We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“35th reunion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Gold Canyon Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Gold Canyon Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Gold Canyon Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8333 E Sunrise Sky Dr, Gold Canyon, AZ 85218-2992   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gold Canyon
Burley, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“35th reunion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We actually had 2 stays here. We checked out 23May and couldn't find a room closer to my reunion and so we checked back in and got a ground floor room. The air conditioner in the second room was not nearly as good as the first room. The staff were very helpful as usual I have come to expect that out of this bunch. Also they are remodeling and you could not tell at all! Very impressive I feel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
145 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I've stayed in nicer Best Westerns, but this sufficed for a one night stop over in Gold Canyon. I had an upstairs room quite a distance from the front desk, a drive over a speed bump filled parking lot, and then up stairs with luggage etc to a medium sized but rather dark and unappealing room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john_northbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, United States
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We have stayed in quite a few of Best Westerns and this one was definitely the worst. There was a VERY loud party going on in the lounge. We discussed it with the management but they said the party would continue till 11pm. They seemed more interested in being in the nightclub business then in the hotel business. The A/C went out during the night and the room was warm in the morning but fortunately we were leaving. The biggest shock was the toilet. When I sat down on it my genitals were dangling in the water!! We have stayed at the Best Western in Apache Junction just down the road several times in the past and that is where we will stay in the future when we are back in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gold Canyon hotels

Lake Stevens, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

The real mark of a good business is how it responds if a customer does have aa problem.This hotel will not help you if you have a problem.

My wife and I flew to Phoenix early for a funeral. We reserved this hotel in the morning of Feb. 2, but as quickly cancelled our reservation in favor of the Chandler location closer to the airport. When we got home, we saw that Gold Creek had charged us a 'no-show.'

I immediately called the hotel and the American Express travel web site through which I had made the reservation and the cancellation. I was told manager 'Pat' would call me back. She did not. The next day, I called a 2nd time and left a message for her. I then e-mailed the hotel, and did not get a reply.

After a week, I e-mailed the Best Western corporate web site. A few days later I received an e-mail from Pat. She did not deny that the hotel received the cancellation request, only that they have a 24-hour cancellation policy.

The frustrating part is that I cancelled the room within 15 minutes of booking it, and I received an e-mail from Amex that the room was indeed cancelled. Otherwise I would have called the hotel to confirm or I would have stayed there (begrudgingly). I suggested that if the hotel would refund even part of the room charge, I would be satisfied. No dice.

So keep in mind that if you are thinking of staying here, any reservation made on the same day cannot be cancelled, not even within minutes of making it. If this property has your credit card information, a steel trap snaps shut onto your pocketbook and will not release. If you want to talk to this property, this property does not want to talk to you.

My wife and I used this trip to give Best Western a try. We got burned.

We can absorb the $94, but we won't be using the Best Western brand for our personal or business travel in the future.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KfSchweizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldCanyonINN, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Canyon Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for your review Mr. Schweizer. I am sorry about the charge for the no show on your credit card but your booking was made during our peak season and the room was held for in good faith. It is a pity that you did not contact the hotel directly to cancel your reservation because we would cancelled it and resold the room. Unfortunately your booking was made on line within our cancellation policy so you were not able to cancel it once made. Since the reservation was only made the day prior to arrival we did feel the need to reconfirm the reservation which we usually do on our older reservations in case people's plans have changed. You had mentioned that you were going to email us your cancellation notice and we waited for that before calling you back but since we never received it we did not return your call immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0swego, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

excellect place will stay there next year have stayed there 3 different times . close to all Phoenix attractions.Good lounge with karoke Close to Apache junction Honky tonks. Close to tortilla flats. Close to Apache lake and Horseback Riding.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kenny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

A group of us that jeep had a great stay at Gold Canyon and when 14 people can set around breakfast and talk for 2 hours about the trip the day before to the Coke Ovens it was great . We hope to stay there next year just like we did last year.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank F9218ZXdavidb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason City, United States
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

The customer service was really bad by 1 employee and she worked most of the time we stayed. The bar attached to the hotel had bad customer service also. The bathroom door would not stay open unless you used the garbage can to hold it open. There was a small square cut out of the carpet that they patched back in. The bed made my back hurt after a couple of days. The housekeeping never filled the shampoos or soap or kleenex. I had to ask for it every night. The breakfast was good. The hot tub and pool were great. A couple of the employees made it a bad stay, because they were so rude. Unfortunately we stay in this town every year and they have no other hotels. I hope they clean up the customer service before next year.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gold Canyon
13.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Superstition Springs Inn
13.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton at Phoenix Mesa Gateway Airport
13.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Mesa Superstition Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Legacy Inn & Suites
15.2 mi away
Saguaro Lake Guest Ranch
20.6 mi away
We-Ko-Pa Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Gold Canyon Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gold Canyon Inn & Suites

Address: 8333 E Sunrise Sky Dr, Gold Canyon, AZ 85218-2992
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Gold Canyon
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gold Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Gold Canyon Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gold Canyon Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Apache Junction
Apache Junction Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing