We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Journey through the Tasmanian Wilderness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cradle Mountain Huts

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hagley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cradle Mountain Huts
Save
You added Cradle Mountain Huts to your Saves list
1145 Westwood Rd, Hagley, Tasmania 7292, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Journey through the Tasmanian Wilderness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We could not fault this experience, the guides were great (Rob, Gemma and Alice), the food was outstanding and how nice it was to relax with a glass of Tasmanian wine after a day hiking! The scenery was breathtaking, we had snow, rain and mud ( my son thought my mud walking efforts were hilarious). We have done all of the Great walks in NZ and wondered how this would rate against them and all I can say is it right up there with Milford etc, and all the better with the smaller groups.
I would recommend anyone who wants to taste the wilderness to use this company

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cradlemountainhuts, Director of Sales at Cradle Mountain Huts, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Hi Sandra0609,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor – we appreciate it. Rob, Gemma & Alice are great and we are lucky to have them as part of our team. It is so lovely to arrive into the hut after a day of walking and then be able to sit down with a glass of Tassie wine and a 3 course dinner!
The scenery is incredibly spectacular and varied and I think experiencing the Overland Track with snow, rain and of course mud just adds to the overall enjoyment.
Cheers, Ros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
20
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Wow what a way to travel the Overland Track. We completed the Trek last
Friday with very good family friends and made new friends during our six days. It really was the trip of a life time. Walking through mud and snow and over and through creeks and rivers the scenery was stunning and ever changing. The Huts were wonderfully comfortable and warm, the gear that was provided top quality and the meals prepared and served by our amazing guides was mouth watering. I have to say that it really was a privilege to have completed this trek through some of the most amazing scenery I have seen. Our guides Tom and Shelley and trainee Laura were wonderful people with such incredible knowledge of the flora, fauna, geology and history of the area as well as being culinary experts. We can't thank them enough. I will be recommending this trip to everyone, and we plan to do the Bay of Fires walk next.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cradlemountainhuts, Director of Sales at Cradle Mountain Huts, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Hi LouisaD
Thanks for taking the time to review your walk with us on TripAdvisor – we really appreciate it. It sounds like you had an amazing walk with Shelley, Tom & Laura who are all fantastic guides and we are very lucky to have them working with us. To arrive at the hut after a day of walking is such a treat especially if you have had some wet weather.
We hope to see you out at the Bay of Fires at some stage.
Cheers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasmania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I was most priviledged in the last week to experience the Overland Track with good friends, new friends, two amazing guides and a terrific trainee guide. Our weather experience was, on the whole, great - no real extremes. The diversity of scenery was simply superb. One of the highlights for me was the work of our guides, Shelley, Tom & trainee Laura - their knowledge of flora, fauna and geology added so much to the enjoyment of the hike and then to see them produce a fabulous 3 course meal in the evenings - left me speechless. Not just an evening meal, but a delicious afternoon tea was produced as if by magic and then there was Tom's amazing porridge for breakfast! This hike is fabulous from beginning to end - including the informative bus trip through the Central Highlands back to Hagley and then there was the surprise treat ending! Six delight filled, exhausting days - fabulous.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cradlemountainhuts, Director of Sales at Cradle Mountain Huts, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Hi anneTasmania
Thanks so much for your review. I couldn’t agree more about the diversity of scenery on the Overland Track – it is really quite extraordinary!
Shelley, Tom & Laura and fantastic guides with extensive knowledge of the area - this really brings the scenery alive. Their knowledge, outdoor skills and their cooking abilities are a force to be reckoned with!
I am really pleased you had an amazing Overland Track walk with us.
Cheers, Ros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Thanks to Ange and Harley we had an amazing trek through beautiful country. They guided us up Mt Oakleigh and Mt Ossa, through mud and snow, past waterfalls, over creeks and rivers. The huts were great, food varied, plenty and tasty. Great trip - thanks

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cradlemountainhuts, Director of Sales at Cradle Mountain Huts, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Hi JennyG
Thanks for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Both Ange and Harley are amazing guides and we are very lucky to have them both working with us. I am really pleased you climbed Oakleigh and Ossa – the views are worth the effort!
Cheers, Ros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This is more of a thank you than a review. I loved walking with Cradle Huts so much I went back a second time. Both times were brilliant but this time was incredible. Walking in snow relatively late in the year was an absolute treat especially on day one. The service from Cradle Huts was exceptional from pre-trip to end and I would especially like to thank Heath, the General Manager and our two most honourous guides Tom and Ben for dealing with the snow situation and shepherding all the guests (and a couple of rather cold English backpackers who required some assistance on route) so well.
Climbing Mt Ossa in the snow was magnificent and a safe decline meant sliding back down was a fast and hilarious return option. I would do that every day if I could!!
The guides’ knowledge of the entire environment is vast. In particular, their explanation for the possible evolution of the Athrotaxis laxofolia was remarkable and I did not realise that scoparia also has a number of practical uses. Stopping to hear and learn about what you see along the track, as well as all the local history makes the guided experience well worth it.
On food and accommodation: Meals were imaginative and delicious, especially the lamb. The Huts are clean, warm and dry. We should all be using composting toilets in our homes!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cradlemountainhuts, Director of Sales at Cradle Mountain Huts, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Hi Caro_Curtin,
Thanks so much for such a lovely note – we really appreciate it. To have experienced the Overland Track twice with us is really saying something and your acknowledgement of Heath, Tom & Ben who assisted with the running of your walk in pretty tough conditions is fantastic.
I am really pleased the weather was fine enough to climb Ossa and the big “slide” down is pretty exhilarating! Once again thanks for taking the time to write on TripAdvisor.
Cheers, Ros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Just experienced one of the best walks I have done , including Cradle Mtn (with Cradle Mtn Huts ) , Milford Track and Routeburn . Admittedly we had superb weather , clear blue skies and 17 degrees . This area is another example of unspoiled Tasmania country - "out in the bush" . I love photography , and every step taken presented another awesome photo opportunity .
The guides were superb , Diana and Harley went the extra mile to ensure everything was very good. My wife experienced a physical issue and that was handled with caring and empathy - with a great solution which meant she met her goals with satisfaction.
Both Foresters Beach and Bay of Fires Lodge were excellent accommodation meeting the different requirements . Bay of Fires Lodge was eco "7 star " accommodation - best lodge of its kind I have stayed in. With the food provided deserving full marks - with an excellent chef "Tom" in residence . Trip was topped of with a visit on the way back to base with a taste of bubbly at Apogee .
We cant speak highly enough of the slick organisation , great processes , backed up by enthusiastic and involved guides.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Thanks Cradle Huts for this wonderful Overland Track 6 days trip. My guides Harley and Ange made this trip so enjoyable. They are very friendly, knowledgeable and funny. They made and kept feeding us great food along the whole trip.

When weather was reasonable, they encouraged and brought us to the beautiful Mt Oakleigh and Mt Ossa. They also helped one of the mates reached the gap of Mt Ossa. A new record for this lovely lady.

Walking for 6 days may not be easy for every single person. Weather can change at any time and very quickly. You will experience all sort of walking path, mud, tree roots, rocks, manmade wooden platform, rainforest etc. The drying room (to dry your boots, gaiters, socks), hot shower and good rest in the beautiful and clean huts made the trip much easier.

I took so many beautiful pictures along this trip. Very rewarding!!

Room Tip: The trip is pricy but you will get what you pay for. Nice accommodation. Wonderful sceneries. Walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cradlemountainhuts, Director of Sales at Cradle Mountain Huts, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Hi ReynoldL2013
Thanks for your review on TripAdvisor – we appreciate it. Both Harley & Ange are fantastic guides and I am glad they made your walk extra special. It sounds like you managed to get in some of the spectacular mountain climbs which is great. The trail can be challenging in parts (particularly in some weather conditions) but I agree having the huts with drying rooms, comfy beds and hot showers make it that much more achievable for many. We hope to see you again for another walk one day.
Cheers, Ros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cradle Mountain Huts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Huts

Address: 1145 Westwood Rd, Hagley, Tasmania 7292, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hagley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Hagley
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradle Mountain Huts - Overland Track WalkDiscover the rare beauty and extraordinary diversity of Tasmania’s world heritage-listed Cradle Mountain - Lake St. Clair National Park. Walk the 60km Overland Track and unwind in the warmth and comfort of private hut accommodation each evening. A truly spectacular journey to revive the senses. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cradle Mountain Huts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.