We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad for a private room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Billabong Resort

Save Saved
You added Billabong Resort to your Saves list
Billabong Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Billabong Resort
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   381 Beaufort St, Highgate, Vincent, Western Australia 6003, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“not bad for a private room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

I've seen some horrible reviews of this place in dorms. Yet there are some good and bad aspects of the private double room I shared with my boyfriend. The price was very good for the location in Perth with its own private bathroom with small balcony. Aside from that it was definitely a backpacker's place. There was alot of noise at nights from the pool area which was always full. When I was there the place was packed so the kitchen was busy with people randomly moving around, the fridges were brimming, and aside from our room it was always noisy. The air con was pretty old and made alot of noise at night but if we opened the door to the balcony then it was loud from the kids outside and the mozzies would get in. The bathroom looked clean but smelled. The sheets and pillows were very cheap but we had brought our own to use. There was free breakfast every morning (standard milk, cereals, cheap bread and some spreads). Laundry was only available after 1pm and reception was always busy, though friendly if you were nice. All and all, this was the only choice in the city with our budget and the room suited our needs but if I was staying in Perth for less than a week next time I would splurge on a proper hotel.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here, stay with friends or get a private room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    15
    16
    17
See reviews for
2
17
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Stayed at billabong for a week at the beginning of february. The staff were rude and so unwelcoming, I don't think any of them wanted to be there or any guests to be there to be honest. The rooms were not clean and ours had quite a few cockroaches and the sheets were covered in stains, the only good thing was there was an ensuite to each 4bedroom dorm though this wasn't cleaned once in the whole week we were there. The room was 'cleaned' by the bin being emptied every day. The kitchen wasn't geat and, definitely not big enough for the number of guests. I didnt dare go in the pool even thin I did see other people in it. It wasn't too far from the city centre so the location was good and a easy walk. Overall I wouldn't ever stay here again or recommend anyone else to either!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

It was perfect to organize our stuff as we were leaving Perth and heading home. The place is filled with typical backpackers - aka loud British people drinking the cheapest beer all afternoon - but overall the place has all you need from the proximity to a zillion restaurants, decent beds and prices within the range.
I think that all backpackers are dirty to some extend so this one wasn't any different.
All together it was alright.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

I would almost advise this place to be burnt down. The staff were actually offensive to me upon checking out. Extremely rude and unfriendly. The room where I shared the people where all smoking weed in the room and one guy was urinating on the floor. I checked out and stayed in the Witches Hat. It is 1 million miles better. Go there instead. THE BILLABONG is the most HELLISH PLACE ON EARTH!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Really far away from nightlife. The atmosphere was boring and there were no togetherness among the people. Private dorm was ok and we had our own balcony. The kitchen was dirty but the continental breakfast was ok. Nothing else to say really, the hostel just was that dull.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

This is really big 150 beds ! The kitchen is really dirt and you have to ask the recepcion if you need plate, fork, spoon (...) the kitchen is empty !
The laundry part is also dirty ! room are small and bed old and not very comfortable.
The recepcion is ok but still impersonal. The room area is nice with the bbq.
A lot of noise so if you want to sleep well it's not a good idea to stay here.
Is about 15 walking from the city center

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

This worst backpacker inn that I ever stayed during my visit to Western Australia last 2 weeks. Imagine you need to change your own bed by removing the previous occupant's dirty bed sheet and blanket! and not one time but 3 times (we had some confusion with the current occupant) sigh.. so sad... The room is so messy when we walked into it. We thought we gotten the wrong room but when we checked with the reception and they insisted that we got the right room... And just gave us some clean bed sheets and asked us to changed ourselves.. We wanted to change hotel at that time but we are too tired coz we have been travelling from Albany that day. Anyway, we were stuck with that hotel for 3 nights. Just thanks God that we have 2 understanding room mate, so we can have some peaceful sleep during our nights there.
And we saw one of the occupant were so drunk until he just sleep at the corridor of the rooms- half naked. That was really depressing scene coz the management didn't do their job properly...

Room:- Extremely dirty and messy...
Toilet:- So dirty and no housekeeping to clean it..
Kitchen:- The worse I ever seen in my life. Smelly and messy
Laundry room:- Dirty and very messy.
Reception services:- Rude and not helpful..

No recommended ...

Room Tip: Not recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Billabong Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billabong Resort

Address: 381 Beaufort St, Highgate, Vincent, Western Australia 6003, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Vincent > Highgate
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Highgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Billabong Resort 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Otel, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Despegar.com so you can book your Billabong Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Billabong Hotel Perth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Billabong Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.