We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“breath taking view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gold Canyon Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Gold Canyon Golf Resort to your Saves list
Gold Canyon Golf Resort
6100 S Kings Ranch Road, Gold Canyon, AZ 85118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gold Canyon
Arizona City, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“breath taking view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at this property three years in a row for our anniversary and it gets better each time. The staff is friendly and the property is exceptional. Each casita weve stayed in has had a jacuzzi in the master bedroom which is a great way to unwind after a long day. The casitas have a patio and the view of the valley of the sun at night is breath taking, great to view an Arizona sun set. We will make it a point to return for more anniversary memories!!!! Also order there room delivery pizza fantastic!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    39
    22
    18
    14
See reviews for
26
73
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed for our anniversary and we had an absolutely fabulous time. The staff consistently went out of there way to make our stay great. From Cherie at the front desk to Kyle who drove us back and forth around the property everyone was just so friendly and happy to have us there.
Golf was wonderful and Scott should be very proud of his staff as they made us feel welcome from the second we walked through the door. Nice job guys and the views were great!
We'll be back!!!!
-Jason S.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I recently stayed a week at GCGR for business purposes. I can say that the courteous employees, clean, comfortable, lovely accomodations, and beautiful views made it difficult to go back to the usual chain hotels. Employees are genuinely friendly as they take you to/from your room on golf carts; offering to carry your luggage/briefcase, and room service is provided with a smile. The meals enjoyed at the resorts restaurant were delicious and the atomosphere was relaxed and friendly. If I were a movie critic, the resort would get two thumbs up!

Buckeye Fan

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We were attending a "destination wedding" at Superstition Mountain and chose this place to stay.. It was nearby and we were here 5 nights. The staff was exceptional. The people very friendly and accomodating. We were in a casita or timeshare. Had a great spa in our room - but enjoyed the pool (almost to ourselves) because we liked being outside in the sun. We were busy with the wedding activities - did not spend alot of time on property other than golfing. The golfing was fantastic. Dinosaur Mountain was a must - that is why it is rated top course. Sidewinder was just being mowed down for dormancy. The rooms definitely need an upgrade. If we stay again - we would check to see if that occurrs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, AZ
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Spent a weekend at the resort in a casita and enjoyed it........the beautiful desert, the lovely architecture, the proximity to the Superstition Mountains. Everyone at the resort was friendly and helpful. Restaurants in Apache Junction and Gold Canyon we're good. Driving the Apache Trail after all the rain was spectacular...nice and cool for hikes. Will go again. Wife loved the spa. Continental breakfast included was outstanding. Had to ask where they got that multi-grain bread and coffee.

Room Tip: Casitas in Bldgs. 10, 11 are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights with a golf and spa groupon. I had never heard of the place before but would love to go back in the winter. The staff was very friendly and they had great food. Only down part was there isn't much of a nightlife or anything else near by but we went back to the room where we had a spa outside with a bottle of wine. It was a relaxing weekend with a beautiful golf course and I would definitely recommend the dinosaur mountain course over the sidewinder which is a normal public course.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxatgcgr, Front Office Manager at Gold Canyon Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you so much for your recent comments about your stay. I am so pleased you had a relaxing time. Our convenience to Phoenix and our secluded location really can make you feel worlds away from the hustle & bustle. I hope you are able to join us during our cooler months, where we have live entertainment at least 4 nights a week. For future reference both our Dinosaur Mountain and our Sidewinder course are public course. The Dinosaur has many elevation changes and sweeping views. The Sidewinder is our valley course but still snakes around the property.
We hope to see you again soon,
Cherie Downey
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This is the third time we have stayed here and probably our last. It seems like the place is in need of a big remodel. It is definitely only a three star hotel and not a destination location. All the staff members were at least friendly. The food seemed microwaved and overpriced. There were bugs in our room. All found on the bed, but they weren't bed bugs. The bottoms of our feet were filthy just from walking around barefoot in our room. The A/C was noisy. No ice machines and bottles of water from the local grocery store costing over $2 each, when one or two should have been provided complimentary each day. This was a favorite place, but all of a sudden it seems run down.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxatgcgr, Front Office Manager at Gold Canyon Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Sherri,
I am so sorry to hear your most recent experience with us was not as you remembered. As you may have notice we have been remodeling many of our rooms. In an effort to give guests a relaxing experience, we know offer to your door ice delivery at no additional charge to you. Our exterminator comes out weekly and sprays resort wide. We appreciate the feedback when there are rooms that may need to have special attention. We will soon be offering Fiji water for sale in our rooms.
Thank you for your recent patronage and I do hope we will see you again in the future.
Cherie Downey
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gold Canyon Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Canyon Golf Resort

Address: 6100 S Kings Ranch Road, Gold Canyon, AZ 85118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Gold Canyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gold Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gold Canyon Resort's 85 unique Hotel rooms offer a variety of amenities such as Indoor or Outdoor Private Spas, Suites, Wood Burning Fireplaces and Private Patios with splendid views of the majestic Superstition Mountains. This unique setting provides us with spectacular views of the famed Superstition Mountains where many have attempted to find the Lost Dutchman's' gold. Natural wildlife to the area can be encountered right outside your door. Carved out of the foothills of the scenic Superstition Mountains, the 36 holes of Desert Mountain Golf at Gold Canyon offer two distinct playing options. Dinosaur Mountain, rated Four and a Half stars by Golf Digest takes golfers into the high Sonoran Desert with dramatic tee-to-green elevation changes. Sidewinder, Four Star Rating by Golf Digest, runs through the land's natural arroyos and dry creek beds, providing a pristine desert golf experience.Amenities include Hiking, Biking, Swimming Pool, Massage and Spa Services, and much more! Enjoy spectacular views while dining at Kokopelli's Restaurant, The Bar & Grill or The Ledge at Dinosaur Mountain. Over 10,000 feet of Distinct Full Service Meeting and Banquet facilities for functions ranging from 10-200.Located just 35 minutes from Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport, this very special mountainside resort is close enough to the Valley of the Sun, yet far enough away to let you experience the peace and unmatched beauty of the high Sonoran Desert. We strive to create an experience that you will not soon forget. Come and enjoy a true Arizona Golf Resort experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Gold Canyon Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Canyon Golf Hotel Gold Canyon
Gold Canyon Resort
Gold Canyon Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gold Canyon Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.