around 1.30am, normally wouldn't mind but wanted some sleep so made a complaint but they just offered a free upgrade if we go back!
Overall staff were lovely & food was nice but pricey.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallon_General_Mgr, General Manager at The Park Royal, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear jncorcal

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Park Royal and may i apologise for the fact that the hotel failed to live up to your (and our) expectations. As you will see from other reviews, your experience isn't indicative of the high standards that we offer here at the hotel. Your comments have been taken on board and used to improve for future guests. i do hope your experience hasn't put you off using ourselves or any other Q hotel in the future, and i hope that we have the opportuntiy to welcome you back here in the future.

Kind regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My boyfriend booked me a spa break here for my 30th birthday and we stayed last weekend.

I had never heard of this hotel but it had come highly recommended so we were both really looking forward to it. We arrived early due to the deal we were on and the reception staff were extremely helpful when it came to explaining what our deal involved.

We were treated to a light lunch in the bar area, this consisted of soup, jacket potatoes with various fillings, lots of salad and many tasty treats (which we decided to give a miss).

Despite arriving really early the hotel had managed to get our room ready which meant we could check straight in and leave our stuff in the room while we visited the spa.

Once ready we went down to the spa, collected nice fluffy robes, some slippers and a towel each so that we could enjoy the pool, sauna and Jacuzzi (the steam room was broken but should be fixed in the next few weeks). After spending about an hour relaxing we headed back to the spa, filled in our consultation forms and we're taken to the relevant treatment rooms. I opted for a mini facial and a foot cleanse, both of which I loved, my skin has been really bad lately and the therapist used some special mask as well as some tea tree gel to help soothe the problem. My boyfriend what for a back and face treatment and said he really enjoyed that as well.

Once we'd finished our treatments we relaxed in the gorgeous relaxation rooms for a bit before heading out to the main leisure reception before getting dressed and visiting the bar.

The room we were given was on the first floor, it didn't look out onto much but that didn't really matter. It had been decorated well and the bed was extremely comfy, some of the pieces of furniture were a bit dated and the cupboard which the telly sat on had a sign mentioned a mini bar, even though there wasn't one.

The bathroom appeared to have all modern fixtures and fittings but the tiling really let it down, I don't know what it was but it just let down the whole feel of the room. Another small issue with the bathroom, and not something I normally comment on was the quality of the towels. Compared to the nice fluffy ones we'd enjoyed in the spa the ones in the bedroom were pretty poor and despite being white appeared grey as soon as they got wet due to the poor quality. Not a big deal but something which stood out to us.

We had booked in for our evening meal for 8.30 so we arrived a few minutes early and it was very, very busy. There were a number of birthday parties in as well as hen dos and the USA rugby team so the staff were run of their feet. We were seated fairly quickly, our order was taken pretty promptly but our drinks took forever to arrive and when they did, we both ordered different wines they were very poor. The food couldn't be faulted, we had a mezze to share to start and then a shoulder of lamb with a number of sides for our main, all of which were delicious. We then ordered further drinks, two vodka and diet cokes, which were much more enjoyable then the wine.

Our deal also included breakfast the next day which again was extremely busy but we got a table with ease and there was enough food (just for everyone). We treated ourselves to a full English which again, we couldn't fault.

For what my boyfriend paid for this treat we really did get value for money but I thought both the bar food menu was a little pricey (around £7.00 for a sandwich and around £16.00 for a main). The drinks were also a little pricey, our glasses of wine, although larger were priced over £6.00, I wouldn't have minded this but it was very poor quality wine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallon_General_Mgr, General Manager at The Park Royal, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear dan_ielle20liverpool

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed review of your stay here at The Park Royal Hotel. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your positive experience with us and we have taken your comments on board as areas to review for improvement on what otherwise seemed to be a great stay. We hope that we can welcome you back to The Park ROyal in the near future.

Kind regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire, U.K.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed one night and had both breakfast and dinner. I would recommend getting the deal for the breakfast and dinner pre- paid as it is worth it. The staff were brilliant despite the hotel being fully booked with half term. It was very busy, but staff were efficient and friendly at all times.
The rooms and bathrooms are a good size and very clean.
The breakfast was one of the nicest hotels breakfasts I have had in awhile. Again, they were very busy in the morning, but managed it perfectly.
Good sized pool and nice gym facilities.
My favourite part was dinner though. The food was gorgeous. It is a bit pricey, but worth it. Christian in the restaurant was a pleasure to deal with and very professional. I would absolutely recommend this hotel and hope to be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallon_General_Mgr, General Manager at The Park Royal, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear weenzie

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us here at The Park Royal and for being so complimentary about your whole experience. Your feedback has been shared with the team and the staff members that made your stay so enjoyable. I am glad that your stay met with your expectations and I hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

KInd regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed two nights. The room was very good and spacious although the view out was over the flat roof of the gym below. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was clean.The hotel is a bit expensive, but the quality is good. the restaurant is not cheap but again the food is good and the service is similar to that which you would receive in a London West End hotel.

I was taken unwell on the first night and the on-site First Aider and the Receptionist could not do enough to help. They even offered room service at no extra charge!

The hotel is a bit expensive, but the quality is good. the restaurant is not cheap but again the food is good and the service is similar to that which you would receive in a London West End hotel. I would return here again and the best thing is to look out for special offers which make the room a good price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallon_General_Mgr, General Manager at The Park Royal, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Calculus50

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay here at The Park Royal. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff were friendly and helpful. It looks like we delivered exactly as we aim to with quality food and good attention to your needs. I am sorry to hear that you were unwell during your stay with us but I am pleased to read that our staff went out of their way to help and ensure you were more comfortable. I do hope that we can welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Park Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Royal

Address: Stretton Road, Stretton, Warrington WA4 4NS , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Warrington > Stretton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Stretton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Park Royal 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Royal, set in beautiful Cheshire Countryside yet easily accessible to motorway links, is the ideal location for a leisurely weekend or business trip. Ideally located to visit many of the North West attractions, or as a stop over on your way to the North or South. Our friendly team will ensure that you stay is everything you are looking for, our team of Chefs will provide excellent quisine and our spa therapists can pamper you to perfection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Park Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Royal Hotel Stretton
Park Royal Warrington
Hotel Park Royal
Park Royal Hotel Warrington
The Park Royal Warrington/Stretton, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Park Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.